We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Guesthouse to your Saves list
Brooks Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #74 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bath Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had one of the smaller rooms on the top floor which although small was perfectly formed. The bed was comfy and the decor although not to our taste was tidy. Our only complaint and it was only a small complaint was the cheap tea bags on offer in the rooms which rather let the room down and didn't do the rest of the hotel justice.

As for the rest of the hotel the cooked English breakfast kept me going all day and my wife highly recommends the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. The staff, all European which gives Brooks a very sophisticated continental feel, are very helpful. Especially the French receptionist who brought us tea in the lounge and lit the fire for us one day.

All in all a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    195
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
120
295
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great hotel, great location, fantastic breakfasts and excellent service. We'll certainly stay here again when we next come to Bath. Easy walking distance into the centre of Bath for evening meals and shopping. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Little more than half a mile to heart of Bath, but a pleasant walk.

Quaint building. We had a family room, in the basement. Unfortunately, that meant listening to children running, stomping or otherwise makin mayhem above us in the common room while we were getting ready for bed.

Also, every time a service worker opened a nearby door, our room door would shudder as if someone was trying to force their way in. Disturbing at first, irritating thereafter.

Decently decorated and clean. Staff were helpful and nice. Breakfast was nice too.

Overall, decent place but don't stay in room 5!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at brooks for 2 nights and we found it lovely and clean, the staff was very nice and polite. Outw room was at the top floor and was very quiet, there was tv and ipod doc, the bathroom was large as well as the bed that was so comfortable! ! At the ground floor there is a lounge area with a lovely fireplace and sofas, while near the breakfast room there is a drink fridge where guests can help themselves. We had breakfast one day and it was really good and plenty of choice. I will definitely recommend it also because it is 5 min walking from the centre, otherwise there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. Nice stay! We'll come back for sure :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked the Brooks Guest House and Romantic Package with Bottle of Prosecco for my Husband’s birthday. I informed the Manager about the reason of our stay and what’s a surprise the room was decorated with balloons and banners. I requested a king double room, room was great, clean, modern and also included a very comfy bed with great quality a goose duvet and pillows.

The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful ( Tomasz, Piotr, Veronica , Kasia) offered information on the local area, attractions, shopping and restaurants.

The breakfast was delicious with a choice of varied Organic menu. We have chosen a daily special- Eggs Florentine. In addition to the breakfast we received home made crunchy cereal and fair trade coffee.

Great location to visit the town, short walking distances to the public car park (overnight free 8pm to 8am)

The Brook Guest House is superb and great value for money.

Will definitely visit again!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Although the reviews here are mixed, I booked, driven by the location. Brooks is very close to Royal Crescent and a short walk from the city centre. The room- a double- is a decent size with a small table and plastic chair. It's an old building with high ceilings, decorated tastefully. There's enough hanging space in the wardrobe but little storage otherwise. OK for a couple of days but not more. Parking in the nearby Charlotte Street car park is £8.50/day. On street parking is free from 8pm to 8am, though Brooks has a few parking permits you can use for daytime parking. There's an honesty bar with wine, beer and a few snacks in case you get hungry at night. Free wifi. TV is tiny but you don't come to Bath to watch TV. Shower is clean and water pressure is good. Breakfast is cooked to order in a nice room in the basement, a good choice is available.
The b&b is unattended at night; if you arrive late your keys will be left in a secure safe outside.
The negatives: bed in room 23 is very soft, and the least comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in. Central heating is programmed to turn off at night, and by 3am the room is very cold. On the whole a fair price for the product at £69.

Room Tip: Room 23 to be avoided in winter or if you hate soft beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the feedback just to clarify our staff" live in " the guesthouse in a staff flat but they are not "on duty 24 hours a day " as its not possible to stay awake 24 hours a day.
We staff our reception all day and all evening long , we don't usually get requests at 3am you have to go to a hotel if you need room service at 3 am not a B&B
Our pocket sprung mattress are 1000 , but it might not be the same as your bed at home sorry we can't match what you have at home.
We have 15 parking permits and 50% of guests come by train so typically we have enough for everyone
£69 is £40 under the average price for Bath so we think its a fantastic price better than Premier Inn for example. Glad you liked Bath & our location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for one night with my friend. We booked a spa treatment and got an option to pay a bit more so we could get a voucher for the thermal bath. The guesthouse is at a good location, quite close to the centre. The staff is very friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed in room 17 on the top floor in a twin bedroom. The room was clean what is very important for me so I was very happy. The beds are very comfy, we could sleep well throughout the night with no problem. The breakfast was good and made of fresh ingredients served by a very polite waiter. They have a breakfast menu so there are more options and not just the usual English breakfast and there were a table with juices, cereals, butter, table sauces, fruits in additional to the breakfast. We are extremely thankful to the nice receptionist who allowed us to leave our luggage there for a few hours after we checked out, and offered us a tea and biscuits and showed us in the lounge area when we returned to pick up the bags soaking wet from the rain. It was a good experience and we can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.