We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and gardens and extremely attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tasburgh House to your Saves list
Tasburgh House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warminster Rd, Bath BA2 6SH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and gardens and extremely attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The attention to detail in the main hotel is exceptional and the staff were so professional and helpful. The gardens were stunning and I imagine a wonderful place to sit when the weather allows (which it didn't for us).
The location is not bad, as you can walk to town in about fifteen minutes and parking is a great bonus.
We had a terrace room which had the benefit of tables and chairs righ outside your door and again would be great in the summer. The room was a little small and not quite of the same quality as the rest of the building but it was comfortable and quiet.
If you are looking for a quiet, gentile, romantic break with a bit of walking then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Perhaps not the terrace room, as it is quite small although a plus if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    78
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
110
260
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This really is the most amazing place to stay. The welcome was warm and friendly, and this friendliness continued throughout our stay. Sue and her small team were the perfect hosts, without being intrusive. The room was very well equipped, including too our daughters delight, wi-fi. The beds were warm and comfy. Breakfast was superb and served in lovely surroundings. The view was wonderful although unfortunately we didn't have time to walk through the landscaped gardens. The lounge was comfy and Sue kept us well supplied with drinks. Not sure how she ever finds time to sleep!
The only very minor niggle I could find was a nasty rusty chip in the bath in our room. This looked alarmingly like someone had done something unspeakable in the tub. Perhaps a bit of touch up paint would be handy.
Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the time to write it. I totally understand your comment regarding the chip in the bath. I have to sincerely apologise that it wasn't brought to your attention when you were first taken into the room, as was intended. Unfortunately, the heavy shower head had come out of the socket and fallen, chipping the enamel from the bath. We had contacted a company called "Plastic Surgeon" (aptly named!) who arrived on the following Tuesday, after your stay, and have made it look like new again. I am so sorry that it looked as if we had taken no action to correct it and I hope it didn't mar your stay in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Can only echo what other guests have said about Tasburgh House.Its a real little gem and would have no hesitation recommending to other travellers to Bath.Our host Sue was very welcoming and helpful Even remembering it was my husbands birthday with a card and a glass of fizz ,which i thought was a very nice touch.A little way outside of Bath but could walk if you feel energetic but we used a taxie service on an evening which was reasonable fare taxie rank can be found by Cathedral The hotel has beautiful views over Bath so a room on the back would be adviceable ,gardens are beautiful We only had a continental breakfast but was ample for us as we dined out each evening ( would highly reccomended SOTTO SOTTO Italian resturant but must book) All in all a lovely weekend, welldone to Sue & her staff

Room Tip: room on back for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Tasburgh House is in a wonderful setting with stunning views from the garden. Our good sized room was clean and comfortable and we slept well. Our shower room was a little small but clean and well presented. The continental breakfast had an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereal, ham, salami, cheeses, juices, breads, toast etc. The cooked breakfast was extra and freshly cooked to order, but we didn't need any more and had already eaten more than usual. The pretty walk through the beautiful extensive grounds, down along the canal, and into town was not far enough to justify our over indulgence and we shared a sandwich for lunch as not particularly hungry.
Sue was so friendly and hospitable, working hard all day to ensure you have all you need, as does her pleasant staff. Unsolicited, she even kindly gave us some fizzy to celebrate our anniversary.
With the guidebook and leaflets in our room. we were able to plan our stay and had a fabulous first (and hopefully not last) visit to Bath. Cannot recommend it enough to visitors from overseas or anyone from the UK. Exploring the town on a guided tour, visiting the baths, art museums, parks. An exceptional and beautiful place. Came away feeling restored and happy.
And part of that successful break was staying at Tasburgh!

Room Tip: We had the last available room - which is at the front. The road is quite busy and occasionally we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tasburgh House is always a wonderful place to stay. I travel on business and have stayed in a variety of hotels in Bath for the past 20 years and this is my first choice for the past 5 years as none compares to the quality and detail The service is impeccable. Sue and her staff do not hesitate to make any service needed available. They anticipate even when not directly asked. You feel like you are at home and can relax. The grounds are beautiful and manicured. The rooms are clean, modern and well appointed. Sitting on the back deck enjoying the view is like stepping into a quality painting of the English countryside. The breakfast is delicious, although there is no lunch or dinner service, if requested, they will provide a delicious snack. Indeed, the staff will do everything they can to accommodate.In the evening they offer wonderful cocktails and single malts to end the day. A very peaceful setting which is so nice to wind down and relax. I now stay there every trip to Bath on business and would do the same on a real vacation. Very convenient to everything and feels as if you are staying with dear old friends in their gorgeous estate home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good service, nice location, beautiful view. you must pass through the Garden and bridge if go to the town!
It is best way to Walk around, will find the original factor。 Family boats in the canal, running on the walkway, simple and old bridge, road covered by trees

I will come back if have time,

Room Tip: face the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at Tasburgh House for a weekend break. The house and gardens are lovely and Sue and her team made us feel so welcome. Tasburgh House is about a 20 minute walk from Bath, you can take the scenic route along the canal after walking through the amazing gardens.
The hotel provides a continental breakfast which has a good selection, cooked breakfast is available at a additional rate which is reasonable. We choose to have the full english breakfast on the first morning and felt full for most of the day!
I really would recommend the Tasburgh House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Address: Warminster Rd, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tasburgh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of beautiful gardens which run down to the Kennet & Avon canal, Tasburgh House has 12 stylish rooms with extremely comfy beds (according to our guests), powerful showers and luxury towels. The views are awesome and the staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. With a license to sell alcohol, guests can order drinks in the Conservatory, on the Terraces beside the fountain or from the bedrooms. Just a 20 minute pretty walk into Bath's city centre - leave the car here and simply relax! We want to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasburgh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.