We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennard Hotel, Bath - A gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kennard to your Saves list
The Kennard
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Price Book Direct!
Ranked #19 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kennard Hotel, Bath - A gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from two nights at this wonderful hotel. The owners Giovanni and Mary are very welcoming and their help and assistance was maintained during our stay, offering advice on where to eat for dinner and booking it for you together with advice on travelling about in Bath.
The decor of the hotel is excellent varying from traditional through to modern and we feel there is something to suit all tastes. We had a standard room at the top of the hotel, a bit of a climb if you are elderly but there are other rooms on lower floors available. Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs but again if you need a larger room these are available you just need to ask when you book. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, warm and with an en-suite bathroom with a shower etc. If you require a bath you should again ask when you book.
The breakfasts are not to be missed, an extensive choice from cereals, fresh fruit, juices etc., through to a full English breakfast which is wonderfully cooked from local produce. There is an extensive range of teas and coffees on offer at breakfast something you don't often get in much more expensive hotels.
The parking in Bath is a bit of a nightmare but again Giovanni and Mary are there to help as they provide a complimentary resident's parking permit and we had no problems in parking in the street almost outside the hotel.
The Hotel is situated just off Greta Pulteney Street and is very convenient for the town centre. This is a hotel not to be missed if you are staying in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hotel are a bit of a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    82
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
95
406
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Quite possibly the most perfect b&b I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was second to none. Free Wi-Fi access and a great location. Room made up perfectly with a great selection of teas :) the hosts were also very polite and very helpful

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a stunning hotel, the hosts Giovanni and Maria went out of their way to make you welcome. The beds comfortable and a rare treat a well stocked tea tray with plenty to choose from fruit teas, coffee and plenty of milk provided. This hotel is lovely and well placed for visiting all the cultural delights that Bath has to offer. My mother and myself stayed for just 2 nights and would have happily stayed for longer. Looking forward to our next visit to Bath and this beautiful hotel. One final point, the breakfast wow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a marvellous place to stay. Magnificent, clean rooms that are comfortable and cosy.
The hosts are very easy to get on with and really push themselves to ensure you have a great stay.
The breakfasts are fantastic and taste wonderful. Try the potato cake!
Cant wait to return! Brilliantly convenient for the beautiful Xmas market and City Centre.

Room Tip: Have stayed in front and back rooms now - all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location is fine; just a 10 minute walk from the city centre on a quiet residential street. The room I stayed in was on the top floor. I found the room to be very small. I expected a bigger room taking into account the money I paid. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was okay; nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryandGiovanni, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you appreciated the cleanliness and the comfort of your room and our location.
Our rates are extremely competitive considering our city-centre location in a quiet street and the level of our establishment and service.
We are very surprised by your comment on our breakfast. As per other reviews, guests' comments and the awards we have won for our breakfast, we are very proud of the variety of choices, the quality of the products and the beautiful setting of our breakfast room, arranged with linen tablecloths, fine china, silverware and fresh flowers. Our orange juice is freshly squeezed every morning just before the arrival of our guests. The fresh fruit salad is prepared using 10 different varieties of fruit. Our bacon and sausages come from the award-winning Sandridge Farm. Our bread is freshly baked at Hobbs House Bakery in the Cotswolds. We have 8 different types of freshly-ground coffees and 20 different leaf teas, an extensive selection of preserves, spreads and chutneys, and home-made Granola.
We and the great majority of our guests are convinced that this IS a special breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Loved this very special B & B which is in a lovely Georgian house in Central Bath it offers free parking as well. I stayed in Room 2 the floral room which was beautiful with a very large bed with canopy. The only downside for me was not having a bath however the shower was perfect. Breakfast was lovely with quality ingredients. Bath was lovely, B & B was lovely and I would recommend it to friends and family and will stay here again in a heartbeat if visiting Bath in the future. Thank you Kennard for making my anniversary break so special :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Kennard recently with another couple from Canada. The reviews were favourable as you can see, but they exceeded our expectations on all counts! There is so much caring attention to detail in every aspect of the Kennard. Lovely decor touches, that welcoming feeling, along with a delightful designer garden. One of the best full english breakfasts ever! And to top it all the charming hospitality of owners Mary and Giovanni. We couldn't recommend it more favourably!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kennard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.