We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Managed to find a last minute deal for a impulse trip to Bath. On arrival, we were very pleased to receive a complimentary upgrade to the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in! Huge bed, really comfy, great view out over the park.
Bathroom facilities good, perhaps a little tired but a really good shower.
Staff were polite, offering to look after our bags for the day, while we looked around the town.
Didn't eat at the hotel but on-site restaurant looked really nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Camillatron

Many thanks for your review, delighted that you were upgraded to a larger room and enjoyed the space, we take on board your comments about the bathroom and following our recent upgrade of the water system bathroom refurbishment is next on the list.

Do come and visit us again and you must try Allium, our restaurant, it is one of the best in Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    277
    108
    32
    15
See reviews for
96
329
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nothing amazing to say about our stay basically does what it say soon the tin. Good clean comfy hotel and room, pretty much what you expect from a best western hotel really. As usual room was far too hot and had to turn radiator right down and leave a window open which meant we could hear noisy people going by in the evening. Breakfast was good, but could be improved by better meat products. Staff were extremely kind and helpful. We arrived early and asked if they could look after our bags and were told our room was ready so could check in, which was useful as we just got caught in a shower so we were able to dry off. They were able to keep our bags securely on check out as we still had a whole days shopping ahead. My daughters first hotel experience I'm glad to say was a positive one. Would come again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The principal strength of this hotel is its location, right in the heart of Bath city centre.

It is also walking distance from the railway station.

The rooms are a bit small, and the building itself is a bit aged, but the hotel is quite ok for spending a couple of nights.

The common areas are limited, but nice enough if you want to get a rest and read.

Room Tip: No specific requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Vikongu

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay, we appreciate your comments.

I am sorry that you found the rooms to be a little small, we do offer a variety of room categories and I would always recommend discussing these with our team at the time of booking to ensure we fulfil your needs. Very pleased to hear that you found a quiet corner to enjoy some reading time.

We hope to welcome you back to the Abbey Hotel on your next visit to Bath.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time I have stayed here. It is in a great location and the staff are all excellent. This time, a birthday treat, I was very disappointed with the room. It was so tiny we had no wardrobe, one bedside table, one drawer, a liable we had to wiggle to get to work and a shower that dripped all night. I have stayed in travel lodge budget hotels that are much more spacious and a fraction of the price. I don't think Room 318 should not be sold as a double! Having to climb over your partner to get out of bed in the middle of the night is not something I would have expected for this price!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear MillahA

Very pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor to Bath and the Abbey Hotel, but so sorry that on this visit the room did not meet your requirements.

Our cosy doubles are just that, cosy, and I hope that we explained this at the time of booking. For your next visit we will be sure to note that a larger category of room is preferred.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon, many thanks once more for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor

Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I recently stayed at this very centrally located hotel. The room was very very small but featured whit all I needed and nicely decorated. The room and all the common areas very clean and tidy. The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff attentive and smiley. The reception staff is efficient with some receptionist very friendly and available and others less. Overall a pleasant stay and a very good standard for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great value for money and the rooms are spotless, we didn't eat here in the evenings as with the whole of Bath within walking distance we could pick and choose. The staff are very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Lots of stairs though so not for the faint hearted! Would return here without a worry.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent one night here recently on a break from London and found it very pleasing indeed. There seems to be a wide variety of rooms on offer, and some are better than others- but there is a clear sense that the hotel is looking to stay modern and stylish. I though the quotations/illustrations on the frosted glass of windows with undesirable views was a creative touch.

Service was excellent overall. The lift being broken, we were offered the option of having our bags brought to our rooms. Admin was handled efficiently and helpfully and the reception staff took an interest in our stay. The restaurant, in the evening, was utterly delicious: really quite modest portions, though, so I'd recommend going 3-course. Breakfast there the next morning was also slightly on the modest side and the food, while still tasty, seemed more hastily prepared. Service at breakfast was also slightly less sharp, but still fine.

A comfortable bed, quiet night's sleep and a good shower (always a crucial factor) ensured a lovely stay. Will definitely come back here next time I'm in Bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.