We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem so close to the centre of Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kennard to your Saves list
The Kennard
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful gem so close to the centre of Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

A wonderful Georgian hotel. Beautifully decorated.
Fabulous hosts, Mary and Giovanni who looked after us with a very friendly and professional manner.
The location was extremely convenient for the centre of town. Only a few minutes walk - plenty of opportunities to drop off your shopping, have a cup of tea and go back for more!
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    76
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
86
384
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

This hotel is in a lovely quiet road and only a short walk in to Bath centre. Mary and Giovani were very pleasant and helpful hosts. Breakfast was freshly cooked with a very good selection of fresh fruit salad, cereals, fruit juice, yogurts, jams and much more.
Our room was on the top floor which was ok as that worked some calories off from the super breakfast.
My one criticism is - beware of the pillows, they were hard and not very comfortable.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard pillows
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Charming hotel in a quite street close to the centre of Bath.

The room (No.1) was comfortable, elegant, clean, well equiped and everything you could expect!

Breakfast was beautifully cooked to order in a lovely dining room.

The owners went out of their way to be welcoming and hospitable.

Can't think of any possible thing to criticise - overall it's an absolute 'Gem'!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

The hotel is charming and the owners are very welcoming. I have stayed at the Kennard a couple of times to visit bath and have found each room beautifully presented with great attention to detail. The bathrooms are of a high standard and the bedrooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast room has a lovely atmosphere and the cooked breakfast, i certainly reccommend. For those who prefer a lighter brekfast there is a wonderful choice of fresh fruit sald, youghurts, croissants, freshly squeezed juice, the list goes on!
I will certainly always return to the kennard on visiting bath as it is so close to everything you need without any noise outside. The road was very quiet. The main attractions are a close walking distance.

  • Liked — the homely and comfortable feel to the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We returned to the Kennard for a second visit. Even better than last time. Another warm welcome from Giovanni and Mary. Great rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Superb central location. This is a perfect hotel for any visitors to Bath.

  • Liked — Clean beautiful rooms. Great breakfast. Fantastic hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Very clean, very convenient, we really enjoyed our stay at the Kennard. The room was comfortable, very well appointed, catered for our every need and was really close to the centre, just perfect. Parking was good, the breakfast first class and we will be going back
Just loved it

  • Liked — The Location - Really Close To The Centre
  • Disliked — Nothing - No Bad Points
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

When we began planning a trip to Bath, a co-worker strongly recommended that we stay at the Royal Crescent Hotel. While doing research we found that the rate for this hotel was extremely high and also the hotel was sold out for the days that we were visiting. I have used Trip Advisor in the past and found the ratings to be incredibly helpful and very accurate. So, I combed all the hotels/B&B's with a 4 star rating and above and found the Kennard at the top of the list.

My colleague and I were thrilled when we arrived. The location is outstanding...a 5-10 minute walk from all major landmarks and right around the corner are 2 very charming and excellent restaurants. I travel extensively and have to say that I have never stayed in such clean accomodations....not a piece of dust anywhere that I could see. We decided to book the single rooms with a shared bathroom (that is only accessible to those 2 rooms) and it worked out wonderfully and the rate was GREAT compared to all other hotels in Bath. Rooms were small but very cozy and bed was incredibly comfortable (I had the blue room which is set up a bit better than the red single room....recommend that over the red room)

The hosts were very helpful and the full english breakfast was a definite plus (they even made our eggs/bacon to order). The green room is a great way to start the day...bright...cheery and everyone looked very relaxed and happy so I'm guessing that other guests had the same experience as we did.

I strongly recommend this great hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Price
  • Disliked — Nothing to add
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kennard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.