We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for extra charge for full breakfast !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tasburgh House to your Saves list
Tasburgh House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warminster Rd, Bath BA2 6SH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Bath
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Watch out for extra charge for full breakfast !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Website says breakfast included - only after you book do you find that its only continental and that a full breakfast is a "small extra charge". I don't think £8.50 is small when you are already paying £120 a night !!! Gin and Tonic was also expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    78
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
110
260
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

From the time we rang to enquire about booking to the time we left we experienced nothing but the highest quality accomodation and service.

We were traveling from up north and Sue (owner) gave us intructions on how to get there avoiding the worst of the traffic around Bath - the directions were easy to follow and spot on. Tasburgh House is a lovely historic home set in 7 acres of parklike grounds. The Hotel is on the top level with sweeping views over Bath. There are 3 terraces at various levels (all with seating - great for relaxing) and an expansive lawn leading to an orchard and ultimately the Canal that borders the property.

Tasburgh House is situated at Bathampton on the outskirts of Bath. To get to the city is a leisurely and very pleasant 20 minute walk along the canal tow path (turn left when you reach the canal path).

15 minutes walk along the canal path in the other direction is the George Pub a huge rambling stucutre with very good (and large) meals, its well worth a visit.

Sue and her team really went the extra mile to ensure our visit was a very special one. Needless to say we would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juett, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
I just want to thank you personally and most sincerely for your lovely review. I know that after a holiday there is always much to do and to catch up on and time becomes so precious, so your effort is really appreciated by not only me but also by all my staff.

For the most part I would say over 60% of our guests have found guest reviews helpful before making their choice of hotel. So for this reason I am most grateful for your comments and do hope that we can entice you back again in the not too distant future.

Our sincerest thanks.

Sue and The Tasburgh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We chose Tasburgh Hotel because it could offer free on-site parking - something very few hotels in Bath are able to do and weren't we glad we did. From the moment we stepped in until the morning we left, Sue and her staff could not do enough for us. The house is a red-brick house dating from the 1890's - really unusual to find this building material anywhere in the city - set in 7 acres leading down to the Kennet and Avon Canal and with views across the City of Bath. The furnishings are elegant and comfortable; our room, "Tennyson", had two comfortable armchairs in addition to the usual bedroom furniture. Our visit coincided with a sudden drop in the outside temperature, but the whole house was always warm - not always the case in the UK during winter months.
Breakfast was a substantial cold buffet-freshly squeezed orange juice,fresh fruit,excellent cold meats and cheese,freshly baked croissants. A variety of cooked food was available at an additional cost.
We ate at the George in Bathampton, just a15-20 min walk away, at the Hole in the Wall and Yak Yeti Yak in Bath - all to be recommended.
Buses run every 15 miutes into Bath from the bus-stop outside the hotel- as parking costs £12.50 for 12 hours Mon-Sun in Bath, it's worth using these.
Sue recommended a visit to the Little Theatre Cinema - vintage night on Monday includes usherettes in 40's costume and an intermission with icecreams! The seats were very comfortable.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone - not quite sure who is writing poor reviews for Tasburgh House- p'raps the got the name of the place they stayed in mixed up!

Room Tip: Ask for a view across the garden towards Bath - quite magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

What a find! Tasburgh House is just beautiful. Attention to detail within is superb both in decor and service, the staff friendly and helpful and the setting and views are wonderful! It seemed like nothing was too much trouble.
We had a twin room with a bath and separate shower in the ensuite. I had two of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time - rather unusual when staying away from home! The room had everything you could want and the breakfast was superb. We chose to have the continental breakfast and there was more than enough to keep us filled throughout the day and an excellent selection too!
This was a fantastic girlie weekend but a romantic weekend with my husband at Tasburgh House would be lovely too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Caldecote
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

We recently arrived in Bath and having had no luck in finding somewhere in the centre to stay decided to drive a little way out of the city. It was our luck to come across Tasburgh House where we were met by Sue and given a choice of rooms. We chose Tennyson on the top floor as it has a bath and ashower cubicle and a view and booked for 3 nights. It was by now quite late and Sue immediately arranged to find us somewhere to eat. After a most comfortable night and delicious breakfast we asked if we could stay for 6 nights and we spent a wonderful week exploring the area.
Sue and Antonia were always on hand to help with ideas for our stay and restaurants.
We loved every minute of our time at Tasburgh and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for going to the trouble of writing this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to offer you what you were looking for. Thank you so much.

Sue Keeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Tasburgh House Hotel caught me by surprise because it is so good. I arrived tired after a long journey focusing on my work. The welcome by Sue and Antonia was genuinely warm and friendly. The wine and breakfasts were just superb and at a standard I haven't seen in 5* hotels. I stayed during a business trip and just felt at home. The building and fabric are a delight. Great care has been taken with the details and it was lovely to find another surprise around each corner to intrigue and enjoy. Everything is quality. The Hotel is ideally suited to couples taking time away together and to enjoy Bath. The hotel is elegant, comfortable and relaxing. The Tasburgh House Hotel is a fine example of an English, independently run hotel. Booking was easy and the price was good value. One of the few hotels I will look forward to returning to and just enjoying. I will take my wife there in Spring to enjoy the hotel and Bath. Sue clearly knew which pubs and restaurants to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask Sue, though all the rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I would have liked to be able to give this guest house a higher rating, but despite a wonderful welcome and excellent service, there were niggles. The main issue I have is that for what is essentially a guest house offering bed and breakfast, it is overpriced. For that reason it seemed a little mean to be charging extra for a cooked breakfast and even 60 pence (+cost) to provide a newspaper. The location is perfect and the centre of Bath is an easy walk alongside the canal. It is important to realise that although the grounds reach down to the canal, accessing the towpath is only feasible when the grass is completely dry; unless you don't mind going into the city in wellies! The views from the rear of the house are panoramic and there is ample seating on the terrace and gardens to enjoy the location - the website could be updated to show this off and perhaps after 5 years it may be time to drop the story of the 'Hotel Inspector'!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Address: Warminster Rd, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tasburgh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of beautiful gardens which run down to the Kennet & Avon canal, Tasburgh House has 12 stylish rooms with extremely comfy beds (according to our guests), powerful showers and luxury towels. The views are awesome and the staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. With a license to sell alcohol, guests can order drinks in the Conservatory, on the Terraces beside the fountain or from the bedrooms. Just a 20 minute pretty walk into Bath's city centre - leave the car here and simply relax! We want to spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasburgh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.