We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kennard to your Saves list
The Kennard
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely clean Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just arrived back from a two night weekend break at the Kennard hotel. When we arrived we were welcomed by mary the owner, she is a lovely lady, she took or luggage up to the room, and gave us a parking permit to park outside the Hotel, we had to park a short walk as there wasnt any spaces near the Hotel, but that was fine as everything is within walking distance to the centre of Bath, so we didnt need to move our carwhilst we were there.
The HOTEL WAS LOVELY nicely decorated and our room was the triple room on the second floor, it was beautiful decorated and clean with a lovely en suit. the bed was all white bedding, spotless. with tea and coffee facilities and all you needed for a short stay.
The owners were very helpful, they asked if we needed any advise on restaurants in Bath, and gave us some good tips. They cook the Breakfasts themselves, we have never had such a lovely Breakfast anywhere as nice as theirs. All the food was local fresh produce, that they buy from a local farm with freerange eggs, and the sausages were delicious. There was a range of
fresh coffee, you can choose from yum yum. Totally reccomend if you love good food.
The Hotel is just a short walk from everything, Bath is wonderful, with lots of history and worth a visit, we visit Bath every dec time when there Christmas Market is on, its very busy but very christmasy. A nice treat before christmas, not cheap tho it can work out quite expensive. So be prepared to spend. Thank you both to the owners of the Kennard, we enjoyed our stay and would definatly return to your Hotel xx

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be a little noisy, if people walk back to their hotels late at night. a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    76
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
86
384
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 day stay at the Kennard Hotel. We have had a lovely time - the staff were helpful, the breakfast was yummy and the room was like stepping back in time - but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. We love the fact it is so close to the centre of town too. It's a pity about the lack of parking but that's a payoff for being located so near the centre I suppose... and the internet in the rooms was a little wonky... but otherwise no complaints! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Those who have never been to Bath before can't do any better than staying here. You will find the Kennard in a fantastic location for all you want to do and for what Bath has to offer.

The Hotel is very comfortable and quiet with quality rooms.

The hosts are very professional and hospitable and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The parking permit is just great in what is a very busy City, plus we were even offered it for a few hours after we had checked out which was very nice as street parking charges are steep!

The breakfasts are served in a lovely room and source local ingredients and produce. Very, very tasty and ample. The garden as well must be lovely to sit in, but still looked good even in the bad weather.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone plus I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for parking permit when booking if travelling by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We can only reinforce the positive things already written by others. Yes, parking can be a problem. We do not recognise the owners described by one reviewer as "not particularly friendly in the morning" - we found them warm and friendly (but not overbearingly so) at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviews, the good and the few not so good points. Overall a very nice and comfortable stay and beautifully decorated and furnished hotel and bedroom. Mind the stairs - quite a trek as breakfast is in the basement and the rooms start on the first floor. We must be one of the few who had a job finding the place - mind you it was dark and the bridge nearby is cunningly disguised as a street so you don't know you are going over the river. Finding a parking space wasn't that easy. Breakfast very nice except the potato cake, which wasn't fully cooked. Good choice of buffet and cooked breakfast. Excellent location, only 5-10 mins walk to Abbey and baths yet in a quiet area. Overall would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copalis Beach, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Nice place, with great breakfast. Located just across the river from the Abbey and other central attractions. Parking is on-street (hotel has permits, but spots are hard to find). My only complaint is that the owners aren't particularly friendly in the morning as they served breakfast (they make and serve breakfast themselves). maybe this is just being polite, but the breakfast area is so quiet and small that this makes breakfast uncomfortable. But the food was excellent. And Bath is wonderful, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryandGiovanni, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our central yet quiet location: we are 3 minutes' walk from the Abbey, the Roman Baths and the Pump Room. We are fortunate to be able to offer our guests free parking in the street in front of our B&B.
We are very proud of our breakfast. We serve serve local organic produce - our eggs come from a small farm up the hill which has less than 100 hens! - cooked to order in our flamboyant breakfast room. We are sorry that its calm and tranquil atmosphere was not to your taste. We deliberately decided against background music - a decision much appreciated by The Good Hotel Guide - and we do not accept children, in order to preserve it. We are always very happy to chat to our guests, to give them information, suggestions and guidance, or just to get to know them a little better. This, for us, is the most rewarding part of our job. We hope to see you again soon at The Kennard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel near the end of a 5 week self-drive holiday through the UK and decided to spend a bit more than usual to stay here because it had such good reviews. It was a really good decision - the hotel is in a fantastic location (walk to the main attractions in minutes) and the rooms are really comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast room is gorgeous - make sure you give yourself time to enjoy the very genteel breakfast experience! Ask and you shall receive......

Car parking can be a bit tricky, though it is free so you can't complain about that - but you just need to be patient in locating a spot in the permitted areas around the hotel (you need a permit which is issued by the hotel). We just kept our eye on the parking situation and one night walking home after dinner we noticed a few spots closer to the hotel so we moved our car then.

We stayed in quite a few hotels converted from old houses while in the UK and the stairs could be an issue if you have mobility problems. If you do, make sure you mention it when making enquiries to ensure you will be properly accommodated - the stairs are steep!

A really well-run hotel - remember to make the most of breakfast experience!

Room Tip: If you want to be assured of peace and quiet, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it can some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kennard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.