We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LINDA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorian House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dorian House to your Saves list
Dorian House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LINDA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This B & B was wonderful. We even had the smaller room on the third floor but I would stay again. All amenities, great lounge area not to mention the best full breakfast in an inviting dining room with a garden view., Wished we had stayed longer. Walking distance to bath plus
free parking and wi fi. Top of the line bedding and linens. Very trendy with professional staff who were always attentive. They even let us leave our car after we checked out so we could continue to explore bath. Will return and recommend to others for sure. Easy to find just up the hill from train off wellbourn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    120
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
365
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place certainly lived up to my expectations; booked for my gf as she had a job interview that evening and I wanted her relaxed and distracted from the typical anxiety associated with an interview.

Wow I think she said as we entered the room and saw the massive 4 poster bed and spacious room at the top of a small private staircase.

Whilst I sussed out the location of the interview she prepared herself and when I got back she was like Lady Muck on the bed in her complimentary bath robe (see picture).

It all worked a treat and she got the job. After a good sleep we had a delicious breakfast served by an attentive lady who showed an intersest and was amused by the menu which I found to be upside-down - according to Robert, specifically arranged for Australian guests!!

Anyway thank you Robert & team; hope to ba back at some point :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Bath in early December, this was my first time in Bath.
Dorian house seemed a long way out of Bath, but when given a short-cut to walk we were in the centre of Bath in 10 mins.
Our room at the top of the house was fabulous, great views.
The whole house was stylish, clean and trendy.
The staff were exceptionally friendly.
Breakfast had a lovely veggie option, as well as fruit, croissants etc.
Will go back again.

Room Tip: Have the top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business recently and found it lovely.

Comfortable and cosy with really friendly service.

Breakfast was delicious and I had a lovely night sleep. Would be a great place for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed in many places in Bath over the last year as I come here with work several times a month. Of all the places I have stayed including some of the 4* hotels, this is without a doubt my favourite and having experienced all rooms from the standard through to the 4 poster bed I can honestly say the standard is equally high in all rooms and the little extras make all the difference! The staff are always smiling and helpful, Robert and his wife can't do enough to make your stay more comfortable and the rates are more than reasonable for accommodation in Bath. The breakfast is always of high quality with plenty of choice for everyone and the cooked is fresh and cooked to order. I would absolutely recommend this delightful, friendly and well priced b & b. The location is also perfect for access to the city.

Room Tip: The 4 poster is a real treat if budget allows but the standard, whilst smaller and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We chose this place based on the reviews that we had seen and we were not disappointed from the moment we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly this is a top class B&B and more like a small hotel the decor is elegant and interesting there is soothing classical music playing quietly in the background and the room was large bright and inviting.
This place is not too far from the centre of Bath and well within walking distance of around 10-15 mins depending on how fast you can walk it is mostly down hill and there fore up hill on the way back so I can understand those wanting to get a bus or taxi back up but don't let that put you off as it really is not a problem and it is a lovely quiet road our room was on the lower ground floor with our own entrance though a patio door. The shower room was large and modern with plenty of towels and robes as well as good quality toiletries. The breakfast was very good a buffet offering cereal and fresh fruit and a selection of yoghurt and fruit juices then a choice of cooked breakfasts as well so plenty to start your day.
I would recommend Dorian house as a perfect base to spend a few days in Bath and will be going back again.

Room Tip: look on the website to see the rooms as they are all different but equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel didn't look much from the outside, but inside it was so cosy, the staff were very friendly, and our room was lovely. We had a four poster bed and a free standing bath, which was a real luxury. The location of the hotel was great for walking into town and we had a delicious breakfast. The view of Bath from our window, was stunning, a real delight to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian House

Address: One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorian House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.