We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorian House

Save Saved
You added Dorian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dorian House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Reims, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Thalis room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The view from this room was perfect. Robert welcomed me very warmly on arrival and he took in charge my luggage as I checked in early in the morning. Robert & Lize were very helpful so my stay was really enjoyable. Thanks for all the recommandations.

Breakfast room was very nice and overlooking a wonderful garden. Large choice for breakfast and english vegetarian breakfast was perfect.

I shall recommand this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    99
    17
    13
    5
See reviews for
30
295
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I booked a room for my mum and her partner last week as a treat during the Bath Film festival and they absolutely loved it,. went as far as saying it was the best room they had ever stayed in,." warm, cosy, comfy bed and a duvet like being wrapped in a big fluffy cloud"
Loved the staff too, said they couldnt have been more helpful and to top it all off a wonderful 'spriteful' breakfast. Best £99 ive spent. Thank you Dorian House. Ive got full daughter brownie points for organizing this jem!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

My husband spent a lot of time looking for a hotel in Bath for my (special) birthday and decided on Dorian House. It was lovely and we were welcomed by the owners immediately on our arrival. We were taken to the lovely lounge area and brought fresh coffee while the owner talked us through the walk into Bath, places to visit and also the best restaurants. He was so helpful and we felt confident to just set off by foot. We were in the Rossini Room which is on the ground floor. I was a little worried about how close to the front door we were and the noise of the door but we didn't have a problem at all. Our room was lovely and extremely comfortable, the room and bathroom spotless with lovely fresh fluffy towels and lots of little extra added touches. I suppose being downstairs meant that we didn't have the sloping roof problems that others have mentioned, which was a good thing as my husband is 6' 5". Breakfast was one of the best we have had, all freshly cooked by the owner. Lots of items to choose from alongside a full English or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg. It was all cooked perfectly and thoroughly delicious. The hotel is in the process of upgrading a bar area which I think once done will be a great asset and a lovely area for patrons as long as drinks are not overpriced (which can often happen in hotels). The works that were being carried out didn't affect our weekend at all. The car parking is very steep and luckily everyone's handbrakes were all in good working order but it wasn't a problem. The walk into Bath actually only took 10 minutes and is closer than you think although it is a bit of a hill (walking back). We only had 2 nights here and we would both have been happy to stay for longer. An excellent weekend and an excellent friendly hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

the house itself is lovely,the staff friendly and breakfast very nice.solomon room is classed asa standard double but is very small attic room with a sloping ceiling which i bumped by head a couple of times and i am only 5ft 2".the room was clean but only suitable as a single room making it overpriced for the size.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

+5 star service that we did not expect from a B&B
room, sheets and towels all clean and changed on a daily basis
our room was the Telles which was on top floor nicely decorated with a personal touch.
the walk to and from Bath did us good after the nice breakfast and meals in town!
The staff very helpful, professional and polite.

- The internet connection was very slow at most of the time
- A bit on the expensive side
- last day we had to wait for half an hour to get our breakfast order although there were only two couples before us and we had a train to ctach!
- will visit again but will choose a different room as I kept bumping my head on the inclinde ceilling!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We arrived at Dorian House tired and weary and received a warm and friendly welcome before being taken to a sumptuous room which was clean and airy. We stayed three nights and the breakfasts were delicious and fresh without exception. Most importantly, the team at Dorian House were so attentive and obliging. Having stayed in many hotels throughout the country over the years, this was leaps and bounds above all the rest and we will definitely be going back! Recommended to all for a fantastic and relaxing break! Thank you to all the team! Nat & Russ

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Car parking too steep and awkward.
Evening meals would be desirable because of steep walk into and out of the city for dinner

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian House

Address: One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorian House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.