We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but sorry, food lacked character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath Priory Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bath Priory Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bath Priory Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Bath
Gourdon, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but sorry, food lacked character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A visit back to the UK from our home in SW France, and the Bath Priory was booked via recommendation from Trip Advisor and looking for the best from the AA/Michelin. The place is VERY English country comfortable, the staff highly attentive and the dining of the utmost standards. However, we guess that modern cooking methods will be embraced here and used in such establishments, but we have to voice the opinion that - although we are ourselves from the restaurant industry, we cannot say that we enjoy the sous-vidé/ronar-poached meat texture (of which ALL the fish/meat that we ate) were subjected to via this method. The Turbot had an unpleasant 'gelatinous' texture (though <perfectly> cooked and sauced) and the Partridge, again given a skin-crisping was uncomfortably <raw> in texture, though we guess technically cooked (!). The explanation was to give a more moist result, although an expert eye with experience will know EXACTLY when a piece of meat is perfect. For that matter, this poached method left a nugget of Mallard bereft of gaminess or texture. Sad really as this chef has stars in his eyes but perhaps is too fussy in his miniaturisation and execution to the chagrin of the eventual taste/texture. Of course the meal was imbued with many highlights, but again an over-zealous £19 for 2 x small Kirs to begin with left another uncomfortable "taste" in the mouth.
Over-dim lighting, too in the restaurant did not pay enough tribute to what delicacies were on the plate. Overall, an experience that was for us, alas, a one-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    95
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
87
332
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had such a lovely lunch with grandparents and children a special menu is available for little ones,the priory has been a special place for a long time the staff are fantastic and helpful all you need to unwind and feel you are at home,the perfect bloody Mary also,.great times looking forward to staying in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Me and my partner Christopher visited The Bath Priory for his birthday. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. Nothing was too much hassle. The service we received from all members of staff was just incredible. They arranged and suggested The Circus as a birthday dinner and it was AMAZING!!! We found that it was worth every penny and they made Christopher's birthday a very special one. The main person that made this such an outstanding visit would be the Host Manager Vicky Tann, she went beyond and above to make it a very special stay and one to remember as the best we have ever encountered!! Because it was a birthday visit the extra special personal touches were made such as a card and gift, things like this really make all the difference from other hotels we have stayed in. Forget the comments about tea and coffee facilities' all you have to do is ask and it's there within seconds with fresh milk or cream!! We have already decided we are going to book again and take family and friends the next time we visit. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Bath Priory for two nights and ended up having dinner there both nights as well.

The visit was a highlight of our two weeks in the UK.

The hotel was impeccable. Great location, great service, great ambience.

Both dinners were outstanding accompanied by good advice on pairing wines with the food.

A quality experience and highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are delighted that you had such a fantastic experience at the Bath Priory and we would like to thank you for all your lovely comments about the service, food and wine - Our team put a huge amount of effort into giving impeccable service and we are so pleased that you got to experience it.

We hope you had a safe journey back to Australia and that you'll return to the UK to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family stayed at the Priory at the end of a 3 week Europe adventure. We chose the Priory after reviewing TripAdvisor and once again the reviews were spot on. This place is magical. We stayed with our 3 children aged 12, 13 and 15 and they loved exploring the gardens, playing croquet and enjoying scones and tea in the drawing room. The children had beautifully prepared room service whilst we experienced a wonderful degustation dinner downstairs with perfectly matched wines. the service was first class, down to chasing us down the driveway to clarify the directions to a recommended sushi restaurant in Bath. The staff sincerely made us feel welcome and did everything to ensure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear NPK2800,

We set out to create magical moments here at the Bath Priory and therefore we are really pleased to see that you and your family had such an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights and were very happy with the excellent customer service offered by all the staff we met. The staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the lounges were extremely comfortable and despite our room being roadside the external noise was not intrusive at all.
Our one gripe is similar to a previous comment in that we think that a room costing over £200 per night should have a tea making facility in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Bath Priory Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Bishtraveller,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at The Bath Priory. We are so pleased that you found your bedroom and the drawing rooms comfortable and relaxing. Our staff work extremely hard to give exceptional service, so again thank you for your comments. If you decide to visit us in the future we do have hospitality trays for guests use and these available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Bath Priory to celebrate a friend's birthday, which was a very special time. The hotel was like an old country house with high ceilings, lots of pictures, antiques and plenty of big comfortable chairs and settees. The service of the staff was outstanding and as others have said, the attention to detail was first class. Our room was huge with a gigantic bed which was turned down in the evening with a tray with slippers etc placed on top. Would have been good to have had tea making facilities, but would probably be out of place here. Food was excellent. Spent an hour in the pool which was fabulous. Short 15 min walk to the centre of Bath. If you want that special "upper class" hotel with the "silver service" and to feel like lord and lady of the manor, then this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bath Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory Hotel

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 luxurious en-suite bedrooms and 6 suites, fashioned from the traditional honey-coloured Bath stone in a Gothic style, set in 4 acres of award-winning gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bath Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.