We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Mon-Fri break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lansdown Grove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Bath
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shearings Mon-Fri break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very good.
The food was excellent.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The location was close to the city centre but up a very steep hill, there are 2 local buses to help ease the climb if necessary.
There was free wifi available if you register with "the cloud", we set this up before arriving and it worked automatically on arrival.
I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ElphieCW
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. Hope to see you back here at the Lansdown Grove Hotel in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    131
    62
    21
    12
See reviews for
35
184
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thank you for a great weekend stay for a special family birthday party for my Dad's 90th. Our rooms were perfect and once we turned the heating down a little were very comfortable. All ages so well catered for. Food was good and breakfasts very tasty. What made the weekend was the very high standard of service from all the staff who were so willing, polite and kind to us. Their smiles and friendly manner were much appreciated by all of us. Thank you.

Room Tip: Gardens very good for children to play in! Some rooms have big French windows too which open out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Skomerpuffin
I am so glad your Dad's 90th Birthday weekend went well. I have passed on all your great comments to all staff.
Thank You
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on the 25th September on our way back to Germany. Having spent two weeks looking at all the historic houses that the UK has to offer, it was lovely to be able to spend a night in such an old, tired lady of a hotel. The décor was fresh out of the Miss Marple films and I quite expected to meet Poirot in the breakfast room. However, there is nothing we can say on the negative side – everything was all we could hope for. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The hotel is probably one of the best that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks Graham for a great review.
Its lovely to see you appreciate the character and history of the hotel.
I will pass on all your great comments to all the staff concerned.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just spent four nights at this hotel and thought it was very good. Rooms were clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Plenty of choice at meal times and the food was well cooked. Our waitress Annetta was really efficient and cheerful.....missed her happy chat this morning now we are back home. Thank you all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Stephanie
Annetta says thank you for the lovely comment. It was great to see
you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lansdown.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel is clean and comfortable and the food above average. It is situated on a steep hill but there is a bus stop within a few yards with a bus service every 20 minutes into the town centre. The lift is small holds three people at a time but we experienced no hold ups. If one is disabled it would be best to check with the hotel as the floors have a few steps between bedrooms. I went with a coach party and some members walked with a stick but I never heard anyone say they had and difficulty moving about the hotel. An added bonus is the helpfulness and efficiency of the friendly staff. If you intend to stay in Bath the Lansdown Grove is worth giving serious consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Zebediah
Thanks for posting a reveiw. We have a great bus service that picks up and drops off just at the side of the hotel. The number 31 runs from 6.30am until 8.30pm every 15 minutes its such a great service.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

this hotel was recommended to us by a freind, I am really glad i took their advice, this is a great base for a stay in Bath.

The staff are fantastic, breakfast was the same and our room was faultless, it was one of the Ambassador rooms.

The walk up the hill from the city centre was achallenge but there were regular buses for those who prefer not to walk.

The hotel was in (flat) walking distance of the Royal crescent and the old part of Bath.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 331 as a good room as the windows were quite high and gave a lot of privousy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear KiethB
What a great review Thank you.
Its nice to see you thought all the staff here at the Lansdown were fantastic.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel two nights, Saturday & Sunday. Our room was very large, the bed comfortable and we had a bath tub with shower over the top and a large TV for extra comfort. The room was in good conditions, warm and comfortable. Tea making facilities with free biscuits were appreciated.
Another huge plus was wifi in the room (you have to set up an account with _theCloud but it's free).
English breakfast included in the price of our room. This was up to standard.
Ate there one night for dinner and this was delicious (had smoked salmon).
Staff were very friendly - the man at reception was very funny and nice! He talked to us a lot about our home country and we appreciated his friendliness and humour. He was also very helpful when asked for directions and information about Bath.
Price was a bit above budget (it was Bath's busiest weekend of the year with 4 events on at the same time), but this dropped to 99 pounds for the Sunday night which was good.

If you stay there you can easily walk to the centre of Bath (10 minutes downhill). A taxi ride back is only about 5-7 pounds if you're too tired to walk back up [there are also buses available].

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Wow thank you for a fab review.
We have free wifi throughout the whole hotel which is an added bonus.
Hope you will visit the Lansdown again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lansdown Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.