We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kennard

Save Saved
You added The Kennard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at The Kennard overnight, but wanted a good standard of accommodating. Buoyed by reviews here and elsewhere we booked for a birthday treat. The hotel is a stone's throw from the City Centre, just over the bridge in an unassuming location. Met on arrival by the owner, we were welcomed and checked in before being shown our room. We had booked about a week before, so it was little surprise we were on the top floor and I feared the worst in terms of quality, but I was wrong. The Paisley Room was perfectly appointed with a comfy double bed and ample storage. If you don't like stairs then the four flights might not impress, but it didn't bother us. Our only gripe was that the wifi didn't seem to stretch to our room, so if you're reliant on it then best to check. Again, it wasn't a concern as we were intent on enjoying Bath.

The hotel is part of a discount scheme which allowed us an extra free hour at the Thermae and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast is sublime, with a great choice of teas and coffees to go with cold items and a hot selection cooked to order.

If you're looking for a great standard of hotel, close to the city centre with a friendly service then look no further.

Room Tip: Garden facing are probably a little quieter and wifi may not stretch to highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    71
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
81
357
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Somerset , what a gem , very friendly couple who run The Kennard. We had a wander around the delights of Bath and returned early evening.It was a really comfy bed , great nights sleep and a fantastic breakfast to follow.
Will definitely come here again.
Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed in The Kennard many times and have never been disappointed. Mary and Giovanni are wonderful hosts who are more than happy to recommend restaurants and make bookings for you. Their Georgian house is delightfully decorated with well appointed bedrooms and a stunning green breakfast room. And the breakfast is an event in itself. Using produce from a local farm, the full English is full-on and you can lace your porridge with a drop of whisky if you fancy. Nothing is too much trouble and the location is perfect, just round the corner from Pultney Bridge. I can’t recommend The Kennard highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this friendly well cared for B&B. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed, clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast tasted delicious, there was a great menu selection with locally sourced produce. The location was very central just a short walk to all the sights and shops in the city. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful when we were deciding what to do. We thoroughly recommend The Kennard and could not rate it more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snohomish wa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed two nights in September, 2013. This was our first stay of a 20-night trip to Great Britain, and we got spoiled.
Mary and Giovanni provided, by far, the best breakfast (e.g., fresh fruit, French press coffee, bakery-quality croissants, etc.) of the eight B&B's/hotels we stayed during our trip. They were also quite engaging and helpful in our touring of Bath. The location was superb and the B&B was extremely well-maintained. Complimentary telephone service in the rooms-- the only one of our eight B&B's/hotels in Great Britain that provided this amenity.

Mary and Giovanni were elegant and gracious hosts. Absolutely one of the best B&B's, in our experience. Clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The gracious host helped my wife and son carry our luggage to our room during a rainy night in late August while I parked the car. The following morning started brightly with an excellent breakfast. The room was well sized and brilliantly maintained. The personal touch that is always lacking in chain hotels (no matter the no. of stars) was shown abundantly here. The hosts took care in recommending us with restaurants and how best to use our time. The 3 days stay was smashing. Thanks for your hospitality! IL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The location could not have been better, it was an easy walk into the city center. The rooms were so bright and well appointed. The Breakfasts were delicious with a good menu selection. Loved their personal touch of giving directions from a large wall map.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, the hosts will be accommodating to your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kennard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.