We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault lunch-FAB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bath Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Bath Priory Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault lunch-FAB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I took my mum here for the 3 course lunch as an early Mothers Day treat. We both loved it, the service was impeccable from all staff we came into contact with, drinks and food delicious and extra touches made it a special treat i.e. being greeted as we got out of our taxi, canapes in the library with the log fire roaring, nothing too much trouble (e.g. i was chilly and they shut the windows). Highly recommended and would love to go again. Good value too for a Michelin star restaurent, £35 for 3 courses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Werity,
Thank you for the review and I am very glad that you enjoyed your pre Mothers Day treat so much. The Bath priory is a great place for such occasions or just for lunch without an occasion. Our mid week luncheons start from just £19.95 for two courses.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    116
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
376
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel many times and think that it is the best I have been to in Bath. The service and food is without question very good. The garden is to die for in a city.

I can't wait to go back again

Well done

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear SteveGrimes,

Thank you for the review of the Bath Priory. It is always nice to hear such good things about the hotel. Sam's food is very good, the service of a similar standard and the gardens, having won the Relais and Chateaux garden award this year, are, as you say, to die for.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a 3 course lunch with Michael Caines and prepared by Sam Moody - it was wonderful in every aspect. The hotel is in a wonderful setting, the food was superb, and all the staff were most helpful. You pay a high price but it matches the quality. The Priory sets the standards that others have to rise to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear TelnChel,
Thank you for the very nice review of the Bath Priory. Our events that we organise with Michael Caines are always very popular and well attended. He is both an outstanding chef and great speaker who finds time to speak to everyone.
We do hold a number of events at the hotel throughout the year and we have started Ladies Luncheons again this year. Please do check the Events page of our website for more details.
i look forward to welcoming you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

One February Friday evening we felt like escaping London for a change of scenery. We decided to explore Bath over the weekend.
We were looking for a quite place, far from the main streets but at the same time walking distance from the town centre. We wanted to relax in comfort in a place with a bit of character, so Bath Priory Hotel and Spa seamed to tick all the boxes.
Web site was deceiving. I had this picture of the hotel surrounded by greens not so close to the busy road it is in fact on.
We arrived late afternoon, tired after a day of traveling and wondering around the town, to be warmly welcomed by the hotel receptionist. Our luggage has been taken care of and we were taken on the tour around the hotel. Quite relieved to be finally left alone we admired our spacious, comfortable room with lovely garden view. We were impressed with high maintenance and cleanness.
Having connected all our devices to Wifi ( each device required different access code) we were ready for a swim and quiet time in the spa. It wasn't meant to be! Very little relaxing area was occupied by noisy children left there by their parents who were enjoying spa treatments! At least they had a good time.. We couldn't swim as there was a lot of toys in the pool and each stroke required moving them out of the way. Sauna and steam were crowded as well so we returned to our room a bit disappointed.
We were not very hungry so we decided to have a little stack in the lounge area by the fire place. It was lovely, cosy and peaceful at first but soon become busy with guests waiting to be seated for dinner in the restaurant.
Our food arrived promptly and we enjoyed well made and tasty sandwiches before we went back to our room.
After good night sleep we went downstairs for breakfast. Here another disappointment. Although you can order breakfast but if you are really hungry and inpatient ( we were waiting over half and hour) and want to grab something from the buffet you won't have very much to choose from. Breakfast wasn't included in the room price so I would expect a better selection if you are being extra charged for it.
And off we went back home not sure if we fully enjoyed our experience and if the price paid was really worth it.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Iwonab,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bath Priory. I am very glad that you chose the hotel to come and stay at and am sorry that you felt the website was deceiving. We are very lucky to be set within four acres of award winning gardens and we are also one of the very few hotels in Bath with its own car park.
We do try to cater for both families and those looking for a quieter time which is why we have childrens swimming times of an hour and a half in the morning and the afternoon. I m sorry that this must have coincided with you swimming in the pool.
I do hope you will return to the Bath Priory, especially in the summer when the outdoor pool is open, which is a real treat on a nice day.
Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent old style hotel with very professional service offering courtesy and efficiency. Not often one finds those qualities these days! Travelling with a dog who was welcomed. I have stayed here before and will do so again. Our room was large, luxurious and had a wonderful bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a really nice hotel for a weekend stay in Bath. All hotel staff are all very well trained and seemed very friendly, check in was easy and professional. Any little request we had, never seemed a problem. The spa area is lovely but the pool is very small.
Food was fantastic, we had the Chefs surprise dinner with wine. There was one small negative, when booking dinner I was informed no Denims in the dining room. I usually wear jeans going to dinner but this time I wore trousers with jacket as requested. That night at dinner two guys at the table next door wearing denim and no jackets. A little surprised with that!!. We stayed in Lavender a lovely room, nice bathroom, I imagine it could get very warm in the summer. Afternoon tea is a big hit in the Priory, they get a lot of visitors for same, portions looked huge. This is a lovely expensive hotel, ideal for a special occasion where you will be made feel very welcome and the service in all departments is first class. Sam Moody's food is some of the best
I ever tasted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Damian044,
Thank you very much for the review of the Bath Priory. The staff at the hotel are our greatest asset and it is very nice that they are recognised. Sam is a great chef and is getting better all of the time. His menu surprise is a favourite with many guests and it gives him the opportunity to show off some of his best dishes.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Bath Priory Hotel for one night in February 2013 to celebrate my and my girlfriend's birthday. Together with the room, we also booked a spa treatment and dinner for two in the restaurant. On all points, the hotel exceeded all my expectations and scored top marks: great service during the booking process and at the hotel; a lovely room; and delicious food at dinner and breakfast; although the spa itself is quite modest (rather small sauna and pool), the one hour body massage was first rate. This truly was a 5 Star experience and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Andreas, Weybridge, Surrey, UKI

Room Tip: Speak to Annabel at Reservations - she will offer great advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Andreas D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bath Priory and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you had time to use the Garden Spa. It is not the largest spa but it is a great addition to the hotel and we have some great spa staff to look after our guests. It is very kind of you to recommend the hotel and I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bath Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory Hotel

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 luxurious en-suite bedrooms and 6 suites, fashioned from the traditional honey-coloured Bath stone in a Gothic style, set in 4 acres of award-winning gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Bath Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.