We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Park

Royal Victoria Park
Bath, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Attractions in Bath
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1830, Royal Victoria Park is a visual delight with shady tree-lined avenues and towering mature trees encompassing botanical and woodland gardens.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The park is huge and there's lots to do. You can just sit and relax and people watch. You can admire the beautiful Royal Crescent. You can play crazy golf (great fun), you can take your kids to the huge playground or amble around the botanic gardens. Apart from the crazy golf everything else is free, so a great place to spend an hour or more when you're in Bath. I love it and always make time for a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    128
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
W-s-M
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner & I were on a regular day trip to Bath & had some time to spend between meals.

I'd read good reviews on this site, but hadn't planned on seeking it out that day, but stumbled across it, so decided to walk off our lunch!

What a wonderful place! It's HUGE & there is always something new to see, especially when the seasons are changing.

We walked around for two & a half hours & hadn't seen everything. Not by a long shot.

It's romantic, full of history, great for exercising dogs & children, and the botanical garden is beautiful.

The squirrels are very tame & on the scrounge for treats, so next time we go, we'll ensure our pockets are full!

Many hours can be wiled away here, for free, unlike Parade Gardens, which has an entrance fee. It is also minuscule by comparison, to Royal Victoria Park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“mini golf course is excellent !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The mini golf course is excellent value and very picturesque. A lot nicer than the usual multi coloured ones you see - The squirrels also make for some additional entertainment!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

very nice park with loads of areas to see. you could spend hours looking aorund and enjoying the views. very tidy aswell

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely open space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a lovely open space, although in parts it's a bit noisy as near the main road. Get away from the road and it's a lovely place to chill out. Plenty of space for the dogs or kids. Talking of kids it's got one of the biggest playgrounds I've every seen. The kids will love it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Victoria Park also viewed

 

Been to Royal Victoria Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.