We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Quality Rooms, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & CityPass
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Bath
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Quality Rooms, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Francis Hotel last weekend and I must say that this is one of the most comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in. Very much a 5 star Hotel in the heart of the historic city of Bath. The location is fabulous as its so convenient to all the shops, restaurants and bars.

We stayed in a Deluxe room, number 130, the room was perfection, modern and quality amenities, a really comfortable large bed and plenty of room, the décor was great, it really reminded us of the new rooms at Claridges in London.

In the evening we dined in the adjoining Brasserie Blanc which was excellent. After our meal we went into the cocktail bar and met the Bar Manager Jason, what a real personality he was, a New Yorker who gave great service, my wife didn't know what cocktail to have so he made a Jason Special, she loved it. Our only little gripe was that after 11pm they stopped serving cocktails, we found this a little strange as we would have enjoyed another one.

The Breakfasts at this hotel are amazing, we were seated and served tea and coffee. The breakfast menu was extensive and we made the most of it, all the food arrived and was amazing, we agreed that this was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a 5 star hotel, well played to the waiters and chefs. After breakfast we met the food and beverage manager, she was lovely and we extended our thanks on a really great stay.

We can highly recommend this hotel, its 5 star quality, the service all round is excellent and the breakfasts amazing. We look forward to our next visit.

We had a fantastic

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are excellent, we went for 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    253
    77
    28
    5
See reviews for
103
463
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The St Francis is centrally located . You can walk easily to all the mayor sights of Bath. The hotel has been recently renovated with some unusal and interesting touches.
The only room available when we reserved was a room on the third floor in the back of the building. Again nicely decorated but quite small, so small that the coffee/tea tray is located on the floor (!) of the cupboard where you will find your second towel which gives you an idea o the mini size of the bathroom.
Doors of the rooms are heavy and close automatically ( fire regulations I imagine) which allows for a lot of banging of doors especially early morning when guests go down for breakfast. This brings me to the complete disaster of the breakfast. Best thing to avoid this all until managment have resolved this issue!
I have complained about this and have received a reply + refund for this item from the manager.
The hotel has a pleasant ' living room' where you can order coffee/ tea etca. Attached is a small 'library' for reading a newspaper.
Food at the restaurant ( a Raymond Blanc Brasserie) was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
The location of the hotel is very good; I hope you managed to take in the attractions in the city while you were here. All the rooms in the Hotel vary in shape, size and décor and it is a shame if you didn’t speak to reception to see if it was possible to move our room if you weren’t comfortable. We do have several new team members in the restaurant at the moment who are still in training; I am confident that they are improving on a daily basis and I really am very sorry if you were inconvenienced.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the train station (up hill slightly, if you've got bags with you) but worth every step. Our room was quite large (by UK standards), ready early, clean and well appointed. I'm not sure I would have stayed here if it wasn't for the 3-nights-for-the-price-of-2 promotion, but I'm very glad we did. The hotel is a nice walk to all the downtown attractions, but also in a quiet area away from any tourist noise. The breakfast was possibly the best we had in all of our of 18 days in England.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back parking lot--not a great view, but very quiet and away from any street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I am pleased that we made your stay in Bath a happy occasion. I hope you had a good time in the rest of the UK and hope to see you on a return visit.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I brought my girlfriend here for a romantic getaway from London for the weekend. It's ideally located in the centre of it all. There is a really nice Raymond Blanc restaurant next door, plenty of places to see and eat at nearby. Great service in the hotel and very nice staff. The feature room for approx £250 was brilliant. Very clean and tidy, bathrooms were impeccable and with a lovely rain shower. Bed was huge although as i have a sensitive back i found the bed too soft for my liking. Also we were in room 112 which, although plush, was on the front and therefore kept awake by the cars outside, hence why i dock the overall stay one star.

Apart from that we had an excellent stay. Breakfast was really nice! cold breakfast buffet and the full english i ordered was really nice! one suggestion i would give would be to get down early. There was a queue when we were leaving. Breaky was 8-11 and we got in for 9am.

I would totally recommend this place to anyone looking to make a real effort and treat each other during a nice romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Go for a feature room if you can so as to make your overall experience much better, but ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I do hope you return for your next romantic getaway. Thank you for sending in a review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were staying at the Francis Hotel for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding, and thought it on the whole very good.

Reception staff were pleasant and appeared interested in our wedding events; and the décor in the public areas is quite attractive and amusing. We also liked the colour schemes in the bedrooms, and the well-appointed bathroom with an excellent shower and big fluffy bath sheets.

We had dinner in Brasserie Blanc, which forms part of the hotel; this was excellent and not too expensive.

Now a few more negative comments! – oddly, there was no waste paper basket in the room, only one in the bathroom. Is this a deliberate policy? Also no writing paper, laundry bag, etc. But this was swiftly remedied on request.

The hospitality tray was in need of a good clean; crumbs in corners, etc. No attempt was made to clean this up during our stay. On the Saturday our room was not cleaned till about 4pm, when we had just returned in need of a rest; and then after cleaning, someone else knocked on the door to ask whether it had been done! During turn-down, used tea cups were left as they were, and not replaced with clean ones. Considering the price we were paying for the room, this was pretty unsatisfactory.

The sink drained very poorly, and there was almost no pressure in the hot tap (Room 28.) If we had been staying longer we would have asked for this to be remedied.

And so to breakfast. We were attending a breakfast-time wedding at 8.30am, so had hoped to be able to order just tea and croissants via room service about 7am. But we couldn't, because it would have cost us the full £19.50 + a £5 tray charge! Clearly the hotel has opted to keep its breakfast 'offering' very simple, but I would have hoped for more flexibility in this regard.

Anyway, it is a good hotel, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and I have noted the concerns that you have raised regarding the servicing of your room, which we have addressed. My Housekeeper has asked me to apologise on her behalf and has re-trained the staff member who is responsible for this particular section. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Luke and his Concierge team were the highlight of my stay at the Bath Spa Hotel a little while ago, so imagine my delight when I found him here as well! Impeccable service from "welcome" to "have a good journey".

The hotel itself is great fun and magnificently appointed, but I always think it's the staff that seal the deal.

I might try the Royal Crescent next.

See you there, Luke...?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What a lovely review; Luke sends his thanks, he is very pleased. Hopefully you will see him again – at the Francis Hotel!

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Bath of course is a lovely city so a visit is always a pleasure. On this occasion my wife had bought a champagne afternoon tea with the Francis Hotel. Initially she was going with a friend who had to cancel so she was stuck with me. The hotel enjoys a wonderful postion and has recently been renovated. (The toilets are a joy!)

The tea consisted of a glass of champagne followed by tea of your choice or coffee. A cake stand then arrived. At the top fruit cake and what used to be called sugar buns I think. The next level were various cakes. A bit sweet for my taste but my wife enjoyed them. Bottom level scones jam and an indcent amount of clotted cream. The quantities are substantial and most people leave some. We did not! A very satisfactory way of sepnding an afternoon all in all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It’s a great way to spend an afternoon isn’t it? Thank you for sending in your review and we hope you come back again next time you are in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Hotel Bath, MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.