We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic stay with very friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bailbrook Lodge to your Saves list
Bailbrook Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   35 - 37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic stay with very friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Bailbrook Lodge Bath for a special occasion, and were not disapointed.

Firstly, we were greeted by a lovely member of staff who were very friendly and very helpful, showing us around and offering any assistance they could on the local area and maps of Bath.

Our room was lovely, very big and we had a gorgeous 4 poster bed with a lovely view of the gardens.

The breakfast range was great, offering a cold buffet and hot food such as a full english or bacon sandwiches, and also the extra of a glass of champagne with breakfast which was a great touch.

Overall a lovely stay, we would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at Bailbrook Lodge for a special occasion.

We are, of course, delighted that we were able to ensure that your stay with us was truly special and we do look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Justine Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    84
    37
    21
    16
See reviews for
41
197
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I booked a nights stay at this hotel for a treat to me and my daughter, it was on special offer with Travelzoo so we thought, seeing the original price, that it would be something very special. It is not unfortunately. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, the bedrooms were dated. the entire hotel in need of a complete refurb.

Room Tip: Rooms and hotel extremely tired and the hotel/guest house in dire need of an update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I wish to reply to this review as one of the owners of Bailbrook Lodge.

We are obviously disappointed that this guest did not find Bailbrook Lodge “special” and very much regret this. It would appear that the reason for this is that it was felt that the decor was “dated” and in need of a complete refurbishment.

We would like to respectively point out that Bailbrook Lodge has been refurbished and decorated in a style to match its origins i.e. a Grade II Georgian country house built in 1811 and we have taken great care to ensure that the decor and furniture reflects this heritage.

We retain the services of our own decorator who ensures that all our bedrooms are at all times maintained to a high standard but we appreciate that some guests may prefer a more contemporary style of decor which is not what we offer at Bailbrook Lodge.

As for the beds, we purchase our beds from a leading manufacturer of beds and mattresses to the hotel industry and these are regularly checked by this company on our behalf to ensure that any mattresses that need to be replaced are dealt with immediately as we appreciate that a good mattress is fundamental to our guests enjoying their stay with us.

However, we are all aware that mattresses are very much a personal choice. Some of us like them to be firm, others very hard and others soft, which is invariably a challenge for all hoteliers. We, therefore, regret that on this occasion the mattresses did not match their particular preference.

Ron Zanre
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here with my husband to celebrate my 30th. the receptionist was very welcoming and we were shown to our four poster room. the room was light and airy and very nice. the bathroom/wetroom in the cupboard was interesting and not to my taste but it worked well.
the breakfast on both mornings was fabulous!!! everything about it was good, even down to the Bucks Fizz (or neat Fizz!) such a lovely touch, which really sets off a nice weekend!
the hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town, or a short taxi ride. the walk is nice and you can see the independent shops of Bath, which is nice rather than all the chains!
the hotel went the extra mile and returned our forgotten swimwear to us after our mini break. the customer service was excellent and they were very accommodating.
we would return to Bailbrook, especially to experience Bath in the summer months!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I am responding to this review as one of the owners of Bailbrook Lodge.

We are delighted to read that this guest enjoyed their stay with us and very much look to them returning soon.

However, I wish to clarify that where they have referred to the “bathroom/wet room” as being “in the cupboard”, with respect this is not correct as this facility is within a clearly defined recessed area as part of the very large room.


Ron Zanre
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently stayed here with some friends. Our room was lovely with beautiful traditional furnishings even had a four poster bed ! We really enjoyed drinks in the lovely drawing room before we headed off to the city which is just a short taxi ride away. Bailbrook is part of a brilliant scheme that offers discounts at numerous restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. We had a bar coded tag on our room key that you just show to the relevant place and they give you a great discount. We had a great nights sleep and enjoyed a fab breakfast the next morning. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We really wanted to stay longer so will definitely be going again soon. I will be recommending Bailbrook to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your very complimentary review, following your stay with us. Given that you plan to return very soon, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you also for recommending Bailbrook to your friends.

Justine Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here recently with some girlfriends, it was superb! A beautiful hotel with all it's original features in tact. Beautiful and comfortable, thoughtfully decorated and furnished and very festive. Had a fab weekend, excellent (and cheap) taxi service in to town centre, enjoyed the Christmas market and some good food and a few bars in Bath. Had a great nights sleep later in the lovely four poster bed, with a wonderful breakfast to top it all off. Can't fault the place, excellent and friendly service, can't wait to return with my man next! Thank you everyone at Bailbrook Lodge.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us just before Christmas. We are delighted that you enjoyed both Bailbrook Lodge and Bath and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Justine Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Suppose to be luxury treat for husbands birthday but very let down by very tiny room mostly! Cobwebs everywhere, lumpy bed with itchy scratchy, cheap bedding. Breakfast was decent and location good. If the city wasn't so fab , stay would have been total waste of money! Brochure doesn't show true representation of this place unfortunately..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
A one of the partners of Bailbrook Lodge I wish to respond to this review.

The background to this reviewer’s booking is that it was made via Booking.com and included a request for a “free upgrade to a four poster bedroom” which unfortunately we were unable to accommodate as all the four poster rooms had been let on the requested dates.

We communicated this via email to Booking.com on the same day and the reviewer, therefore, decided to accept one of our standard bedrooms.

Bailbrook Lodge is a Grade II Georgian property which was built in 1811, therefore, the rooms come in various sizes as one would expect from such a property.

Our 15 bedrooms include 5 large rooms with four poster beds, the only hotel or B & B with this number of four poster rooms in Bath, but on the other hand some of our rooms are smaller and the rates we charge for each room reflects this variation.

With regards to the other comments made by this reviewer, we do not accept that the bed is “lumpy” as the mattress in this particular room was replaced in April of this year and was supplied by one of the country’s leading manufacturers of mattresses specialising in hotels. The bed linen is Egyptian cotton and the blankets are Merino wool. Equally we do not accept that there were “cobwebs everywhere” as the rooms are thoroughly cleaned by our in house cleaning staff every day and as all rooms are occupied, thankfully, almost on a daily basis, any cobwebs would be dealt with daily.

I am also disappointed that the guest thought our breakfast was only “decent” given that the quality of our breakfast, which includes a complimentary glass of champagne, has resulted in us receiving a Breakfast Award in 2013.

We are obviously disappointed that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us but do feel that their review unfairly reflects the quality of what we offer at Bailbrook Lodge.


Ron Zanre
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Myself and three Girlfriends decided to escape from Cheltenham last weekend (minus little people) and make for the experience that is Bath Christmas Markets. The weather was fantastic-if a little chilly but our experience of Bailbrook Lodge just outside of the City centre was amazing. This is a truly beautiful place and very festive. Obviously a lot of thought has been put into the running of this Guest House-the friendly welcome and general air of a well organised team made us all feel very welcome. The rooms are clean and well furnished-we slept in four posters which were out of this world,not to mention the mind blowing breakfast. We have all resolved to bring our other halves back here in the New Year to partake in what is "The Bailbrook Lodge" experience-superb!

Room Tip: Choose a four poster if available-you can then tick it off your "100 things to do " list
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and complimentary review of your visit to Bailbrook Lodge with your three friends. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Bath. We very much look forward to welcoming you back with your “other halves”.

Justine Lewis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Address: 35 - 37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailbrook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.