We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Bath in the storms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    278
    108
    32
    15
See reviews for
96
330
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arrived to be assigned a tiny room and despite our request to move, nothing larger was offered. By tiny, I mean it was so small it had no dresser or closet - in fact it was a closet. Shower in tub also lacked any pressure... Our room was also insufferably hot but opening the window was not an option at night due to the two very loud pubs directly outside.
First night there we were also treated to a fire alarm at midnight with no explaination from management other than "false alarm".
The Abbey hotel is in a great location but beyond that, I'd suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Bowsprint1

We appreciate your comments following your recent stay, due to the age of the building and its quirky lay out some of our rooms are on the smaller side and it is not always possible to facilitate a room move when the hotel is full. We can only apologise for the disruption caused by the fire alarm this is regrettable.

Since taking over the hotel we have begun a program of refurbishment that is on-going and will include renovation of the heating system and more air conditioning.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Bath.

Best Wishes

The Abbey Hotel Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

£198.00 for two nights seemed very reasonable but the room was very small and we were awakened at 6 a.m. both mornings by the kitchen ventilator just outside the window. The noise continued throughout the day so there was no chance of an afternoon rest.
Room was clean and bed comfortable but there was only one bedside light which made reading difficult.
OPeras were good, hotel very disappointing!

Room Tip: Check that your room is NOT near the ventilation system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A most enjoyable say indeed - the location was perfect- very close to all amenities in Bath - the room was large and comfortable - the staff uniformly polite..helpful and professional The breakfast was well excellent (apart from the toast which was very poor indeed!) and the service very prompt and pleasant. WE look forward to further visits to the Abbey Hotel and I would recommend it to others despite it being rather expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice position in Bath. Arrived without a booking on Saturday night and was told we were lucky. This was the last room! The price given was £210 with breakfast included, but no choice about the latter. The nice desk receptionist gave us a discount to £190 for the night. (The official visitor's guide we received at the Tourist Information office gives the price at £110 for a double!) I think this is a steep price for a small room on the first floor (rm 109) without aircon (it was stuffy) and old noisy plumbing. Not to mention the noise from Saturday night frivolities outside our window. The oldish shower had a complicated system of temp regulation and had low pressure. The toilet flush took forever to refill and was noisy. The bed was fine and the breakfast filling - though the full English breakfast could be presented with a little more flair without detracting from tradition! We were happy to find a place, but disappointed by the quality price rapport. Not up to good 3 star standards yet that we are used to in our EU travels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On arrival to the room we found it quite small but this wasn't a big issue as we were only staying for one night, we decided to have a little nap as we had travelled to Bath by car and spent most of the day shopping so we were a little tired and thought we would catch 40 winks before getting ready and heading out. This wasn't the case we opened the window as the room was extremely warm and stuffy (even though the central heating wasn't on) as soon as our heads hit the pillow we were disturbed by what can only be described as hammer drilling and then all the dust was coming out into the room therefore we had to shut the window and suffer being warm. This drilling went on for at least a few hours.

At 6.00am we were the awoken by what we think of is the staff in the kitchen we assume getting ready for breakfast??

We went down to have breakfast at 8.00am the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious, we then collected our bags and waited at reception to check out. We were then checked out by a lady who wasn't in uniform and no name badge (which I find quite odd for a Best Western) This lady was unfriendly and had no interest if we had a nice stay or had we far to travel, no interaction at all which was nothing like the receptionist who checked us in.

My friend then explained that we wanted to leave feedback i.e. the room was stuffy, the hammer drilling etc. This lady didn't say a word and didn't even apologise which I find quite disturbing.

I feel our trip to Bath was over shadowed by our stay at The Abbey Hotel and the price of £120.00 is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in a family room in March of this year. Amazed at its central location, which made it very easy to visit all the sites in town. The family room was in the basement, which is understandable and comfortable with a queen bed and two singles, but you definitely could hear people walking around above you. The breakfast was included and was a cooked one of choice from the a la carte menu - very nice. We had dinner in the hotel resaturant too, which was also pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.