We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pratt's Hotel to your Saves list
Pratt's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pratt's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Parade, Bath BA2 4AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dated but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a Groupon deal and was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here.

The hotel is a little dated but the staff were very friendly and attentive (especially the lady on reception when we checked in) the room was big and clean, the bathroom needed a little attention but I have seen far worse and it is in a perfect location for visiting the city.

Overall this is a good budget hotel if you just need a place to sleep so that you can explore the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile


Stayed at Pratts Hotel and was woken at 3am by a hammering noise from the plumbing every 30 seconds or so until 6.30am - a noise so loud, it sounded like the police were raiding the hotel room by room, breaking the doors down with a sledgehammer! Despite going down to reception and complaining at 3am and raising the issue at checkout, the hotel offered nothing but a half-hearted apology and the acknowledgement that this is a persistent, recurring problem and they quote "don't know what to do to stop it"

As other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is seriously falling apart - the day we arrived notes appeared on the doors stating that the hotel phone system was not working and that the staff would let us know when it was fixed. No one ever did, and the notes were still attached to the doors of the vacant rooms in the following days so I presume the phones were out for quite some time.
The room itself had maintenance issues too numerous to mention, a mysterious swarm of flies, threadbare sheets, towels like sandpaper (I say towels plural, meaning exactly two towels, one for each guest, because this is how many we received). The bathroom was quite frankly the worst I have ever seen in a hotel, suffice to say, given the choice between another shower in a Pratts bathroom or one in the Bates Motel, I would probably run the risk of having a knife-wielding psychopath join me rather than enter the Pratts one.

I see from other reviews that the hotel is due to be completely refurbished in the Fall - in fact, according to the management, the owners already spent a huge amount of money "prettying up" the front of the hotel. They should get their priorities right - nothing should take precedence over renovating their guest rooms. If the owners were oblivious to the hotel's faults or not in a financial position to rectify them, I could have some sympathy, but that the owners are aware that the hotel is in need of total refurbishment and are planning to do so but still continue to fill it with guests and charge the prices they are charging with the knowledge that it is sub-standard is ridiculous. Have some respect for your guests and your reputation, shut the hotel now and do the work it needs. At the very least they need to be honest and put a large notice on all of their booking sites, saying that the hotel is in a poor state of repair and awaiting a major refurbishment.
Yes, the location of this property is excellent for the town but it is surrounded by other hotels and guest houses. Do yourself a huge favor and book one of those!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with some friends and ok, it is a little dated and slightly shabby in places but for the price it was excellent. The staff were brilliant and food was lovely, the location for sightseeing was perfect and the room we had was clean bright and airy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel charming in need of a little tender care handy for all the sights the floor boards very creaky and the paint work very chipped and a mysterious wire across the radiator in the very large bathroom

Room Tip: room113 terrible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I would not stay here again. The only thing going for this hotel is the location, being central to the City of Bath. The big let-down was the room. Very grim, dull and overlooking a dark narrow gap in the buildings. So many faults that we did not know where to start. These rooms obviously never get checked, as i'm sure an electrical check would make the room condemned. Sockets were so lose you could put your finger behind them Out of 7 light fittings only 2 worked. One of the pair over the bed, and one of the pair over the mirror, which I atually moved the bulb over to the bed one so I could see to read. I won't charge Pratt's for this work. The breakfast was very poor. If it wasn;t for the good location Pratt's would get zero points from me. The thing that really upsets me is that places like this, in a historic English City seem to be totally staffed by people from other Countries, which always seems to generate communication and understanding issues due to accents.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'll start by saying that the staff are fantastic and helpful.
The hotel is amazing on the outside as are most of the buildings in Bath, on the inside it is welcoming but it needs to be updated with a refurbishment throughout.
Have since found out that a refurbishment will commence in Sept 2014.
The room we stayed in was the same and I have to point out a few bad points which I'll list below.
Bedside tables made of chipboard.
Wallpaper lifting and peeling above the bed.
Dirt marks on the walls.
Bathroom old and seriously needs a refit.
Old wardrobe and old bedroom furniture.
Double bed felt more like a single.
TV old and needs replacing.
We were going to make a coffee and found that both the spoons were dirty.
On our last day the staff again were brilliant and so helpful, we waited near the bar in two old style chairs and became aware of a dripping sound, we looked up and there was a stain which appeared to have been there for sometime, low and behold water droplets dripping onto the carpet, the area in question appeared to me to be a load bearing wall with a light fitting no more than 12 to 18 inch away.
I did not bring any of these problems to the attention of the staff as this my lady and I didn't want to fuss 'yes it's very British' if the staff weren't so nice I'd have made a complaint.
I understand that the new owners review and I hope they see my review as the hotel needs to be closed and the refit needs to be moved ahead.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had read some terrible reviews for this hotel after booking and to an extent some of them rang true but in all honesty we had a very pleasant stay. Rooms are dated and a little rough around the edges but we are in hard economic times for businesses! Biggest drawback was the very loud bells belonging to the church opposite so take ear plugs...but no fault of the hotels! Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and would rate at a 7/10! Absolutely ideal location for sightseeing and touring,

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pratts, Manager at Pratt's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
I was delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay here with us at Pratt's Hotel, and to hear you enjoyed the location & Breakfast. The staff really appreciate that you found them to be friendly and helpful.

I am sorry you were disrupted by the church bells, these usually do not chime during the night so I will monitor this over the next few nights and speak to them if it has continued.

Thank you for you feedback it is very much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Nicola Fender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt's Hotel

Address: South Parade, Bath BA2 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pratt's Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has been part of the city's heritage since the mid 1700s; a Georgian landmark set in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pratt's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pratts Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.