We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room 115” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Great Wakering, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay in room 115”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived and were allocated room 115 by a trainee assisted by somebody who we assumed knew which way was up. We had booked about 3 weeks in advance and were given room 115. (easily the worst room in any hotel we have ever stayed at) and I am hoping for the sake of The Abbey Hotel, the worst room they have got. A very small and hot room with bed against the wall, looking out into a very small dim, damp and dirty enclosed quadrangle, opposite the kitchens. Very hot and airless.
That night we lost about 10lbs each. Next morning we asked at the desk for a change and they could not have been more helpful,the receptionist promised us a better room ad she was true to her word.
The location is second to none, the breakfast also very good.
Don't stay in room 115.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    237
    91
    28
    12
See reviews for
79
257
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good location close to Roman Baths, Abbey and all major attractions. However, the price for central location is increased noise, the coach tours all seem to pick up and drop off directly outside the Hotel and refuge collection seems to take place numerous times from early morning. Obviously this is not the fault of the Hotel but something to be aware of.

Hotel is very clean and some refurbishments have obviously taken place, new carpets in the bedrooms and throughout the corridors. Bar area is very nicely decorated and is suitable for a quiet drink before going out. The bedrooms are quite small and no air con, so very warm when we stayed. We were given room 116 originally but this could only be described as a single room. Yes a double bed was in there but pushed up against the wall, so you could only get in and out at one side of the bed. In my opinion a double bed doesn't make a double room. Hotel management need to stop using the room as a double. Staff were great and they did give us another room with no argument, but don't no what the situation would have been if no other room was available.

One further warning be careful when using the lift, looks rather old and very small. It failed on us for perhaps only a minute or two (seemed longer though) we did have to ring the alarm (which does work). It started and we got out next floor and walked down. Went to report it to reception and girl was already on phone to maintenance, so staff were great.

Cooked breakfast was excellent and very nicely present, but the choice of the non cooked buffet was quite small. Once again staff in bar and restaurant were great, no problems.

Good selection of restaurants are available within a couple of minutes walk. Try Yak Yeti Yak (Nepalese) and Tilleys Bistro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very accommodating when we made reservation, finding us the best rate and the family room for our party of four, complete with the B&B rate. Breakfast was great with a number of hot choices including Full English (no kippers). The Abbey is in the middle of town right beside the river - beautiful walks, a block fro the actual Abbey and the Roman Baths, right next to Sally Lunns (famous Buns) etc.... Desk service, restaurant service and lounge service friendly and helpful. Very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Family room with Queen and two twins was great for us, but in basement, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although initially the route to this hotel seemed quite complex and inaccessible, once you settle into the area you realise that it isn't so difficult and that the hotel is in a fantastic location. The room was large, well furnished, high quality and very clean, with the usual facilities that you would expect from this quality of hotel. Outside in the square the hotel has a patio area where you can enjoy a drink and watch the world go by and within a few yards there are traditional pubs, tea rooms and restaurants. Across the road is a very pleasant park where you can enjoy a picnic and watch over activity on the river.

Just around the corner you venture immediately into the old area of Bath with the Abbey and Roman Baths. At every corner there is an entertainer, mostly of high quality (just like Covent Garden) an array of bars and restaurants and a fantastic selection of shops. The Roman Baths is probably the most fascinating and interesting historical location I have visited for some time, well worth a visit and the recorded commentary is very useful.

The only draw back for the hotel is that there is no car park, but public car parks are very nearby and cost around £12 per 24 hours. There is also an underground club in the square in front of the hotel which can be noisy if you are in the front of the hotel, but wasn't really a problem. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and good quality and the same in the restaurant in the evening.

Well worth a weekend stay.

Mike

Room Tip: At the front for the view, at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here with my 79 yr old mother last week and I have to say the location is excellent 8 mins to bus/train station and 5 mins to Abbey as well as being very close to Sally Lunn's and excellent restaurants and cafes. The check in with quick and effcient and we chose this hotel because there was a lift which is brillant when you a tired after a long day sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful. Just a few minor things you had to ask for toiletries at reception they were not replaced every day by the chambermaids. And I asked the reception if they had a spare nail scissors as we only had carry on luggage and are not allowed to bring a scissors they did not have one. It was warm in the room but it was quite warm outside anyway with the recent heatwave and there was a fan in the room. There was lots of supplies of tea/coffee and biscuits and a lovely hd tv and radio for having a relax in the evening. I would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is nice and cosy. The lobby makes a good impression. The rooms are just ok, but the bathrooms could be more modern, but at least they are clean. The biggest disadvantage of the rooms is the lack of air con. The breakfast are tasty, but i don't know about the other meals. The bar is open 24 hrs.

Room Tip: the room in a lower ground floor has AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well located hotel with a restaurant which served extremely high quality meals at good value. We were with a group and part of our 'package' was two lunches and one dinner in the hotel. The quality was unexpectedly good and the same could be said of the breakfasts. Ideal for a long weekend in Bath. Although there is no hotel parking some of our group found parking nearby and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city.The Abbey Hotel is a member of the Best Western Group, so you can be assured the highest standards, with all the care and excellent service you'd expect from a privately-owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.