We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Guesthouse to your Saves list
Brooks Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #74 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked a one night stay in Bath for my girlfriends birthday. I looked for hours at different accommodation in Bath and settled for this one - i was not disappointed...
Upon arrival we were greeted at front of house by Thomas, who i believe was the hotel manager - we received a warm welcome from him and he made me and my girlfriend feel at home. He answered all of our questions about where best to park (best option was a parking permit for £8 for 24 hours), he then showed us the best walking routes into the centre of Bath and the best sights to see.
We were then informed about everything to do with the hotel, including the breakfast times and the honesty bar - which i though was a nice touch within the guesthouse.
The room was a superior double and we were more than impressed - spacious, stylish, tasteful, free wi-fi, digital tv, tea and coffee making facilities, nice big shower and most importantly a nice big king size bed.
Breakfast the next morning was on the bottom floor of the property and again the setting was perfect. A good variety of cereal, granola, yoghurt, fruit, fruit juices were on offer. Greeted by two polite waitresses who brought us tea and coffee and then took our orders for breakfast. I was hungry so i went for the full english and my other half went for the egg florentine. Both dishes were good, however the poached eggs could of been a bit more runny in my opinion.
Never the less. We will without doubt be returning to Bath again and most certainly be staying at this guesthouse when we do so.
Outstanding B+B with outstanding service to match.
Also, if you do stay in Bath, be sure to visit the Thermae Bath Spa - the rooftop pool was unbelievable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    195
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
120
295
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Management and desk staff at this guesthouse was efficient and very friendly and helpful.
Parking permits were offered free of charge to us. Truly a bonus.
Breakfast was scrumptious and value for money.
Rooms were well equipped and very neat and clean.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Bath.
Thank you , Brooks , for your excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For various reasons I found myself back at the Brooks Guesthouse. My first visit (over a year ago) was very disappointing. I am now really pleased that I had a chance to revist. The superior rooms are stunning - having undergone refurbishment. My room was lovely - bright floral wallpaper - a somewhat eclectic mix of furniture, a modern glass desk, a shabby chic chest of drawers and a modern slightly fluffy comfy chair. Quirky and great. The bathroom was lovely and modern - decent sized shower - I didn't feel that it had been squeezed in as an after thought - "posh" toiletries The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. A really lovely touch was a mini kilner type jar, next to the tea-making facilities, containing delicious homemade biscuits.

I was warmly welcomed at reception and shown where the breakfast room and guest lounge where. I had problems opening my window and also getting the TV to work. Both times the helpful man (sorry, I can't remember his name) on reception was happy to help me. He also told me that tne guesthouse had wi-fi without me having to ask.

The guest lounge had a laptop for guest use as well as plenty of tourist info leaflets, a radio and a fw games. A nice touch was an honesty bar for guests to help themselves to drinks and snacks such as crisps and chocolate. There was also a fridge for guest use.

Despite the breakfast room being in the basement it was light and airy. A great choice at breakfast ranging from the ubiquitous cornflakes to homemade granola, organic yoghurt and fruit compte. Delicious selection of cooked breakfasts ranging from full English to eggs benedict. I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon with granary toast and it was yummy. Black pepper mills were on the table. There were nice touches such as little white butter dishes with real butter, little glass dishes to help yourself to jam, honey etc. Yoghurt had been layered wih granola in little glasses and topped with berrries. The service was good and speedy with my tea arriving quickly -the cheerful waitress was happy to bring me a second pot too!

I was fortunate enough to meet the owners, Andrew and Carla this time and it was clear that they really care about their guests.

I would definitely stay there again and now highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping it would be best to ask for a room at the back of the guesthouse as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean, friendly B&B I would for sure choose again. Walking distance to city center and railway station as well. Friendly welcome, clean rooms, helpful staff and "honesty" bar at evening also included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently and it's TOP CLASS.
Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Attentive, friendly staff. An amazing choice at breakfast, including Eggs Benedict & Eggs Florentine.
Definately value for money, considering it's location and proximity to City Centre. Bus stop outside to go into city and approx.150yds away for opposite direction Buses are very frequent. (it's a pleasant 10-15min leisurely stroll (downhill) to the city.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room which we appreciated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments delighted you had a lovely stay at Brooks & liked breakfast hope to see you again either in Bath , Bristol or Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in Bath, staying at Brooks. A town house only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bath that is very clean and comfortable, they also provide a brilliant breakfast, served by very nice staff. Reception was great and, although no car park, they provided permits for parking in the controlled zone. Will definitely use them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
thank you for your feedback and lovely comments glad you had a lovely mini break hope to see you again at Brooks Bath or perhaps in Brooks Edinburgh or Bristol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very good place to stay. Excellent location, fantastic breakfast and staff very efficient and helpful. My second visit. Parking is a problem but that is common to most of Bath. Bus just outside hotel to town centre or easy walk. CL

Room Tip: only two single rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
thank you again for your nice comments and choosing Brooks we really appreciate your custom, Sorry parking was tricky its not easy to park in Bath apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.