We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far reaching views over Bath and surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Solsbury Hill

Little Solsbury Hill
Bath, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 91 attractions in Bath
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Believed to be the site of King Arthur's decisive victory, Battle of Mt. Badon, this high hill overlooks scenic Bath.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Far reaching views over Bath and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Little Solsbury Hill offers dramatic views over Bath and the surrounding countryside. When you get to the top you can easily see why it is the former site of a fort, with it's commanding position. I first visited it once I realised it's the hill that Peter Gabriel was singing about in his song of the same title and I do tend to think of that song when I visit.

The hill never seems to get crowded which is a bonus in my opinion. The only slight fly in the ointment is the constant noise from the A46 which passes close by but it's not enough to spoil my visits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good walk for a clear day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Aka Mount Badon..... where the legendary King Arthur won his most famous battle. It took us 3 hours to walk there & back from Bath Abbey... & though we stopped for a teabreak, we don't dawdle!

It proved to be a good legstretch through the city centre, the suburbs, up the hill then... finally... through sticky mud to reach the plateau. The plateau is large & flat enough to accommodate a village.

The views from the top of the Iron Age hillfort were well worth it. The Romans would have fought a 12ft pallisade on top of the earthworks.... well before Arthur's time. It's an excellent strategic viewpoint.... & makes a good walk.

The minuses were - a complete lack of signage - fortunately, we had our own Bath A-Z. There is limited parking, if you know where to look & are prepared for a steep 5 mins walk & some mud! If you're in a wheelchair, or need facilities: you'll need to be creative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Arthurian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Likely site of Arthurs most famous battle. The battle of badon hill. No where to park and you'll need a GPS or map to get to the closest road access point. A steep but short walk to an excellent view.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Year's Day Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great views from the top in all directions and you can walk all round the iron-age hill fort (of which there is little to see). Some routes up are muddy (from the western side near the by-pass) but with the right gear it's all part of the fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great views over Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic walk for the dog and what a treat when you get too the top of the hill. Panoramic views over Bath and surrounding area, A place to go in the Summer with a picnic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Solsbury Hill also viewed

 

Been to Little Solsbury Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Solsbury Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Solsbury Hill to your Saves list