We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy and welcoming hotel within walking distance of all the sights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor to your Saves list
The Windsor
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“comfy and welcoming hotel within walking distance of all the sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night in late February. We booked a superior room as we have a small child and when we arrived our room was ready ahead of official check in time and was complete with the requested cot. The staff are extremely friendly with good local knowledge and helped us find a place for lunch alongside issuing us maps and guidance on local attractions. The centre of town in literally a 5 minute walk.

The room we had was large and to the rear of the hotel so very peaceful. It was well appointed and very clean. All rooms are named not numbered which adds to the feeling of homeliness that we felt throughout our stay.

When we went for breakfast a high chair was already set out which I felt made the stay more personal. Breakfast was good, we had the included continental but the cooked breakfasts look very good too.

Overall a good stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    132
    58
    25
    15
See reviews for
84
259
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at The Windsor hotel now 3 times over the last 6 months with both friends and as a couple . The hotel is ideally located, it is a charming hotel with first rate Service. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable and full of character. I would not stay anywhere else in Bath!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is so nice to see guests return time and again, we hope to see you soon if you return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here over a Sunday night so parking outside less of a problem and worth taking up the offer of a parking permit.( cost £12)
Friendly service from all staff in elegant town house with approximately 11 rooms I think .Location excellent on Great Pulteney Street so level and quick walk into Bath. E mail contact from the hotel before the stay was useful though we declined the option to upgrade the room (for £10.00)
Comfortable beds and fluffy towels .
We opted for a standard room and were given one at the top of the house ( Walcott ) up a winding stair case. Views were great , room fairly small but very comfortable. Slight problem was the heating -the radiators were warm at the bottom only. Following a quick phone call we were moved within 15 minutes to a wonderfully warm ( and superior) room Laura .This was larger and obviously more elegant and had we realised the difference then should we stay again we would plum for this up graded option.The staff wanted us to be comfortable and our stay a positive one and were understanding regarding the problem .
Continental Breakfast was full service,( rather than self service ) plentiful and tasty ( though if you wanted a full English this was extra cost- full English extra £7.00 - a bit steep ) in the delightful dining room with views Great Pulteney Street road at an elevated level .
It was lovely spot to while away a leisurely breakfast. There was the option to buy light snacks wine and champagne during our stay which was a nice touch.
There were no problems leaving luggage in the reception area for collecting later once you had checked out .
It was elegant, comfortable and a relaxing place to stay and we are happy to recommend it .

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth the slightly increased cost. Rooms at the top are up a thin and winding stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am delighted we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade and you enjoyed the larger superior double room. We will always endeavour to please all our guests to make eir stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Windsor Guesthouse for the Valentine's Day weekend. Our time here was, in short, brilliant.

We arrived to a beautifully arranged room comprising of rose petals, occasion-specific chocolates and a pre-requested bottle of bubbly. Gorgeous. Our time at The Windsor started in the fashion in which it was set to continue.

Overall, the quality and cleanliness of the room was outstanding, as was the attentiveness and manner of all the staff. We experienced both the cooked and continental breakfasts on offer. Both were exemplary.

The hotel's location is brilliant: it's a short walk to the centre of town but far enough away that you're out of the hustle and bustle of the town.

Our one gripe was, incidentally, not to do with the hotel itself but with the couple in the room above us who (we concluded after some lengthy deliberation on the matter) were exercising their toddler in one of those bouncy-type things. You know, the ones which incite the children to stop their feet on the floor as if attempting to create a rift to the centre of the earth. This created noise which we deemed excessive. It should be noted, though, that this was not the hotel's fault and we did not report the problem based on its relative lack of significance.

That said, one must question whether or not the hotel presents the best value for money available. But the old adage "you get what you pay for" is truer of The Windsor than anywhere else I've stayed. It is for these reasons that I must recommend The Windsor most highly.

5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your beautifully worded review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the romantic touches we provided for the Valentines week. I am sorry you were disturbed, even slightly, by the toddler upstairs, we would not have minded a quick call down to Reception where a swift phone all to the offending room would have followed. Anyway, do come and see us again, it's always nice to see a friendly face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.
Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy you were so happy with all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I shared a great weekend in Bath at the Windsor Guest House.

The room was great, the location was great and the staff were great. We did not have any cooked breakfast but did see them coming through and they look amazing! They offer wine by the bottle so you can come back and put your feet up and chill out in luxury. The guest house is close to everything and they offer a parking permit cheaper than the standard 24 parking which is great!

We would highly recommend it to anyone going to Bath.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "female four poster room" (I think it is called Princess) ... which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope you return to Bath to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brummie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in February. Good points ......couldn't get a better location for central bath, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
Unfortunately we were given a room in the basement, with only a skylight for a window. I'm a bit claustrophobic so found this very oppressive. There was a humidifier in the room that clunked on and off all night. The room was huge and well facilitated but not for me. My advise would be to ask for a room on a higher level. Thought it was a little pricey too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you were happy with our great location, our friendly and helpful staff and our delicious breakfasts.
I am sorry you were not overly enthrawled with your room, it is a very popular room because of its huge proportions and quiet situation. If you come back, try the garden room next door with all the same facilities, but with added benefit of its own private garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.