We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House keeping??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bailbrook Lodge to your Saves list
Bailbrook Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   35 - 37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“House keeping??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The room was dusty probably due to being so near to the A4.the wc seat was broken on arrival and reported but not fixed, the bed was not made one night and we had to ask for fresh towels and we were unable to open the bathroom window. All in all a lot needs to be sorted to warrant another stay, glad we got the three night deal and didnt have to pay full price for the stay.The lodge is in Bathampton about a 40min walk to the centre
but you catch the boat into town or a cab for £6.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1india, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. The toilet seat was attended to but obviously not repaired correctly as it was still slightly loose. The windows have just been painted in the entire hotel and upon investigation was still sticking making it very difficult to open. This has now been rectified. Eliminating dust is a daily task and one we take very seriously. Unfortunately dust rises from the garden and settles very quickly. Our policy is never to enter a room when the do not disturb sign is displayed. Fresh towels should have been left outside the door. I apologise that this didn’t happen, which meant the guest had to request them from reception. We have just had a meeting with all the staff and all comments have been discussed. We are constantly striving to get it right all of the time.

Patrick McGuire
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    95
    40
    23
    15
See reviews for
41
223
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is situated in a very convenient spot just outside Bath. If you don't want to drive into Bath the bus stop is just at the bottom of the drive. Lovely old Georgian house set in lovely grounds. Our room was very small, but clean, the bed was comfortable and we loved the slipper bath. I think if we had asked to move we would probably have been accomodated as the staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't mind the small room so didn't bother. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice and excellent service. The staff helped to provide info about the surrounding area and facilities. One day we got a picnic to take with us the next day and they let us put it in the fridge overnight, not all places would let you do that. We would recommend this hotel and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask if you want something bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked to stay for 3 nights to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. The shower was freezing and we had to boil the kettle to get enough hot water to wash off the soap. Had to run out of the ensuite part into the bedroom to the sink to do this. The dust had to be wiped off the mirror on the table at the side of the bed. The cobwebs hung surrepticiously from the ceiling. There was an overall dirty feel about the room. After lodging the window open with a tin provided to place coffee granules in the pervading 'drain' smell started to dissipate. The view we had was not a view over the garden we understood to have requested, it gave a good view of the parking lot.
Breakfast was a very tense affair, the toast arrived without anything to put on it and when we asked the waitress to toast the bread as it did not appear to be 'done' she asked 'what do you mean?' It was again repeated and she unwillingly took it away.
When we finally got the tea and coffee she dropped what looked like a soup dish holding the milk and strainer and then tried to wipe the spilled milk.
The milk for the cereal had run out and after going into the kitchen area and requesting more milk, skimmed milk was placed into the jug, I asked for semi skimmed milk as I am not in the habit of using skimmed on cereal and was advsed by Daniel they only ever use skimmed.
Throughout, Daniel the manager was trying to be ' jack of all trades and master of none'
We had been previously advised by Daniel the hotel was fully booked as it was 'Graduation' time in Bath. He appeared very stressed.
We both feel very let down by our experience here and will never recommend it to anyone.
Faulty Towers come to mind on our thoughts of this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
I would like to apologise to the guest for their very unhappy experience. It has always been our policy to upgrade guests when we discover they are on a special occasion but that can only be if we have four posters available, on this occasion we were not able to do so.
It is regrettable that the boiler supplying hot water to that part of the house had "tripped" out and the electrical back up supply takes time to flow through. The engineer has been called and a new control panel fitted to the boiler. It is unacceptable not to be able to have a hot shower.
Being an old building we are very aware of the fact that cobwebs appear and as such all housekeeping staff dust and go in search of cobwebs on a daily basis, I apologise for the fact that on this occasion we missed some.
Our toast is done to a medium and occasionally guests request a little darker and we are only too happy to oblige. We always stock both skimmed and semi-skimmed milk on this occasion only skimmed had been delivered that morning.
I have tested the window in the bedroom and when opened it stays open at whatever level it is positioned.
The eye level view from the window is of greenery and trees however because the room is at the back of the house if you look down you will be looking on to the car park.
I have written to the guest with an apology and invited them back for a complimentary stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a B&B not as advertised (at least until recently) a 4* hotel.
The building is lovely and well furnished and if you are lucky you may get a room of reasonable size. If you're unlucky you'll be in a tiny room at the top of a long flight of stairs where you need to balance to even get the key into the door. The primary users appear to be groups of hen parties. The only way you can make a telephone call is by standing at the bottom of the garden with your mobile. The breakfast may be lovely but with over 45 mins wait not everyone will have time to savour it. The real problem here is that there are too few staff and the prices are much in excess of comparable properties in the same area.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
I was both surprised and disappointed to read this review. I was baffled, more than surprised, at the comment “had to balance to get the key into the door” as there is no problem in opening or closing any of our doors
The hotel was built in 1820 and each and every room is different in both shape and size and we have lovingly decorated each room in the same unique fashion.
We promote peace and quiet at Bailbrook Lodge and if we have a party of ladies staying, it is because they want peace and quiet together with a visit to the Thermae Spa.
We have tested every possible mobile phone service provider and each and every one work in every part of the building and have always done so, again, I am totally baffled that the guest felt they had to go into the garden to receive a signal, unless there is a problem with their phone.
It is totally unacceptable to wait 45 minutes for breakfast and for that I sincerely apologise. Unfortunately everybody came to breakfast together on this particular morning which resulted in a delay for some guests. We are constantly fully staffed and that was not the reason for the delay. It goes without saying that I am deeply disappointed that the guest did not enjoy their stay as much as I would have wished they had. I only hope they give us the opportunity of staying with us on another occasion to demonstrate (1) the mobile phone works and (2) the breakfast delay was a one off hiccup. We constantly strive to get it right all the time and when we do not we are the first to kick ourselves. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than seeing guests enjoying themselves and looking forward to their return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at Bailbrook for one night, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, th breakfast was lovely.
After checking out we left our car in the carpark and caught the bus into Bath No 13, we were advised to do this and thank goodness we did, you wouldnt want to try and find parking.
The only problem we had was the temprature of the bath water, on the night we arrived I decided to have a bath, well I could only get the water to heat to luke warm, it was the same in the morning, my partner suggested it could be off peak hot water and he was right, the water did get hot after 8am but by that time we had had breakfast and was ready to leave. The free Wifi didnt really work unless you were close to the reception office but they did provide a computer with free internet use, which was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Bailbrook Lodge last month and had a fab weekend, we had booked on a spa deal which was thoroughly relaxing. Not to be confused with the bigger house next door as we found out by going there first!. The breakfast was wonderful - inclusive of champagne no less! The room we had overlooked the garden and was peaceful. The only criticism we had would be the staff seemed to be allowed to smoke freely near entrance,which being completely anti smoking, was rather off putting, apart from that we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinville sur montcient
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The rooms were excellent for all of us (we were 10). They offered a full english and continental breakfast which was a great start to our day. In spite of the hotel being a bit far from the city center, the manager called us a taxi to go into town and we took the river boat back which was a very pleasant way to get back after a long day in the city. The manager and staff were extremely helpful, giving us addresses for our evening meals and letting us know where and how to get to special places along our way. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.
The bathrooms were a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Address: 35 - 37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailbrook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.