We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francis Hotel, Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GOURMET MORNINGS
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cockermouth
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Francis Hotel, Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Francis a couple of years ago, and to be frank, it had become a little tired. However, we have just spent a brilliant weekend staying at the hotel once again. It's new owners have spent a fortune and have really raised the standards tremendously, not just in decor, but in service, and in food quality. The addition of the Blanc Brasserie has been a master stroke. The hotel is wonderfully located for central Bath, and has a smallish but secure car park to the rear which is a real asset in Bath. We would not hesitate to return to the hotel. A lovely experience. Room 213 was particularly nice.

Room Tip: Room 213 faces onto Queens Square and was large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It is always nice to see previous guests returning to the refurbished hotel. It is great to see that you like the new look and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    380
    112
    32
    7
See reviews for
156
717
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Francis Hotel for only one night when visiting Bath. The location was very central and close to all the sights and shops. I especially liked the hotel decor. It was very cute and cosy. Our room was very clean, the bed was super comfy and sheets soft soft soft! The only criticism I have was the ridiculous long wait for our cooked breakfast in the morning. We waited 50 mins for poached eggs and toast! The breakfast room was very busy and other couples had the same problem. We even had a long wait for tea and coffee. However there is quite a good choice of continental breakfast and cereals if you want avoid waiting. I feel that there was not adequate amount of staff for such a busy Saturday morning rush in order to keep everyone satisfied. But don't let that put you off. The hotel is very nice, staff very friendly and approachable and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am pleased to see that you appreciate the décor in the Hotel and find the bed/bedding to be comfortable. I am sorry you had to wait such a long time for your breakfast; I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will be investigating the matter.

I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the newly renovated Francis Hotel on two occasions since the refurbishment. Clearly a great deal of money has been spent and the works extensive. Colours and designs are often bold and might not suit all tastes but maybe that is the point? Hotels have in many cases become a little too bland.

Rooms appear generously sized, well furnished and the beds very comfortable. Nespresso machines in each room (an increasingly common and welcome touch).

Staff are happy, positive and helpful. Breakfast is a good buffet with hot items cooked to order and delivered from the kitchen.

The in house restaurant is Brasserie Blanc - decent menu where it is possible to have three courses, a glass of house wine and a bottle of water for £20.

All in a nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a constructive review following your two stays with us; I am delighted that you have been back twice since the refurbishment. Just a small point, the Nespresso machines are in our superior and feature rooms only. I do hope we see you again very soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was overall a very good stay. We were made very welcome on arrival; the staff were friendly and extremely helpful providing us with city maps and giving directions. You could immediately tell the hotel had been refurbished to a high standard throughout - great quirky modern design.
We were upgraded on arrival and given a room on the top floor. Fairly compact room but great for a city break.
The only issue we had was some street noise in the night however with the hotel being in walking distance from Baths main attractions in a central location we didnt complain- noise was inevitable although inconvenient.
Breakfast however was fabulous; outstanding choice of full english, continental inc cheeses, meats etc. There was an additional menu you could order from with items such as eggs benedict with no extra charge. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a British hotel.
This is a great hotel for couples on a romantic break

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor DO NOT stay on this floor if you are over 6ft- very low ceilings some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very well appointed hotel in a quiet square in the heart of Bath. Mega friendly staff. Excellent breakfast with the greatest selection of honey known to man! We had a double room on the third floor which was small but very well laid out. My only criticism was the usual for roof rooms, the room was too warm. Plenty of car parking to the book for a charge. Truly first class knowledge of the city and wilingness to help of the staff make this a perfect place for a special minibreak stay to maximise your enjoyment of Bath.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is great that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff to be friendly. It is always a boost to morale to receive reviews such as yours. I do hope you return to the Francis Hotel soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a two night weekend stay feeling slightly disappointed....
First the positives (and there are many). The hotel is right in the centre of the city and could not be better placed for anyone looking to explore the sights and the history. It also has it's own car park which is a real bonus if you are driving (charge is £15 per night but that represents good value compared with alternatives). The staff are very friendly and helpful and willingly recommend alternative bars and restaurants for the evening (try The Canary, Gin & Wine Bar in Quiet St just two streets over if you turn right out of the front door!). The recent refurbishment has been done to a high standard and there is a nice warm welcoming feel as you arrive.
Some negatives though. We had a superior room in the newer part of the hotel (we had booked a standard room for one night and then a couple of days before arriving extended our stay by a further night. We were given a complimentary upgrade so that we didn't have to move rooms - a nice touch). The room was quite small and the bathroom was only a small shower room in reality. There is nowhere to dry towels, so we ended up having them changed in spite of requests to protect the environment. Another minor detail was the central inflow to the hand basin was loose with the securing washer clearly visibly - still serviceable but unsightly.
It was very cold outside and although the public rooms were warm we simply could get the bedroom to a reasonable temperature. We mentioned this on checking out but there was a pretty indifferent response so I doubt the comment will be passed on.
The breakfast was good but beware if you are a couple and seated on a table for two. They are so small that by the time the pot of tea, the milk and the toast are delivered there is no room for anything else!
Finally the value...... the two nights cost over £400 (£254 for the first night and £129 for the second, with the benefit of the upgrade + parking). We felt this was pretty steep for a small room, albeit well furnished and in the middle of a lovely city, with some irritating quirks.
PS: why are all modern hotel rooms so dimly lit? This one was no exception!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sending in your review and for responding to the hotel survey following your recent stay with us; constructive feedback is invaluable.

I am so sorry that you couldn’t get the room warm when you were with us. It is such a shame that you didn’t ask reception to take a look at the control in the room to ensure you had the heating rather than the cooling facility switched on to make your stay more comfortable.

I am sorry that you felt that the price of the room was too high. The prices work like an airline so that the price increases closer to the date of the booking and also if it is a weekend or holiday; as you booked the additional night 2 days prior to the date of the booking and it was a Saturday night (the busiest night of the week) the price was high. If you should ever want to return to Bath, please check our rates online for any offers that we may have.

I have asked my Maintenance Manager to check that the light bulbs in the bathroom are the correct wattage; it isn’t good if you can’t see to put on make-up or contact lenses. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis at some time in the future.

Kind regards

John Willcock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Traditional exterior but walk through the doors and be surprised! A modern interior with vibrant colours but still traditional in the way it greets and deals with its clients. Our room was in the Garden Block. Spacious and comfortable with top quality linens. The choices at breakfast was what you would expect from this class of hotel. Location was ideal; just on the edge of the shopping area with Queens Park opposite. One small drawback was parking - there is parking at the rear of the hotel which you pay for, with a large longstay park about a five minute walk away. Would I stay again - Yes Please.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.