We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Francis Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MGallery Gourmet Morning
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
yeovil
1 review
“The Francis Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed a two night break at this hotel.The hotel is in an excellent position for sight seeing and for shopping.We were very impressed by the high standards of service provided by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    316
    100
    30
    7
See reviews for
131
589
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked the hotel for a friend's hen weekend, with 10 of us staying. The advance rate was excellent and everything about our stay was perfect - we were upgraded to better rooms on arrival, which were brilliant with really comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. The decor throughout the hotel is unusual and really attractive. Breakfast - included in the room rate - was the best I have ever had in a hotel and they dealt with vegetarian and gluten-free requests without batting an eyelid. The restaurant staff were super-friendly and helpful. We really couldn't have asked for more - and the location is perfect for exploring the city. Highly, highly recommend and I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms we had were fine but a view of Queen Square would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sending in such a positive review following your recent say with us. I do hope we see you at the Hotel again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in the hotel around 5 years ago so was aware that the location was perfect for the city centre. However, at the time it was looking in need of a bit of loving care - the refurbishment is excellent and has really done the trick! I was there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday - she really appreciated the beautiful decor. The breakfast was top class and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are impeccably clean too. In particular the beds are seriously comfortable! I felt that the price (which was on towards the upper end of my budget) was fully justified. Parking is an issue at the hotel (there are very limited spaces! The hotel does make this clear in fairness), however, parking in Charlotte Street is really not far away and is cheaper to boot! We really enjoyed our time in this lovely hotel and will be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I hope you don’t leave it so long for a return visit.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is a lovely hotel and I Imuch enjoyed my stay. The staff were very nice and the hotel was very comfortable. My only note is one to ask that there is some note by the bathroom (well shower room) to explain that you will get no heat or ventilation if you don't turn it on before you go in! And, There is no bath. My only sadness. I am sure there are some somewhere and perhaps it might be nice to warn bathlovers where they are or that such an such a room is bathless in Bath.



Christopher Richardson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Francis Hotel. Many of our rooms do have baths; guests tend to request these when making their booking. Please ask us for your next visit and we will do our best to accommodate you in a room with a bath.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed in the Francis for two nights 11/12th Jan we have not stayed at this hotel for quite a few years opting for the hilton instead,but for this stay we decided to go for the Francis.
The hotel has undergone an extensive refit and is spot on. The staff were very friendly they made us feel at home. Our room was overlooking the square at the front of the hotel it was a little noisy due to traffic but not annoyingly so.
The only point regarding the room was that the tea and coffee facilities were in the wardrobe which would be fine except there was no power point for the kettle so we had to carry it out in to the room, nothing horrendous but just a little annoying.
The breakfast on our second morning was a little slap dash but the staff were very busy and could have done with more people on duty, the breakfast its self was very good.
All in all the Francis lived up to our expectations and we will definatly be staying there again.
We ate at Blancs brassiere it was quite nice mmmm.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It is nice to see guests returning to the Francis and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheddar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we stayed for one night - birthday treat. Very nice hotel friendly, efficient staff, nice room overlooking Queens Square, Large powerful shower and spotless bathroom. Only downside small fridge would have been nice. Super breakfast good selection of food.The decor and position are winners.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday treat. I hope we see you for your next one!

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

good refit on the hotel since last stay - helpful, courteous staff - but perennial problems of hotels in general still exist i.e. noisy a/c, noisy self-closing doors, noisy & inconsiderate other guests. double glazing would help eliminate traffic noise. shower was a bit weak, looseat wobbly & shaving mirror set too high even for a a tall person like me !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am pleased that you like the re-fit at the Hotel although concerned at some of the comments that you have made which we could correct. I would be grateful if you could send me some more details to h6636-gm@accor.com and we will do our best to action them.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.