We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Guest House in Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor to your Saves list
The Windsor
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Guest House in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I always choose to stay at The Windsor when I visit Bath and I always will. The staff are always helpful and polite, they give great recommendations on things to do and places to eat out. The rooms are clean and to a good standard and the breakfast is exceptional. It's very central to all the attractions so great for a sight seeing holiday and everywhere is reachable on foot. I look forward to visiting the Windsor Guest House again later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    140
    63
    29
    16
See reviews for
90
285
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Do not stay at this hotel. The staff was unfriendly, the breakfast was unappealing, the cost was exorbitant for the size of the room. NO ELEVATOR - I had to carry my own bags up 5 flights of stairs with the last flight circular. Quite a difficult thing to do. The room was TINY and quite shabby. The bed was old and lumpy. It was one of the most unpleasant stays. I couldn't wait to get out of the place.

Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Fantastic location, literally a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath (about 5 mins from the Roman Baths). Nicely decorated throughout. Breakfast room was very welcoming and cosy. The room itself (a single) was very small, but comfortable, and nice and ligth and airy. The ensuite showeroom was fantastic, very modern and clean and well appointed. Parking is charged at £8 a day, they provide you with a parking permit, which is much handier than driving round looking for more parking. The reception staff were helpful and provided me with a map of the city centre listing some recommended restaurants.

Breakfast could have been better. Continental was included in the price (I paid £60) but this was just a choice from the buffet table of cereals, yoghurt, compote, grapefruit, fruit salad (looked tinned) and juice. The waitress offers you a choice of tea/coffee and toast to accompany this. The coffee was very poor and weak. However, they do offer a homemade muesli which was excellent and the compote (prune on the day I stayed) was also homemade. They do give a choice of preserves/condiments on the buffet table to go with the toast including honey, golden syrup, peanut butter and marmite - there is marmelade, jam and butter already on the tables. However, it would have been nice if there had been croissants/danish pastries/brioche on offer, or at least fresh rolls to have with the jam as an alternative to the toast. However, the cooked breakfast menu looked good with the usual English breakfast but also other items like scrambled eggs adn salmon and omlettes - so the cooked menu lived up to what you would expect from a 5* but of course this is charged seperately. The conclusion is that they seem more willing to offer the full 5* experience for those things than they charge extra for, which to my mind is contrary to the overall experience which a 5* should offer. I noticed that everyone else in the breakfast room was ordering a cooked breakfast and not making use of the buffet, other than for juice.

Breakfast timings were 7.30-9am (or 9.30 on a Sat/Sun). They could do with extending the weekday time to 9.30 as I was the first down in the breakfast room at 8.50 and the other guests only scraped in around 9 and it really filled up then, so presumably other guests would prefer a later end, this may have meant a wait for the optional cooked breakfast options, although I didn't order this so couldn't comment.

However, for a 5* I thought it lacked some attention to detail. For example:
1. The bedside light had not been plugged back in after the room was cleaned, as the plug socket was behind the bed headboard is was quite akward and fiddly to plug in and necessitated shifting the heavy bed.
2. The kettle didn't work properly, it only worked if you manually held it pressed down over the heating element for the entire time whilst it boiled
3. The pack of biscuits (3 pack of plain digestives) were all broken and one of them was crushed.
4. The hotel info brochure didn't contain the wireless internet info. I had to phone reception to get the pin, and they failed to inform me waht the network name was or what to enter to get the connection working. This meant that even after 2 calls to reception I couldn't access the internet, and gave up at that point.
5. The breakfast choice as discussed above.

Overall, a good hotel, comfortable, clean, fantastic location - just slightly lacking in the details I would expect from a 5*

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Quite disappointing. Lovely Georgian townhouse in Bath so didn't expect to be put in a very small magnolia box for a room. Bathroom about 2 foot wide , we kept banging our elbows on door frame. It was also a bit shabby. Can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel, however it is starting to look a bit tired in certain areas and certainly represents poor value for money at £165 per night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Great location and very friendly staff.
The room (Orchard) was rather small but nicely decorated.
Last time we stayed here, parking and English breakfast were included - now extra.
The 'delicious continental breakfast' should include more, I would expect cheese, ham and croissants. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We spent a night in the Somerset room with the only regret that we spent only one night at this magnificent hotel. An unparalleled value in a fantastic location, we loved the room--lower level, facing the courtyard--and enjoyed being both centrally located and out of the bustle. For any visitor to Bath, I would highly recommend staying at the Windsor.

You can find one of the best curry houses in England a short walk away, then tip a pint at the Huntsman before touring "Bizarre Bath." In the morning, enjoy the excellent continental breakfast before taking a short walk to Bath Abbey and the Roman baths. Rugby fans will find it perfectly located as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

From the moment we reached the front step it was an absolutely lovely experience. Gracious service and beautiful accomodations. We were led down to our room, the door opened, and from the room to the blossoming tree outside our window, we were swept away by spring in bloom.

It was also the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in while away from home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.