We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MGallery Gourmet Morning
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Francis Hotel, the location is perfect, in walking distance of everything we wanted to see.
The staff were polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble especially the member of staff who sorted our room service at a late hour when he was on his own with no apparent help.
The room was very comfortable with a super bathroom and lovely bed.
The breakfast was good with lots of choice, my only tiny gripe was the breakfast staff, although very polite looked like they could have done with a bit more help, the breakfast room was very busy, more hands on deck would have made a difference, however, they were as efficient as was humanly possible under the circumstances, all in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which was quiet but I understand the top floor rooms,although smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive recommendations following your recent stay. We are very lucky to be so well placed for all the attractions/shopping in Bath. Do come for a visit soon.

Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    316
    100
    30
    7
See reviews for
132
589
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Francis mcgallery hotel bath, on arrival we were greeted promptly and advised that our request for a room with a bath an shower had been accommodated. the hotel was eccletic and boutique in design, we had a steak sandwich on arrival which was beautiful to keep us going until our meal at casini's later that evening. Our room faced the hotel front and we had a great view of the obalisque in the square, we were later to find out the history behind it and bath by our tour guide Susan who was very interesting and informative. We dined at casini's which was very nice food and also at Tilleys which for me was just more of a cafe rather than a restaurant not the best food . Overall loved bath and hotel would go back for a visit

Room Tip: We stayed in house 8 as the hotel is made up of several houses that have been joined together the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sending in such a constructive review following your stay in Bath, which will be useful for anyone planning a first visit to Bath. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Bath and hope you will be back to see more soon.
Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have been visiting the hotel for the past 19 years and, after the expensive renovation, expected more!

The first room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor. It was small and the floor was very uneven so much so that items placed on the bedside table would slide off! A ledge round the table is required. The new deep baths are welcome however there was no handle to assist in getting out! The bath hot tap was loose and almost came off in my hand! The hot water was not particularly hot and no cold water was required in the bath. It took us a while to find the room temperature control which was "hidden" behind one of the bedside lights. Two trays with dishes and food remnants remained in the corridor overnight.

The breakfast room is rather cramped and the 2 seat tables are simply too small for all the dishes. We quickly moved to a 4 seat table. The breakfast room is going to be difficult and uncomfortable if the hotel is full. The cooked breakfast was also not to a high standard.The food was bland and on 2 of the 3 mornings we were there the service in the breakfast room was very poor. My wife had to go into the kitchen to order toast!

After the first night we were moved to a larger room on the 1st floor however this room had no shelves or drawers for our clothes. We were obliged to live out of our suitcases. After many attempts we did manage to operate the new coffee machine! The bathroom requires an extractor fan as there are condensation problems.

The new bar area was very comfortable and the service both there and on reception was excellent. The original restaurant is now franchised to Raymond Blanc and nothing to do with the hotel. It is first class..

This was not a good experience however I was impressed that the manager was interested and concerned to hear our criticisms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay with us. I would be interested to know which room it was that you had stayed in on the 3rd floor as we had thought that the floor ‘irregularities’ had all been evened out during the refurbishment. The designer is in the process of arranging shelving to be put into all the rooms that didn’t originally have it. If you have 5 minutes could you either call me on 01225 424105 or email me on h6636-gm@accor.com.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel has had a £6 million renovation since our last stay and really is beautiful inside. Clean, modern and sophisticated with friendly staff. There is also parking which you often don't get in Bath. Room service is expensive as they charge £5 even if you only want a drink! But overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for your recommendations. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis Hotel Bath soon.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very satisfactory in terms of overall comfort with much improved and now excellent service compared with previously. Decor and desk in the reception area - not sure what they were thinking but maybe just a matter of taste. Biggest downsides - very limited storage in the rooms - no drawers at all (ours was a superior room); no preferential booking arrangements for hotel residents for the new 'associated' Le Blanc Brasserie so effectively there was no hotel dining room for dinner. You need to book this directly with the restaurant several weeks ahead otherwise you get a 5.00pm or 10.00pm slot for dining!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am delighted that you were comfortable in the hotel. The shelving in the rooms is being actioned right now following similar feedback from previous guests. Brasserie Blanc is proving to be very popular- I do hope you managed to book a table. Bath is full of very good restaurants with several excellent independent restaurants located close by; you would never starve in Bath!

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for for the weekend whilst celebrating a friend's 60th. A bit surprised to be given a ground floor disabled room, which we hadn't booked. The new look makeover has apparently led to there being no cupboards or drawer space in the rooms. Rather strange, as the only other place to put clothes was a very small hanging rail. Apparently the hotel is trying to avoid "clutter" in the rooms. Maybe old fashioned, but visitors usually bring clothes. Breakfast hard to eat when sitting at such tiny cluttered tables. Service was poor and slow. Car park good, reception helpful, wallpaper rather garish - in my view. Have stayed here before refurbishment, and was a little dissappointed this time.

Room Tip: State clearly if you don't want a disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sending in your review following your stay at the Francis Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and the décor in the Hotel when you came to stay with us. The shelving in the rooms is being actioned right now following similar feedback from previous guests. It is always very constructive to receive feedback. I do hope you will return to us at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel has an excellewnt location right on Queens Square and has recently undergone a major refurb. The public areas are now very classy, warm and welcoming and this is now an excellent place to grab a morning coffee or afternoon tea away from the nearby hustle and bustle of Bath

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are delighted that you like the refurbishment. Thank you for all your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.