We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just appalling service and mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cork

The Cork
11-12 Westgate Buildings, Bath BA1 1EB, England
+44 1225 333582
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 465 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Cork located on Westgate Buildings, Bath is situated within walking distance of all visitor attractions, shopping areas, the train station and coach park. The building where The Cork is, was historically a 'debtors' prison, and renovations have left the stunning Bath sandstone exposed. Comprising of two bars, two vaulted party pod booths, a conservatory and a large al fresco terrace area. The Cork offers an ideal location to socialise, relax, watch live sport or have a full on party! A full, varied range of wines, cocktails, hot beverages, real ales, cider, craft beers, plus an extensive list of whiskies, Bourbons and rums really make The Cork one of the places to visit in the UK. With a theme of fun fun and fun, The Cork has two Party Pods that can be hired for karaoke or live sports or to play your own music. A function area is available for larger parties too. Expect to see and listen to DJs, live bands, comedy acts and magicians, not to mention their own fun and games including the legendary Sunday night pub quiz. The food is fun too. All prepared on site, the hand crafted burgers, chili hot dogs, nachos and huge hand cut chips are legendary in Bath.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just appalling service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went to The Cork in Bath today following a fantastic refurbishment. Full of enthusiasm for new project and it looks good; well thought out, great decor, eclectic mix of art and music. Limited menu perhaps which is fine. Ordered deep fried pickles! Fish finger sandwich and fries.

Waitress arrives with sandwiches, fine, I just lightly mention that we are waiting on the deep fried pickles as a starter. ' Only got one pair of hands'-, no hint of irony or fun here, just a short sharp riposte. Well that was nice! Food was as forgettable as, hmmmmm what was it now!

Never ever again for food. Oh, forget the drinks as well there are plenty of other bars with nicer staff. whoever runs this place ought to have a long hard look at the end product, service and staff attitude!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Manager at The Cork, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Simon

I'm pleased you like The Cork's refurbishment.

I'm sorry you felt the waitress had attitude. She remembers serving you and thought you had seen the funny side of her joke as she stated you chuckled when she said it. She is very upset as we are all you saw this differently. Our apologies.

Deep fried pickles are not everyones cup of tea, we knew that when we put them on the menu ... a bit like Marmite ... as they say. As for the fish finger sandwiches, we kept them on this menu due to how popular they are.

We would love it if you would try us again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pudding and service was a let down - such a shame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

New decor is funky and the feel is relaxed retro American diner style.....main meals were tasty, we had the chicken burger and nachos, great price too! However - pudding was below par. Over priced - the waffles were like cardboard, I don't expect home made but I also don't expect them to be served In a basket with holes....ice cream and choc sauce??!! They were cold and quite frankly rancid!
The ice cream sundae - no choice on flavour given by staff and came out as plain Ice cream.... £4.00?! Rip off! Sent it back to then got the icecream I had given back just in a tall glass with 4 raspberries and a smidgen of chocolate sauce. How did I know? Well it was mostly liquid. Not happy to say the least. Would not recommend bothering with the pudding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was a hot sunny day and we squeezed on to a bench outside in the very busy courtyard. Ordered drinks which were fine but when our nachos with cheese came after 25 minutes it looked like someone had put a bowl of Doritos in the microwave with some grated cheese on; soggy and no real taste. It was busy however so this may have been a one off. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sunday lunch at the Cork is an easy choice for us. Food is much better than pub quality as is the wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Despite I dont like beer at all, I ve drunk one of the sweet beer . they have a lot of different beers. Excellent beers!!!! The waiter is very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cork also viewed

 

Been to The Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.