We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scruffy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth House to your Saves list
Wentworth House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Bath
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“scruffy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not run by proprietor and it shows. Dirty room which smelt dusty.Carpet had not been vacuumed, black hairs on bedside table. Bathroom fittings loose,feeble shower, window won't open properly, mattrass hard and lumpy. Surfaces around hotel sticky, dusty carpets. First time ever I wanted to walk out but refund refused so forced to endure another night. Should have checked trip advisor first!

Room Tip: avoid 21 as mattrass is shot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    54
    50
    122
See reviews for
35
180
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

You know....this place wasn't that bad. We had stayed in such a horrendous hotel the night before in Oxford that the Wentworth House was a breath of fresh air.

The guy that runs the place is not super friendly but he seems to be managing on his own.

We had a "family" room on the very top floor that had a beautiful view of Bath. The house sits on a hill top and is a good 20 minute walk to the City Center. It's quiet.

The hotel photos paint a nicer picture of the grounds than what we found. The pool was not available and you had to pay 6 GBP to use the hot tub...which wasn't worth it.

Bath is expensive so it was worth the extra walk. We lucked out that the weather was so great while we were there. It would have been a hike in the rain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consettgashead
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bath is mega expensive, especially in graduation week, so we booked this on price in desperation and without checking tripadvisor. After checking our expectations were low - and were fully met. I would only use Wentworth House again if I had to. Nothing was quite right - from bigger things like the shower that we could only get to run hot if we ran the cold tap in the basin full pelt at the same time, or the water coming through the bathroom ceiling the morning we left, to little things like the milk on the drinks tray being out of date. I don't go round checking those things - they have a way of forcing themselves upon you!

The reaction to the issues by the very pleasant young lady who seemed to do most things round the place told you everything - immediately replacing the out of date milks which was within her authority - a slightly embarrassed evasion on the more serious issues.

The place was full of foreign guests. My wife and I found ourselves desperately hoping that this wouldn't be their only experience of British hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel looks appealing on the website, however, the rooms are shabby, bed was uncomfortable, our room was small and dirty, the shower ran cold water and the plug in the sink was broken! the hotel charges an extra £6.00 each to use the hot tub!
There is not a proper bar which sells draught lager, it is served in cans at £3.50 each! We only saw 1 man working there the whole time we were there! The breakfast was ok, the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb! The location is not too bad, a 15 minute walk from the centre. we will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I booked a "superior four poster bedroom" via LateRooms.Com for one night. We booked it last minute and didn't check the reviews on TripAdvisor (fatal mistake) but the photographs and reviews on LateRooms sounded reasonable.

When we arrived the first thing we saw was the concrete gatepost which was hanging off and this was the sign of things to come.

We paid for our room up front and then were shown in our "superior" room which was at the back of the property. The bed itself to be fair was comfy and the linen and pillows were clean but the dust was thick under the bed which looked like it hadn't been moved for a long time.

The bathroom was the worst we have ever seen, the toilet seat was broken and hanging off, the shower was a joke, the bath panel was a bit of mdf nailed on and the sealant around the bath was cracked and disintegrating. The shower was a pitiful stream which was not enough to rinse my hair properly though the water was hot.

There were only 2 young girls on duty, no sign of a manager and as we were only staying for one night we really could not be bothered, however we did feel aggrieved at having paid £120 for what was clearly mis-sold as a "superior" room.

The breakfast was adequate and served by one of the young girls who seemed to be managing on her own taking the orders, serving etc. The staff were very lovely and deserve a payrise but the Manager/Owner really needs to be brought to task and the house needs some serious maintenance. The dining room was very imposing but was spoiled by broken furniture and a large lump of wallpaper hanging off and damp, bubbling to the ceiling.

We did venture outside into the garden but did not fancy trying the pool or hot-tub (there were a list of rules about this to adhere to) bearing in mind the poor maintenance of the place in general.

Such a shame it could be a seriously good hotel with a lot of TLC. We realise we only booked 2 star accommodation but this should not mean that the rooms are poorly maintained and dirty. Won't be going back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very small & the 'bathroom' is a closet but that is expected in English b&b. What is not expected is ice cold showers 2 mornings out of 3 with the last at 7am so the hot should still have been okay. At the same time the sink ran hot water fine, so it was the shower with a problem. Breakfast was average, the bed & pillows lumpy, & the doona in 'summer' with no a/c says it all. I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I decided to take my wife to bath for her birthday and I was dictated to on where we stayed due to the price of some of the hotels in the area I decided to give wentworth house a try against my better judgment.

We arrived early and were told it wasn't a problem that our room was ready for us to check in so we did upon entering the room we were impressed by the four poster bed that was in the room I must point out that this was at an extra charge and we got settled in.

I would like to point out that we are not overly fussy people but when looking at the floor of the room it didn't look like it had been hoovered in quite some time there were bits all over it in the bathroom there were also some hairs around the edges of the room that werent ours.

We didn't complain as we just wanted to start exploring bath which I must say is a very beautiful city and would recommend to anyone to visit just stay somewhere else.

Just before leaving my wife noticed that there was a splash up the wall of either tea or coffee again of which neither of us had done and hadn't been cleaned.

I went to reception to ask the man there if he could book is a taxi for going out that evening just to be handed a business card and to be told we usually use them they're pretty quick it might just be me but that's not very good customer service most hotels would have phoned one for you even the restaurant we went to that evening were more than happy to call one for us.

I must make a special mention to the girl that was serving breakfast she was as helpful as she possibly could have been seeing that she was serving 20 -30 people on her own.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.