We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Brocks Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brocks Guest House to your Saves list
Brocks Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Dallas
1 review
“Loved The Brocks Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Sammy and Richard were very nice, they keep a great guest house! The Breakfast was great, the advise on where to go was perfect, and the coffee was the best I have ever had... no lies, I loved it, and would go back just for that. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    50
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Brock's was the cheapest accommodation of our 2 week trip and it held its own. The location is stellar. Breakfast was quite good (typical!) and we appreciated the pancake option. Noise from the street in room 2 was noticeable, normal city noise. A fuse blew one morning right at the end of our showers which compromised the electric pump; had it blown earlier it could have been a soapy mess, but no harm no foul and of course they fixed it immediately. The bed itself, and especially the pillows, would be the only things I would really criticize as deserving an upgrade. Otherwise, it is as advertised, run by friendly people, generally comfortable, and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed there after walking the Cotswolds way ;Hotel is on the route.Room was large and quiet considering your in Bath centre.Ideal for visiting Bath Just a few minutes walk into the centre.Sammy was extremly friendly and helpful and breakfast was superb.Would visit again without question

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Never saw Sammy despite getting friendly emails from her prior to our trip. Richard was pleasant but very business-like. Room was small; noisy in back yard at night. Good breakfast. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We had a very welcoming reception and were shown to a large, well-furnished, quite comfortable room. Quiet, too. There was a folder with comprehensive, well-written tips for sightseeing and dining out, which proved helpful. Breakfast very well done: best omelette we ate during the whole time touring Devon and Somerset... and we stayed in considerably more expensive establishment along the way. As to the price: great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Housed in a period building right in the middle of the architectural beauties of the city, the guest house is pleasant and confortable. It is run by a young couple who do their best to be helpful. Breakfast is standard but the breakfast room is superb and so you start the day in style! The rooms and the house are clean. I will go back there for the location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Only good things about this one. Very warm rooms and place, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and close to city centre.

I would deffinetly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brocks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.