We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

In late 2011, we booked the Wedding Package for the marriage of our daughter and her fiance which took place in July 2012. The Event Management Dept were all fantastic and guided us through the process, including the recommendation of local photographer, pianist and florist. The day itself was perfection. Everything was totally organised from the use of the Grange Suite for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready, the ceremony in the Vellore Room, the serving of drinks and canapes on the lawn to the wedding breakfast in the Avon Room. The meal was a triumph, the serving staff were great. We can't recommend the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel wedding service highly enough. All the guests commented that the hotel and the grounds provided a gorgeous setting for a wedding. It was a wonderful wedding day and the sun shone......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    472
    243
    151
    82
See reviews for
187
1,035
30
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week for his 60th birthday. He had enough loyalty points for an executive room & dinner on the Wednesday, but paid for a suite with butler on the Thursday (birthday). I emailed the hotel and told them it was a special birthday, and when we got there we found they'd upgraded us to the suite for the two nights....great!! Our butler Ra, was very pleasant and helpful, the suite was good, chocs and wine provided, the spa lovely and breakfast excellent! We only dined at the hotel on the Wednesday, and to be very honest I was glad that our points had covered the cost. The menu was pretty expensive and it certainly wasn't the best meal we've eaten, average at best, which was not what we'd expected! But still a very pleasant stay in a good hotel in a lovey city!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

great service, lovely food! amazing spa facilities.. will be coming bk. ASAP. i cant fault anything.. the best birthday present ever staying here. and loved the full body massage! They even leftva box of chocs in my room free of charge to make it extra special!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and the parking was very secure and plentiful. Chose not to use the valet parking. Check in was hassle free and professional. Our room 502 was spacious and comfortable although we did not like the pillows as they were too soft and offered no support. The room was incomplete on arrival, with no hairdryer and no room service menu in the room, however this situation was quickly taken care of by housekeeping. The furniture was stylish however a little scuffed. The bathroom was spacious and adequate. The room had air con. The TV had limited channels and not brilliant reception. We used the spa 3 times, robes, slippers and towels were provided free of charge. The spa area was very good and clean with a good range of facilities, including pools and steam rooms. It can get quite busy. We used room service and the food was excellent, we recommend the chicken curry, it arrived promptly. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of cooked and continental. We were made to feel extremely welcome and as if nothing would ever be too much trouble. The hotel has lovely gardens and outdoor seating areas. We would recommend this hotel as it is conveniently located for the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am absolutely impressed with this hotel. Me and my partner stayed there for one night to celebrate his birthday and have a relaxing time. This was the most ambient and peaceful hotel I have ever stayed in. The drive to the building is amazing, the gardens and the beautiful fountains are impressive and gives the initial impression of how quiet and elegant the place is. We had booked a room with a garden view and got upgraded to a suite with a garden view. The room was absolutely beautiful - has a separate seating area with TV and a view of the city, had all the facilities in the bedroom as well, the decoration is very grand and elegant, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bed is very comfortable and we had a great sleep and the bathroom has Molton Brown products, which for me was the winning element of luxury. We spent a few hours in the spa, it is really wonderful - it has two swimming pools. The indoor swimming pool is for swimming, there is also a separate jacuzzi and sitting area. The room is very bright with large windows. The outside swimming pool is very warm and has a jacuzzi area with seats where one can sit and relax in the warm waters. There are two saunas, one steam room, a massage shower and an ice room, all beautifully designed. All the necessary items for the spa are provided in the rooms. We had the chance to have lunch at the Alfresco restaurant, it is beautifully decorated, very peaceful and the food is light and healthy, perfect for lunch. The evening restaurant is so grand and elegant, a true perfection. The food is very pricy but were you to try it you would not be left disappointed, everything was done to perfection and with a lot of imagination. The cocktail bar serves amazing cocktails and is very intimate - ideal to end a relaxing day. The gardens are absolutely stunning, walking around is a real pleasure. The tea room is ineradicably beautiful, elegant and grand, serving lovely tea and coffee. Last but not least, all the staff at the hotel, the restaurants and the spa are absolutely lovely, so helpful and polite, they really took care of us. We had to evacuate the hotel due to a fire alarm during the night and the staff were brilliant at reassuring everyone and very quickly resolved the problem and help all the guests to get back to their rooms and treated everyone to wine and other beverage. They were really lovely and added that extra element to the whole experience. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the views of the garden and the beautiful city of Bath are enough to impress but there is so much more to this place - it is truly grand, the rooms, the food, the drinks, the wonderful spa and the general tranquility of the place makes it ideal for a relaxing holiday. I would warmly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Suite with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for a long weekend over Easter. Breakfast was amazing and served in your room if you wished (which we did). The food in the restaurant was delicious, quite expensive but worth it. The spa was the highlight of the hotel with about 7 different rooms which were different temperatures, including an infared room, salt room, sub zero room (complete with ice) and various steam rooms. There is also an indoor and outdoor heated pool. We had a wonderful time i would recommend it to friends and return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my wife for our anniversary and loved the excecutive suite, which was spacious, clean and worth the money.The staff were great, especially the concierge staff who were on duty all weeklend who were exceptional. The food was great, apart from one cooked breakfast meal where the chef underperformed, but I put that down to a very busy Sunday morning service. Restaurant staff were great especially the dinner service, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
Tow tips for the management: Put some extra lights in the restaurant to show off your beautiful room and do something about the lack of atmosphere in the front lounge, which does not encourage you to sit in there on an evening(some light background music would have been nice. A big big thank you to the concierge on the Friday night who lifted our spirits as soon as we stepped into the hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is within 10 walking minutes of the central tourist spots of the Pump room and Roman Bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house hotel in restored Georgian mansion, set in acres of landscaped gardens; walking distance to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.