We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay, good price point for Bath.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Villa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Ashley Villa Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night half price!
Ranked #80 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average stay, good price point for Bath.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Spent one week at Ashley Villa on a business trip from overseas. My room was small but adequate. Rooms were cold on occasion. I felt my towels were not changed very regularly, even though I left them out to be changed, I would find the wet ones hanging up on my return! Of note the wifi, which I was quite reliant on for work purposes, did not work at all in my room for the week. This was reported to management but not resolved. Cooked breakfast was good but far from plentiful! All in all an average stay which could have been made a lot better by resolving just a few small issues.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review.
Our policy on changing towels for longer stays is to change them every 3 days. If the chambermaids think they will not dry out in the day they will change them. If you want them changed every day we will happily do that and should your towels still be damp in the evening we will of course give you clean towels - just ask.
The temperature in all our rooms can be controlled by guests using the thermostats in the rooms. If there was a problem with this or the heat was insufficient we have portable heaters to loan to guests - again just ask.
We provide a breakfast bar where guests can help them selves to as much as they want followed by a choice of cooked breakfast - cooked to order, guests just need to tell us exactly want they want.
Our Free Wi Fi network has a download speed of 8.1MB/s and we have repeaters to ensure the signal is available in all the rooms. Some times guests do watch videos/ TV online and this can take a lot of bandwidth. If 2 or 3 guest do this at the same time some guests will get a slow response time. Our Telephone company is due to upgrade our line to 20Mb/s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    90
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
64
94
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband, infant son and mother stayed here in mid-October. We had a bit of trouble finding a B&B for the weekend, though I'm not sure why. We were delighted with Ashley Villa Guest House, and had a lovely 3-night stay. The rooms were decorated with a clean modern style, not the fussy/musty style I find prevalent in many UK B&Bs. Our room was a bit damp - the wall to the outside was actually weeping water, but we did have the heat off, as we like a cold room for sleeping, and I'm sure this contributed to it. We felt welcomed, and breakfast was lovely. The location was a bit of a walk from the city centre, but one could quickly get off the main road, and cut through Royal Victoria Park. Just to the east of the guest house, up Chelsea Road, were a couple of cafes, delis and a bakery, which were quite convenient to buy a snack or sandwiches for the train. I thought it was a bit pricey, but comparable to all other equally rated B&Bs with a similar location in Bath. Mostly very clean, though our shower did have some mold along edges.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blondieBath, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us. I am glad to see that on the whole you had a positive experience with us. Thank you for the feedback concerning the room being damp - we are aware of this issue and do everything we can to air this room out between guests! However as you pointed out , if the heating is off and the condensation from the shower builds up it can become damp. This room is having a make over this winter, in particular we will be paying attention to the shower. I think our prices are in line with the cheaper end of the market in Bath, we try to remain competitive. We hope to see you and your family again. Best wishes Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Could not fault Ashley Villas in any way. I was a little apprehensive as the tariff for a hotel less than a mile from Bath City centre was exceptional.

The hotel was a very pleasing from the outside and even better on the inside. The room was tastefully and newly decorated, and well appointed with excellent ensuite facilities. Superb welcome form manager Angela. Adequate free off road parking on Hotel forecourt.

The staff were well informed about Bath City tourist information. My short stay was topped off with a very good English Breakfast.

The proprietors claim to know from their own experience what hotel guests require and they certainly matched their claim in every way fully understanding the needs of travellers.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel it the highest terms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We try our best and hope we get it right most of the time! It helps having our lovely managers, Angela and Jurgen - who do a great job keeping our guests happy.
Hope to see you soon again in the beautiful city of Bath! Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A very pleasing place to stay in all respects. I was most impressed with the manager Angela,
in the morning she had booked a taxi for my party and then in the evening came out to check
that it had arrived. Her husband was also most helpful with directions and carried our bags.
The hotel is well situated with a pleasant walk into the city through a park, much nicer than
fume filled roads.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
many thanks for taking the time to review us. It is much appreciated - so glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Hope to see you in Bath again. Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay in Bath and were excited to find Ashley Villa. The room was well appointed, very comfortable and the price was great. Free WiFi and a little bar in the reception area were bonuses.

The Ashley Villa is situated a little ways from the train station, but it's quite easy to get to all of the central Bath attractions. If you're tired or carrying bags, you can catch the bus, which stops close by, but it's also an easy and beautiful walk into town.

This was definitely one of the nicest places we stayed during our two weeks in England.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvilla, Owner at Ashley Villa Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - maybe we will see you again one day! Enjoy the rest of your time in the UK.
Best wishes Jette & Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great location, great breakfast, free wifi (room we were in didn't get strongest signal, but downstairs was fine), free parking. Staff were very helpful and informative. Room was lovely, very clean, although a little on the small side (not a major issue). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited Bath last week and stayed for a couple of nights. Room very clean and comfortable. Lovely unhurried breakfast, made to feel very welcome. Location ideal for walking in to Bath, we wandered through the park which comes out on to the Crescent. Great to be able to leave the car parked during our stay and with no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Villa Guest House

Address: 26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house just 1.l mile from the centre of Bath. A selection of room, singles, doubles, twins and family rooms, all decorated in a contemporary style with modern en-suite bathrooms. All breakfasts are cooked to order with freshly prepared and locally sourced ingredients. There is a lounge and licensed bar, pretty patio garden with outdoor heated swimming pool. There is free wifi access throughout the guest house plus the added bonus of a large free car park for all guests. It is an easy 20 minute walk into Bath or regular buses stop outside Ashley Villa every 5 minutes. We welcome all, corporate business, tourists, groups, families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ashley Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Villa Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.