We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brocks Guest House to your Saves list
Brocks Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent one night at Brocks with a friend for a girly get away. Lovely room, nice and quiet in a perfect location, the road links circus with royal crescent. Karen, the manger and her staff are so accomodating and friendly, they make you feel so at home. It was a wonderful stay and we have re booked to go back in December for the Christmas markets.

Room Tip: If you want to to attend the Christmas markets in Bath strat looking for accomodation now, it is alr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    50
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent the half term here with my children this Feb. We had the big room on the top floor of the house which was lovely. The 2 people running the guest house were great, very very friendly and welcoming and full of information on the area. My children were VERY happy when we returned one night to find a selection of board games and little toys for them to use during our stay. They were also extremely happy with the pancakes on offer for breakfast each morning which was a nice change for them. The guest house itself was nicely furnished and for the majority of the time, really nice and quiet. The location is great, we walked everywhere with no problem. We would love to stay here again, Bath is a great place to visit and there are plenty of things to do in the area. I should also add that when I was looking for a place to stay in Bath the response I received from Brocks Guest House was so nice that it made my decision easy. If you could just add a swimming pool my children would be happy to come back every year!!

Room Tip: Room 8 gave plenty space for 3 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

me and my gf stayed here on a Saturday night in Feb. we went down to watch the rugby and my gf chose this B&B because of good reviews. these reviews were very correct. its a great place to stay in an ideal location in Bath. Brooks Guesthouse is in-between the royal crescent and the circus so a great location. we stayed in Room 3, which was a great room, big double bed, en-suite bathroom wit a good shower. floor space and nicely furnished. breakfast was nice, wasnt a big full english breakfast, one small sausage, 2 bacon etc but nice all the same and also a choice of cereal, fruit etc. would rate very highly. the only downside is parking, we had one of the parking permits but had to drive round the area 4/5 times before we found a parking space. otherwise couldnt complain and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked as a birthday trip for our mother by my sister and myself. The whole process and stay from start to finish was wonderful.

All information and prices online were accurate; a phone call before booking with questions answered very helpfully; a permit for those first come first serve was an added bonus; I had mentioned on the phone call months before it was our mothers birthday and there were pots of fresh flowers in our room upon arrival; very friendly welcome and the owners were on call if we needed anything; comfortable rooms and fantastic value; extra blankets in the cupboards and little pots of sweets in the hallways (great attention to detail); great choice of breakfasts; superb location and overall an enjoyable and perfect trip to the wonderful City.

Thank you Brocks for a fantastic stay - we shall we back again!

Room Tip: I had trouble finding 3 separate beds for our family and Brocks had the perfect from for us (room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocks H, Manager at Brocks Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for such positive feed back. It really does make our Job worth while to know you were happy with the service you recieved here at Brocks. It was our pleasure to look after you. Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent one night in this gem. Full of character, spotlessly clean, fabulous breakfast and a warm welcome on our arrival. We would recommend this guest house and will definitely be returning again. It was a delight and pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms so book early. You don't want to miss out on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Brocks last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.The room was spotlessly clean and spacious.The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and the hosts were both friendly and helpful.We will revisit Bath again and stay at Brocks.
Its location is great to explore such a lovely city............its a must!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place was booked at the last minute on our way into Bath. We had no idea what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised!

We arrived early evening and were brought into the lounge where the owner talked to us about the area and gave us recommendations of where to eat as we hadn't had dinner yet. We inspected the room (which was clean, comfy, and was roomy enough for the three of us), then headed back downstairs to ask for directions to one of the places he recommended. Rather than telling us, he actually walked us directly to the restaurant and asked the gentleman who ran the place to look after - wow! Now that's service!

We had brought a car with us and unbeknownst, parked in The Royal Circle - eep! When the owner found out where we'd parked, he very kindly gave us one of his parking permits so we wouldn't get booked! All this, and we were only staying one night!

As many have said, it is a Georgian style house and it is really quite beautiful inside. The surrounding streets are (apparently!) well known for their rich and famous residents. It really is a lovely area, but parking will be a nightmare without a permit.

We had breakfast the morning we left and it was more than adequate. I can't recommend this B&B enough - we travelled around the UK and Europe for 6 weeks and this is definitely the best run B&B we stayed at, hands down, all thanks to the very kind, helpful and friendly owner! It was just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brocks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.