We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dukes Hotel to your Saves list
Dukes Hotel
53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL US FOR ROOMS
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just stayed for a night in the Norfolk room and was very impressed. The people were very friendly, the room was large and everything was very clean. The breakfast was delicious. The location is ideal as it's really close to town, but quiet. The price was very reasonable. It's rated 3 star but the overall experience is first class. A gem, especially at the price. I look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Norfolk Room very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. The Norfolk room looks out onto Great Pulteney Street and fully embraces the Georgian ambiance of the property. We have a team of very thorough and committed ‘housekeepers’ who as you point out do a marvellous job of keeping the rooms extremely clean and tidy – so thank you for sharing your appreciation. We look forward to you returning to your ‘Gem’ in Bath – with thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    123
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
101
424
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, convenient for the city centre, wonderful Regency rooms (ours had separate day room and lobby) and nothing too much trouble for the knowledgeable staff. Breakfast excellent. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you clearly had a thoroughly enjoyable visit and stay in Bath. Thank you for the very positive recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

As per other reviews, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the breakfast was delicious, but what really made Duke's stand out for me was the fantastic customer service. Everyone affiliated with the hotel was lovely: kind and friendly. It was like staying with friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We too feel we have a very professional and committed team across front of house, breakfast service and housekeeping. We are delighted that you enjoyed a casual, relaxing break, as though staying with friends; we would ask for no more. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed there for business and the service was stupendous.
Friendly and gave good advice on the city.

The room was everything I expected, the bed so confortable.

I do recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bath

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write a very positive review. We like to think that we offer an efficient, considerate and reliable service for the business user – thank you for adding ‘great value’ to our proposition. With thanks and we look forward to supporting future business visits to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were a group of eight ladies for a hen do and we couldn't have been more happy with the rooms - great size, very good bed and well decorated. Service is amazing too, we were made feel very welcome straight from the start and the breakfast in the morning is a true treat. It is close to the center and within minutes you are in the town center after a little walk down a lovely street. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. We are always happy to welcome a well behaved ‘flock’. We enjoyed the celebration and happiness you all shared and I know Roman was more than happy to meet the 3am request for a ‘very large’ pot of tea. Trust that all the ‘dancing feet’ have recovered. Many thanks for your very positive recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Thank you to all the duke's staff for making our stay soo fantastic! All the staff are very friendly, offering great friendly service and the breakfast is delicious! Mike remebered us from 5 years ago, which is amazing! Everyone is so welcoming. The room was great, very clean, and very good decor. Bed was very comfortable. Location is excellent, very close to the town.
Thank you again for making our anniversary that much more special!
Hoping to visit bath next year so will definately be stay at dukes!

Room Tip: We have a young toddler so we booked the deluxe room so she would have abit more space to run around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very touched that you chose to return to Dukes having stayed some 5 years ago. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Norfolk. The rooms lend themselves to ‘young families’ as the rooms so easily divide into two areas. Thank you very much for the generous appreciation and we look forward to welcoming you to Dukes in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I brought my elderly father here for a night - his first away since a long illness. We could not have chosen a better place.

The hotel is across the bridge from the centre of Bath, which is much quieter - I have had some truly awful nights' sleep in the town centre due to the noise from customers leaving the many bars and hotels, so it was a good idea to be a little further away. It is within a few minutes' walk from all the visitor sights and attractiions of the town.

My father was given the Abercorn Room on the Ground Floor (a small double suitable for a disabled user, although not enough space for a wheelchair, I would say) and I was in a small double at the top of the house (yes, up those 90-odd stairs!! - very good for me!). Both of us had the best night's sleep in a long, long time - the beds are extremely comfortable. And both rooms were clean, with very clean bathrooms. Decor is exactly what I would expect in a Georgian house of it's age - very appropriate patterned wallpapers and old paintings of the grand dukes of England!

Dad had a slight fall when the disabled support rail by the loo in his bathroom gave way during the night, and when he told the hotel staff in the morning, they were far more concerned with his wellbeing than the state of the bathroom wall, which is, of course, as it should be - he was unharmed and more worried about making a mess - he recommended they use much longer and more robust screws!

The breakfast was delicious! Plenty of it. Rooms also had decent tea and coffee making facilities and lovely bikkies in a tin. There is a bar, but we had no occasion to use it, but I was offered a drink

All staff we encountered, and Carole, the new owner, were utterly charming and very helpful - my luggage was carried upstairs and the parking permit was available immediately. Lots of great advice about places we could get to with Dad's mobility scooter, and taxis ordered promptly. The wifi didn't seem to be working for me on the night we stayed, but that could have been my own ineptitude, and there was a free computer to use in the reception/lounge area - the staff were happy for me to print out some papers I needed for a meeting.

As a seasoned traveller, it is a real pleasure to stay somewhere and feel so cared for. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your very generous and considerate review. Very relieved to hear that your Father was not too shaken by his night time fall. I think we all share a view that a desk, door or cushion may be damaged and easily replaced but that as one grows older a stumble or fall may be very debilitating. The Abercorn has served as a very popular room given its location on the ground floor. In addition given its south facing aspect over the garden terrace the room is sunny and secure. So I am sorry that these well laid plans were a little disrupted. Very pleased that you both enjoyed our breakfast and enjoyed the nature and scope of the offering. We provide a variety of teas, coffee and cocoa in the rooms along with a couple of biscuits for sustenance and so I am pleased that these were appreciated, next time we will need to provide you with extra rations. Once again thank you for your review, our apologies for being associated with your fathers fall and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Bath in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney St, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street; one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.