We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very nice. Good old fashioned service and opulence in a hotel that feels like yiu are in the country but is actually a 10 minute walk from the centre of Bath. Bars and restaurant are really lovely.

Spa is very nice.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
78
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here in the autumn for 1 night in a standard room B&B. The room was lovely and located in one of the buildings in the gardens. Staff were lovely and check in was very simple and they parked our car for us. We had dinner in a lovely little restaurant within 3 mins walk called restaurant Eleven.

Breakfast was very disappointing, the toast was cold, butter rock hard, bacon flubbery and only just cooked as were the sausages. As for the eggs they were not even cooked enough for my husband who likes his runny! I didn't eat them at all as I'm pregnant and even the whites weren't solid.

All in all a great hotel, great views and location but disappointing breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would like to thank the royal crescent hotel for the most amazing stay we just had on the 22-24 Dec. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was just perfect. Our room was ready on arrival and was immaculate with a huge bed and lovely views over the garden. We loved the generous breakfasts set in the dower house with fast, polite service and an amazing choice. Both the fried breakfast & eggs Benedict's were some of the best I've ever had. I proposed to my girlfriend in the hotel and she couldn't have been happier. The location is another huge plus point. It's very romantic and close to some great restaurants & pubs. We liked sitting in front of the fire with the house cat for a night cap after an evening out then returning to the room to watch some DVDs supplied by the hotel. This is without doubt the best hotel my girlfriend and I have ever stayed in, the service, rooms, building and location are second to none. I can't understand how it can have any reviews other than excellent? My only thought is its so perfect people look for the smallest of faults as expectations are potentially set very high. I for one couldn't fault a thing. Thank you RC for making our engagement so special. We will be back soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Room 42 overlooked the garden above the dower house in light & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Yes, the hotel is old, but it is so well updated!! We came here for a quick one-day trip to Bath. I'm impressed with the staff, the decor was wonderful and the grounds were so must fun to enjoy. I wish we had of stayed longer. We will be back for sure!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying I'm not review the hotel as we didn't stay there.
As a treat for my aunties 50th birthday we decided to take afternoon tea at the Royal Crescent.
While staff are attentive, the place lacks atmosphere. I thought we would be in a nice room for afternoon tea but we were in a bar, which was quite cold with 1 other couple with no background music. So we felt we had to whisper to each other.
The afternoon tea was nice, but not the best we've had in the city although the most expensive (and I've visited Bath 7 times in the last 4 years) the sandwiches weren't great, I informed staff I couldn't have the salmon due to being pregnant so my 3 tiny sandwiches were all ham, no cheese or cucumber alternative. The cakes were nice but we would've preferred 1 less cake (there were 7) and a few more sandwiches instead.
So while it was nice to visit the Royal Crescentwe won't be back.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and we note that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We are always happy to provide different choices and if there had been a request we would certainly have responded by offering something else. We will discuss why the room was cold and that there was no music, Please accept our apologies for this, it is always our aim that our guests leave having thorougly enjoying their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speightstown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent staff.
Original room had noisy radiator they upgraded us immediately .
Food historic.
Beautiful building, wonderful views within easy walking distance of town centre.
The Royal Crescent itself is stunning

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the south, all however have very pleasant views. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Maraketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that the problem was swiftly sorted and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel and restaurant!Quality and high standard rooms(bathrobe, slippers, toiletries), great restaurant, professional service, cosy atmosphere. Easy access to city centre. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.