We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath At It's Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Villa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Ashley Villa Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Best Price
Ranked #85 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bath At It's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had such a lovely 2 night stay with Emma. Very clean and most comfortable Bed & Breakfast house. Situated just a 2 minute stroll from the centre of Bath meant we did not have any parking problems as we never used the car whilst we were there.
It was absolutely lovely to enjoy our special anniversary lunch at the famous "BATH HOUSE"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    88
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
60
86
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We requested a king room with a shower, which we got. We were concerned because the room faced the street, on which there was a crosswalk which beeped whenever anybody crossed the street. However, with the windows closed it was not too loud to sleep. I was initially disappointed when I walked into the room and saw the bedspread - what is it about hotel bedspreads that make a place look shabby? But once I removed it, I saw the nice sheets and duvet cover. We had to move the bed slightly so that my husband's c-pap mask could reach the electrical outlet, and when we did, I expected it would reveal giant dust bunnies under the bed. But no! The carpet was dust-free. I was impressed. Also, the breakfast is run like clockwork. I do not know how they deliver plates of still hot, perfectly-cooked eggs, but they do.
It's a little over a mile hike from the center of town. We took a cab to and from the train station with our luggage, but otherwise we walked, and it wasn't too onerous. Very close to Victoria Park, which is a lovely place and has a very impressive playground if you have kids.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the windows open, maybe request a room away from the street. It's a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My mother, aunt, and I got 2 rooms at Ashley Villa and had an excellent stay. It started before we even arrived. We were catching a late flight into Bristol and weren't arriving until close to midnight, which is after the reception desk closes. They made arrangements so that we could still get to our rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast is quite good. The guest house is conveniently located, within walking distance of the center of Bath. The people who worked the reception desk were helpful with directions and suggestions. Overall, a great stay, would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house are on a main road - if you have trouble sleeping, I recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure to have you.
Hope to see you in Bath again.
Best wishes
Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in July. The weather was glorious so this made the week for us. Problems with the hotel were the very tight parking, the breakfasts were average and never varied, we had egg on toast 3 of the days because we did not really enjoy the cooked breakfast, the fruit ran out twice and so we were unable to have this as an option. Marmalade and jam were not on the tables but kept on the breakfast bar for all to use. I had read such good things about the breakfasts at this hotel that I was quite disappointed. The room was very small, we already knew this from reading other reviews so this did not come as a shock, we managed but did struggle for hanging space especially for longer items such as trousers or dresses. There was a nice garden/terraced area with a lovely small pool and drinks were available at the hotel bar. The hotel was just over a mile to the City centre, quite tiring in the heat but we found a bus stop nearby which will take you into the centre for £2.50pp. All in all it was a good holiday but cannot rave about the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ashley Villa. We take on board your comments about breakfast. We used to put marmalades and jams on the tables - but found that we breakfast bar. Most guests are only staying 1 or 2 nights and therefore our breakfast selection is more than adequate. However for guests on longer stays we will review whether we can offer additional choices. Unfortunately the fresh fruit salad does run out some mornings - but we are always more than happy to make up a personal bowl for our guests, if this is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great stay here. The hospitality was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Lovely night sleep followed by a great breakfast. The location was good and with parking we could leave the car all weekend and stroll into the attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed Ashley Villa and we hope to see you again some time.
Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, my group of 11 were fondly received by Elloitt and his wife. They quickly sorted out the group and showed them to their well kempt, clean and tidy, but modern rooms. We had a range of family, twin and double rooms and all were consistent in their theme. I was fortunate to swim in the on site outdoor pool which is situated within a very lovely garden which is quiet, tranquil and very pretty, with its many plants, flowers and shrubbery. At breakfast we we were nicely greeted and very good service ensued. I over heard one of my party say; that she would give the chef 15 out of 10, which speaks volumes. I would recommend this Guest house to anyone I come across and would readily return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. So glad you had a good time and enjoyed our hospitality ! Hope to see you again.
Jette & Ashley
Adriana & Elias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and decided to return again for a long weekend break.On arrival we found out that the establishment had changed hands.We were pleasantly surprised as the owners were excellent hosts.They were more than helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.On top of this the breakfast we had there was the best we have had while staying in a guest house.Would recommend this place to others and we will be returning again.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite warm so may need to turn the heating off at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Villa Guest House

Address: 26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house just 1.l mile from the centre of Bath. A selection of room, singles, doubles, twins and family rooms, all decorated in a contemporary style with modern en-suite bathrooms. All breakfasts are cooked to order with freshly prepared and locally sourced ingredients. There is a lounge and licensed bar, pretty patio garden with outdoor heated swimming pool. There is free wifi access throughout the guest house plus the added bonus of a large free car park for all guests. It is an easy 20 minute walk into Bath or regular buses stop outside Ashley Villa every 5 minutes. We welcome all, corporate business, tourists, groups, families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashley Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Villa Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.