We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - Felt like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Villa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashley Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Ashley Villa Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Best Price
Ranked #84 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic Stay - Felt like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here in September and were so grateful to the management of Ashley Villa Guest House. The service wad fantastic with a gentleman carrying our bags to our room, the rooms very so clean, modern and beautiful! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we just felt very looked after. A big thank you to the staff for a fantastic stay. After a days travel you need somewhere great to relax afterwards and this place was just that. I will promote your guest house to and friends that visit Bath.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    87
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
59
85
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Ashley Villa is a charming guesthouse, well located in Bath. The managing couple were extremely hospitable, offering excelllent local knowledge and advice, as well as a great breakfast. Our room was clean and comforable, and a good night's rest was enjoyed. We will definitely be back next time we are in Bath!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in September. Nicely located about 5 minute walk from bus stop into town for the major sights. The room was lovely, quiet and very restful. We were able to park the car in front of the villa and forget about it until it was time to leave. Breakfast was very filling, the hospitality was grand.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Ashley Villa for 1 night on 05/09/11 and found the accommodation to be very comfortable, clean and friendly. Although the room was a little on the small side it contained everything we needed with a very comfortable bed and modern, larger than average shower. Our room was at the back of the guest house overlooking the small but charming garden and swimming pool, so was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any of the other residents-no slamming doors etc. and no traffic noises, as we have witnessed at other hotels. The breakfast was superb, very filling which set us up for the day. Ashley and Jette were very welcoming and extremely helpful being able to answer all our questions re. bus timetables, sights to see and places to eat. Buses run every 15 mins. from outside the guest house and cost £2.20 one way. However it was a very pleasant 25 minute walk into the city centre via a lovely park and The Royal Crescent. A 2 hour guided walking tour around the major landmarks of the city is available which starts from outside the Pump Room and is completely free! The guide was brilliant and very informative and made everyone aware at the beginning of the tour that there was no charge and no tips would be accepted. Well worth the walk even if it did pour with rain most of the time. He also gave us information about other place of interest to visit after the walk ended, the Guildhall being one, which again was free! and well worth a visit. After a very long and tiring day we felt we did not wish to return to the city centre for a meal so tried the Weston pub which is only a couple of minutes stroll from Ashley Villa. We were delighted with the ambience, extensive menu which included a free salad bar, very reasonable prices and delicious food. Being so close to Ashley Villa was ideal as we were more than ready for a good nights sleep. An ideal guest house for a short visit. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of guest house are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Ashley Villas for two nights in September. The accommodation is as described, clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious, plenty of choice and enough to set you up for a sightseeing day. For evening meals we can recommend the Weston pub, just a few yards down the road. We used this pub both nights; inexpensive and tasty pub grub.

So, almost all positives but with just a few caveats...

Firstly, it is a good half-hour walk to the centre of Bath (unless you happen to be Lynford Christie), and after a day exploring the city the walk back can be quite tiring. However, the bus service into Bath is excellent, just £6 return for two people, and buses every 15 minutes.

One other major point to be aware of. We upgraded to a king-size room with a large bathroom. The bed was actually two singles put together, so if you like to sleep in the middle of the bed you will have to manoeuvre to avoid the edges of each mattress. Secondly, this particular room is at the front of the hotel. I'm not sure how many other rooms are at the front but if you like peace and quiet during the night you may struggle, especially if you need the windows open to let some air in. Although the address is Newbridge Road, this is actually the A4 Bath Road, and is very very busy (although quieter in the early hours there is still a reasonable amount of traffic). If traffic noise is an issue for you then ask for a "quiet" room or one at the back of the building.

However, apart from the "caveats" above, a very pleasant stay, and recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a "quiet" or rear-facing room if you are not used to overnight traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here as a last minute booking for a concert at the forum.
Very cosy and the staff were very friendly and were very helpful in giving us directions into town... The route we were shown took in an amazing view of the Royal Crescent. Would stay here again as it was just what we like in a b&b

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had a family room which was lovely and clean and which had a division between our bit and our son's bit. We also had a bath, which is unusual in hotels these days and was very useful with a toddler. On arrival we were greeted and given a lovely introduction to the area and how to reach the city centre which is about a 20 minute walk away through a beautiful park and children's play area. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and cereals available for our little guy. Our son also managed to leave behind a move loved cuddly toy and the hotel were kidn enough to send it on to us, couldn't have asked for more really.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Villa Guest House

Address: 26 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house just 1.l mile from the centre of Bath. A selection of room, singles, doubles, twins and family rooms, all decorated in a contemporary style with modern en-suite bathrooms. All breakfasts are cooked to order with freshly prepared and locally sourced ingredients. There is a lounge and licensed bar, pretty patio garden with outdoor heated swimming pool. There is free wifi access throughout the guest house plus the added bonus of a large free car park for all guests. It is an easy 20 minute walk into Bath or regular buses stop outside Ashley Villa every 5 minutes. We welcome all, corporate business, tourists, groups, families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashley Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Villa Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.