We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot praise highly enough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL US FOR ROOMS
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cannot praise highly enough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What can I say brilliant service from booking to checkout.
When I booked I booked for a one night stay at the Athol suite as a night away for a dual celebration the anniversary of the day my wife and I met and her forthcoming birthday. We travelled to Bath via train as thought it would be a nice experience to have something chilled on the train, we were offered a parking voucher upon booking if we did decide to drive which I felt was a special touch. Kirsten knew nothing of where we were staying except that it was that it was Bath we were visiting.
5 mins in the taxi from the station and we arrive at Dukes the reception and check-in was pleasant and very professional (the hotel has a star in Mike).
The room what can I say Kirsten was blown away and after unpacking we reluctantly went out to do the tourist thing Bath Spa etc another lovely experience.
Upon our return we had a bottle of fizz which needed chilling due to there being no tables on the train (which we had booked) for us to enjoy on our journey. Roman was at front desk and he willingly put it in the freezer for me at my request offering to bring it up when it was chilled enough another top mark there.
We had a steak in Hudsons that night and visited numerous bars/pubs and had a sound night sleep so much so that I had difficulty encouraging Kirsten to come for breakfast. A well cooked breakfast followed with plenty of pastries etc. a lovely touch was freshly baked Mandolins offered when breakfast was finished. Was slightly disappointed when I noticed the bar next to the breakfast room in the morning as we fancied a tot to warm us up on our walk back the previous evening; we may of been advised of bar when checked-in but I didn't remember it being mentioned.
We then left our bags while we did the Roman museum and had a pub lunch at The Raven (pies a speciality and a pub for real ale fans), back to Hotel where Mike kindly arranged a taxi back to the station for us had a lovely chat with Mike who has such a friendly nature he is a credit to this lovely Hotel.
I would recommend Dukes to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Bath but I would hope that they don't want to stay while we are looking to return as I really don't want to stay anywhere else.
A beautiful place befitting a beautiful City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
What an inspirational review. Thank you for the applause – but in reality ‘well done you’!! We are delighted to have fulfilled and possibly enhanced what was clearly an extremely carefully and well prepared visit to Bath. We have a great, very committed team, here at Dukes who share an absolute focus on ensuring our guests all enjoy the best time possible. We are very proud of Bath and feel very privileged to be the custodians of a superb Georgian property on Great Pulteney Street. While rooms may not always be ready ‘first thing in the morning’ we are always very happy to ‘hold on to bags’ and so to arrive mid-morning and leave late afternoon the following day makes for a terrific break. Our apologies over the bar – popular mainly with family gatherings and wedding parties – we are always very happy to bring a warming glass up to reception…….and have been known to deliver to the guests room…….something for next time !! Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    123
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
101
424
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leedd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A very superior B&B. Nicely furnished, spotlessly clean, friendly service, terrific breakfast in a very central location.

Unless you want the full service features of a hotel (bar, restaurant etc.) i doubt there is a better place to stay in bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – I am very pleased that you enjoyed an enjoyable stay. All appreciation is very encouraging, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a great 2 night stay we had over Easter. Perfect position for walking into Bath, parked the car up and didn't touch it until we left 2 days later. This Hotel has great character.Very pleasant owners and staff. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed in the Norfolk suite, so much space and on the ground floor, excellent bed. We will be returning next year.

Room Tip: If you want alot of space and on the ground floor, Norfolk Suite is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
The Norfolk is a superb ground floor suite overlooking Great Pulteney Street. The rooms are very accessible from the entrance to Dukes, close to reception and have close proximity to the breakfast room. Being able to ‘park up’ the car and leave 'it' for two days is a rare pleasure, the scale and ‘walkability’ of Bath is a much commented upon delight of this World Heritage City. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return next Easter……if not before.With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rooms are really spacious with very high ceilings, and comfortable furniture. A 3 minute walk has you in the centre of Bath.
Breakfast was absolutely terrific. Wonderful fresh ingredients. I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and John had a kipper.
Really warm welcome on arrival and I left my bathrobe in the room and we were phoned straight away.
It's not posh but really comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Dukes offers up an opportunity to experiencing ‘living’ within two Georgian townhouses overlooking Great Pulteney Street; recognised by many as one of the finest Georgian boulevards existing in England. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and found breakfast ‘ absolutely terrific’ and that we offered ‘great value, good location and excellent staff’ . With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at the Dukes late April and had read the previous reviews, therefore had certain expectations which were definitely met.

The food was nice with quite a decent choice to pick from, and the best myself and my husband slept in was very comfy indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that your expectations were ‘definitely met’ and that you and your husband shared a very enjoyable visit to Bath with a ‘comfy’ bed and ‘nice breakfast’ . With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Can find absolutely no fault with this hotel. It sets out to be comfortable and friendly and that's what it achieves. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the breakfast pleasant , the location excellent. Vey, very quiet, particularly the higher up you are- the only sound i heard during my time was the occassional squeek of the old floorboards under the sumptious carpets.
Staff were friendly and helpfull and i would not dream of trying anywhere else in Bath. There's WI-FI if you need it. The only thing that seperated this hotel from ones i've paid many multiples of £'s more for is they don't do evening meals (plenty places within a stones-throw) and they don't have a lift ( shouldn't effect most people but 3 floors up could in a few instances).
If i was to award this hotel a % out of 100 it would be 99% and i could not even tell you what the missing 1% would be to achieve perfection because that elusive 1% should always be unatainable or why would we go anywhere else.

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter it is but it's a quiet street anyway so no problem. Plus the higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a very complimentary review. Dukes sits within two Georgian townhouses on Great Pulteney Street; a majestic five minute stroll away from the heart of Bath. I am delighted that you found your stay ‘comfortable and friendly’ and we look forward to your return. With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent two nights at Dukes over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is a five minute walk to the centre of Bath and around a ten minute walk to the train station. We were welcomed by Mike, who couldn't do more to make us feel welcome. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and had execellent recommendations for sightseeing and dining out. We stayed in the Montrose room, which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety on the menu. Dukes is excellent value for money, and made our trip to Bath all the more enjoyable. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Montrose room is very spacious with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
I think many within our team have a ‘favourite room’ – the Montrose ranks high, mind you so does the Argyll….and the Wellington; the Norfolk also has many sponsors! In truth we have 17 unique rooms of differing sizes and locations within these two magnificent Georgian townhouses. We are always happy to honestly offer up a profile of their characteristics and endeavour to ensure the ‘best fit’ for our guest. Delighted that you shared a ‘wonderful experience’. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street; one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.