We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, service and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ALL INCLUSIVE RATE
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location, service and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend as part of our anniversary celebrations.

Pros-
Excellent professional yet friendly service
Literally a 5 star a la carte breakfast
Brilliant tourist advice
Generosity of a gift and provision of extra amenities (heated) as required
Lovely bathroom, power shower and amenites

Cons
Thin walls/ ceiling so slightly disturbed by a wedding party (although with warning and profuse apologies!)
Very slightly dated room (although we are used to sleek modern finishes- many would find this cute, cosy and of character)

As frequent travellers we do highly recommend this B&B to you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very constructive and informative review. I think that you have very fairly commented on your stay. As you mention the property is old, the floorboards do squeak and the rather large sash windows rattle. I think the décor is dated, faded and familiar and we would not hide from these true observations……….all said, thank you for your ‘highly recommended’ commendation and we look forward to your return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    131
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
108
480
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I hadn't booked a hotel when we arrived and found this great hotel by chance which we are extremely happy about.
The staff were amazing and we have never been made to feel so welcome before and were great helping us take our lugguage to the top floor to the deluxe room which we had for 1 nite and had great views of the hills above us. They then moved us to a standard double room for the next night which was equally lovely with great views again. The staff were good enough to recommend places to eat and drink as well. The hotel is in a great location down an amazing road which was only 5minutes walk to the town which is an ideal location for any visitor to the city.
The breakfast we had was delicious and we were very happy with the choices we could choose from, especially the salmon and scrambled egg :-)
This is definitely a place I would recommend staying in and will be coming back again. It's great value for a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review. Though we were ‘full’ at the time of your arrival and stay, I am delighted that your move from a ‘deluxe’ room to a ‘standard’ room was without any disruption to your enjoyment. I am pleased that your overall enjoyment, support from our team, breakfast and our property location insured you of a superb experience. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights the first weekend in June and had an amazing time. I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed, first off the location is amazing the hotel is situated in Great Pulteney street which is one of the most amazing street in the UK if not the world! The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the center of bath and is in a great location.

Before we arrived I emailed the hotel and asked for a free parking permit and when i arrived it was ready and waiting which saved me a lot of money on parking for 3 days. When we arrived we were shown to our room and the guy greeting us was really helpful and provided a map and told us how long it would take for us to walk to a number of the main sites.

The room we had was great with a comfy bed, great view and decent sized bathroom. One of the nights I asked for some glasses and ice for G&T and the duty manager kindly got me these plus some lemon and peanuts which was a nice touch. I also asked to refrigerate some champagne that I had brought with me and they did this plus provide me with some champagne glasses and an ice bucket which was also appreciated.

The breakfast was also really tasty and it is cooked to order which is always nicer than a buffet, they were also a number of things on the breakfast menu other than just a full english breakfast.

Overall my girlfriend and I loved this hotel the staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough to help us we would definitely return when we go back to bath!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very comprehensive review. Whether reception, housekeeping, chef or breakfast service; each of our team have a passionate desire to present Dukes at her best. Equally, little is more rewarding than to feel that a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay – so thank you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands birthday weekend. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Small touches such as fruit and chocolates in the room and a bottle of wine on ice and a birthday card as soon as they knew we were there for a celebration were lovely touches. The staff were great. The room was quirky Georgian splendour and it was an easy walk into central bath in the evening. Everything was clean and it was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for writing. Terrific to hear that we provided the ‘comfiest hotel bed ever’ and that your husbands birthday weekend was a full blown success. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was so lovely and it was located on a corner on Pulteney St., which was a very desirable address during the SEASON in Jane Austen's era. I could picture in my mind all of the carriages of the landed gentry arriving here in her novels. The location was perfect...so close to the center of Bath. The service at this hotel was exceptional. The breakfast room and the breakfasts were elegant. Bottles of mineral water were in every room and replenished daily. This was a good thing because the tap water in Bath is terrible. Our experience in Bath was wonderful and this hotel as well as having tea in the Pump Room and visiting the Roman Baths, seeing the Circus, the Royal Crescent made me feel transported back to that earlier time when elegance was so in fashion. I highly recommend this hotel. The price was reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have been able to so thoroughly enjoy yourself in the ‘Georgian era’. The 200 year old townhouses that make up Dukes wholly reflect on this bygone era. The high ceilings, stone staircases and in many cases grand bedrooms are a complete indulgence. Please make a note in your diary that 13-21 September has been chosen as the 9 day period for The Jane Austin Festival. Thank you for complimenting our ‘exceptional service’ and I am pleased to hear that you found our offer ‘reasonably priced’. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed just one night - will go back - its 5 min walk from Bath Centre - offers free parking and staff were very helpful
We stayed in a standard (all they had left - we booked late) and would have upgraded if available as the room was a little small - but perfectly adequate.
Even though it was very central and literally 5 mins from the many bars, restaurants etc - it was extremely quiet.

Room Tip: Stay Friday and Sat - you can then park free on Sunday many roads around the area after you have che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. As you note, weekends are a superb time to visit Bath and in addition take advantage of the free Sunday parking. Many of our superior, deluxe and four poster rooms are, as a consequence, booked 6-8 weeks in advance. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for one night in May 2013 and were thoroughly impressed. The room had excellent fittings and antique furniture. The residential car parking permit was a life saver. Would recommend to any other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you were ‘thoroughly impressed’. Thank you for the very affirmative recommendation. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street; one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.