We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bath Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Bath Priory Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Salem, New jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property on our first visit to the city of Bath. What a wonderful experience we had! It was like staying on a private estate. Our room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The food was a gourmet delight! The chef prepared dishes that were delicious as well as beautifully presented. The gardens there are amazingly beautiful and they also grow their own vegetables and herbs which the chef uses. The staff were eager to please and attentive to our every need. We were also just far enough from the downtown area of Bath to have quiet and serenity, but close enough to be able to walk into the downtown area. It was an overall great experience and we look forward to our next trip to Bath and a stay at the Bath Priory.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Shirley C

Wow, what a lovely review, it delights me to read that as a team we have surpassed your expectations, we really do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    117
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
377
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked the Spa Day Getaway for my sisters hen do and really could not have asked for more!

It's always easier to write a bad review, but this time it is so easy to write this good one.

The spa went so far beyond my expectations, it really was amazing. The spa staff were so friendly and accommodating, making everyone very relaxed. I actually found the spa staff to be friendlier than the hotel staff (we only saw them briefly but the spa staff certainly win!).

The facilities were fantastic, clean, smart and an endless supply of towels (always a bonus in a spa). The treatments were great, we all had the body wrap and my sister had a pedicure as well. We all came out almost floating from feeling so relaxed.

The gardens were gorgeous, as it was a nice day we were able to use the outside pool. The whole day was a very peaceful and tranquil experience.

The day included a 2 course lunch.... this was SO good! My sister is a severe celiac and is unable to eat wheat and gluten, they went above and beyond to cater for her and it really was amazing. We had several appetisers and the most gorgeous food, all served with an almost silver service - not what I was expecting but so very pleasantly surprised.

An amazing, beautiful day, I really can't recommend it enough (and I never say that!) For £85 each it was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sa_585

I and the Spa team are thrilled with your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the Spa getaway day from start to finish.

Keep an eye out on our website for the latest offers in the Spa, we hope there will be one that will tease you back.

best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not too many upscale hotels understand how to get it right and become too formal, too posh or sometimes arrogant. Well, the Priory hotel is not one of them. From the start till the end of our stay we enjoyed the great hospitality and service. Tea and muffins during lunchtime? No problem. Can you arrange some drinks on the terrace near the pool. Sure. Could we have bikes to go to the city? We will figure it out for you. Etc, etc.
We stayed in a the luxe room with the name Magnolia which has a small bay window and is therefore even bigger. Nicely decorated, not overdone, and very good beds. Table and two chairs and a bench gives the opportunity to relax also in the room. But an even better place to relax is the very large and beautiful garden, the library or the swimming pool/sauna/Turkish bath.
We did not dine in the restaurant as our schedule did not allow that. Of course not a single remark on that. We are sure we missed a great dinner.
When going to Bath again, we will certainly book at the Priory again.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are great but we liket the Magnolia room for its quietness as it is at the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear duyster

Yes you must come back and enjoy some of Sam's fine cusine, this could be the best excuse ever to revisit!

I must also say a big thank you for the glowing review of the room, Spa facilities and gardens, we are very pround of them all and the team that deliver these standards on a daily basis.

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an excellent experience well worth visiting.
The service and hospitality was also excellent.
Food was up to the highest standard.
The service also could not be faulted.
We were made feel very welcome by all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Gill485

Thank you so much for your cracking review, not sure i could have written it better!

Looking forward to your return some day soon.

best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed a few days, but thoroughly enjoyed The Priory. The rooms were lovely and the gardens were so beautiful & lush! Dining was very nice and well-served. Would love to make it an annual trip!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear PatPainter

The team love your review and we can't wait to welcome you back. You might like to keep an eye on our website or social media pages as we often have special offers that you might like to take advantage of!
hope to see you next year!

regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

just the best ♥♥♥♥♥
excellent in every way
fabulous food and wines
great location
just perfect for a special occasion
highly recommended
we spent Xmas there and they made it very special for us ..with gifts too
the gardens are a treat even in winter

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear PortsmouthDebby


Spoiling guests is what we do best, its lovely to read you feel the same. The team are looking forward to spoiling you all over again in the not to distant future!

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for the August bank holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived we were greeted in the car park and are luggage taken and put in the room while we were given a lovely tour of the hotel. The setting is just beautiful and carried through to the gardens. We had a fantastic experience in the restaurant, food and service were outstanding. But what really makes this hotel extra special is the staff, nothing too much at all, with special mentions to Jade the receptionist who checked us in and helped with planning our stay in bath and Damien the restaurant manger who was very attentive. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we are planning our next visit!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear CH68717

Thank you for your very kind review, I am delighted that the team excelled and made your stay at The Bath Priory a truly memorbale experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bath Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory Hotel

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 luxurious en-suite bedrooms and 6 suites, fashioned from the traditional honey-coloured Bath stone in a Gothic style, set in 4 acres of award-winning gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Bath Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.