We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bloomfield House to your Saves list
Bloomfield House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   146 Bloomfield Rd, Bath BA2 2AS, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have stayed in many places across the UK.Bloomfield House is a marvellous place to stay.Relaxing! Love the decor.Having access to the garden makes it all the more pleasurable.Karen the owner is very welcoming and friendly.I would recommend it to anyone who comes to Bath a stay here is a must.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    33
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
112
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having stayed in many b&b's and guest houses in the country and world-wide, myself and my partner thought this guest house was outstanding! The Landlady is extremely friendly and informative of the city's interests without providing too much info! The room was amazingly clean and quiet. Beautifully decorated. Actual tea bags and coffee, not the usual sachets which made a huge difference as the morning tea was superb! We opted out of the morning breakfast as we had plans made, but I have no doubt that it would have been great. We will bookmark this one for our regular trips to Bath. 5 Stars!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have just spent a night at Bloomfield House, and had a very enjoyable stay. The owners were welcoming and friendly and and we were given information on Bath and a list of restaurants and details of where to get the bus back, we also got an extra hour at the Thermae Spa with our key fob. We had a kingsized room which was spacious and slept very well in the extra large bed. Breakfast was delicious with a selection of fruit, cereal, toast, yogurts and a cooked breakfast, all well cooked and nicely presented. Although we didn't have time to go out in the garden it looked beautifully well maintained. The whole atmosphere is relaxing and informal. We loved the dog of the house who is very well behaved and gave us a lovely welcome aso.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A superb little B&B. The owners are lovely, extremely welcoming and accommodating. They give guests a Bath restaurant cheat sheet with little reviews and ratings, and breakfasts are great.

Bed could not have been more comfortable. Location is perfect, 15 mins to walk to town but you feel like you're in the countryside. Lovely garden and patio which will be great for a morning coffee and breakfast in the summer. Even the pets were charming.

Cannot recommend more highly.

Room Tip: We had a four poster, which was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Outstanding from start to finish. The friendliest of welcomes and ongoing service. The room was small but cosy and quaint. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with the best poached eggs we've ever tasted. Loved the homely feel so would definitely consider returning. The walk to town was a good workout as we love walking but saw plenty of buses go past regularly ( no. 14). Would not have changed anything as our anniversary was a perfect stay. Be sure to consider booking this beautiful B&B

Suzy and Matt

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wing, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We planned a much needed break to Bath and knowing that Bath can on occasions be expensive we found Bloomfield House. The surroundings and general service have the little touches that made the experience just perfect. On arrival we were shown to our room and my eyes were immediately drawn to the decanter of port on the dresser. (Only because it was unusual to see honest!)

On asking Karen she told us it was complimentary as was the bottle of Irish cream liqueur. The 4 poster bed was incredibly comfortable, the en-suite was nicely decorated and well finished and guess what? The water is soft in this area so the gold effect taps are sparkling clean!

We can't recommend this hotel enough. The family that own it are very personable without being intrusive and like all other reviewers, the breakfast is sourced from local suppliers and is simply stunning!

The grounds are very well maintained (We saw the gardeners) and make a great place to sit with a glass of wine (or complimentary port) and unwind from a long but enjoyable day exploring the local area. Lacock Village is a must!

The walk back from the city centre is not for the feint hearted, but there are regular buses which stop just outside or you can take a taxi that take you to the door.

Finally, there is a great character called Tolly, ask to meet him you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Choose any room, they are all just as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you guys for your lovely comments and indeed to all the positive reviews we have had recently - I find it hard to know what to say, but needless to say we remember you all fondly and hope to see you again soon and we appreciate you taking the time and trouble write about us. Tolly sends his sincerest regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Righto, here goes my first trip advisor review! Just goes to show you how much I liked this place really :)

What a cosy B&B in a lovely historic building. I stayed at Bloomfield House for 2 nights. The bed was EXCELLENT - great for the weary traveler that I was. You really feel like you're living in the antique elegance of a prior era. If you're looking to stay in a place that reflects the brilliant history and architecture of Bath, this is it.

I love the fact that this place is family-run. You can tell the hosts really care about your experience since it's a reflection of their home. Wonderful English breakfast, Tolly the dog and all the cats were so much fun. It's a brilliant escape from the impersonal B&B with hospital-like sterility, and at such great value! Honestly just DO IT. Bloomfield House is where to stay if you're visiting Bath. Hopefully I'll come back sometime!

Room Tip: Well it's not like I saw any of the other rooms, but I loved room 6 where I was! It was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Address: 146 Bloomfield Rd, Bath BA2 2AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.