We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding! Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely outstanding! Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently treated my mum to a spa session with treatments and afternoon tea. From the moment we drove up the cobbaly road leading to the hotel entrance we were greated by the concierge who parked my car. Thus leaving the stress of having to park the car. Once we arrived at the spa out day was all planned and all we needed to do was to change into our fluffy robes and relax in the hot barrels and steam rooms. We also had treatments which were out of this world. Holly who did my Espa facial was extremely professional and knowledgeable. To top of the wonderful day we had afternoon tea! All I can say is I will certainly be back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
74
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As a birthday treat my husband took me here for 2 nights (8-9 December) - we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was yummy. We managed to also use the spa/pool area which was very relaxing and woke us up before breakfast. The hotel has a great service and in a lovely location.

The only downside with our accommodation was the bathroom was small (compared to the bedroom) - there was nowhere to put your own toiletries. The bath had an overhead shower which wasn't very powerful and it wasn't possible to put the plug in the bath to use it as a bath.

We also would have liked the option to make our own coffee/tea in our room instead of ordering room service. I realise it is more of a pamper hotel but I like the convenience of having the option.

We still had a lovely stay and would go back again / recommend.

Room Tip: About a 10-15 minute from the main town of Bath. Lovely place to stay with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review and the lack of space in your bathroom for toiletries will be discussed and addressed. Having a Grade 1 listed building we cannot change interior space and a couple or rooms do have smaller bathrooms but all the rooms are very beautiful. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and gave such lovely comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was given a wonderful birthday gift of one night accommodation at this hotel. I had walked around the crescent and seen the hotel entrance even thou there is no big flashing signs to indicate where it is.
We arrived early, the concierge were so helpful seating us in the lounge, which had a open fire, to await our personal booking in.
We were taken up to our room, not just left to go there, I felt so special. The room was excellent so warm and cosy. It was situated to the front of the hotel and if there hadn't been a small wall at the top of the building which obstructed some of the view, I had to tiptoe to see through the gap and managed to see the green and the lights of Bath.
Excellent facilities in room, bathrobe, slippers, toiletries and hairdryer. Would have liked a long/tall mirror somewhere and missed the tea making facilities but otherwise really relaxed & chilled out in room.
Parking was free with a hotel pass, the concierge took care of our car and our luggage.
I did not have any treatments at the spa but did use the swimming pool, although a bit dark (low light) the pool was warm, there was also a sauna and steam room.
The hotel is only a 5 min walk to the top of the High Street where the shops start, there were a few small shops on the way down but Bath is such a wonderful architectural city I had forgotten just what a nice place it was to visit.
The Abbey is beautiful, the new shopping area near the railway station gives ample choice of shops and just wondering around the centre is great.
I did wonder what the hotel would have been like to stay in and so grateful for my present to find out. I will save up and definitely go stay again.
If I could find anything to criticise it would be not having complementary tea or coffee for the guests or at least a couple of cups a day. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 24 is at the front on the 3rd floor it had a wall in front of the window which partly obscured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope that you may return in the future and get totally spoilt again!

We do have hospitality trays on request and will increase awareness of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a three night winter break to this hotel in beautiful Bath.
The architecture of the crescent is gorgeous, with a great raised view over the green .
The hotel has a pleasant open fire in the drawing room , and reception hall; you then walk across a walled garden to a separate Georgian building, housing restaurant, bar, bedrooms and spa.
There were few signs of Christmas in this building. Decorations were limited to a swag up the stairs. No tree, no music at all... We felt a total lack of (seasonal) atmosphere, and combined with expensive drinks, and food, would not tempt you to linger for a nightcap.
The largely foreign staff are efficient and courteous.
Our room, although small, was pleasantly decorated.no coffee or tea making facility in your room.
Breakfast was good, with a good choice of hot meals available, from kippers , eggs benedict to the full English, with vegetarian alternatives.
I enjoyed the atmospheric pool,very relaxing ambiance.
The hotel is perfectly placed for a pleasant walk into the centre of Bath( about 10 minutes) , where We loved the Christmas markets, the Abbey and thermal spa.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are subject to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have Christmas decorations in some of the public areas and our trees have arrived. They do need to stay fresh for quite a long period so we delay getting them too soon. Our apologies to you if this was a little disappointing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just wonderful. The setting is beautiful, the staff are like something from the last century, in a good way!!
the rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean, beautiful toiletries, bathrobes abd slippers.
The restaurant is breathtaking.
It is walking distance from town and it is if course on the Royal Crescent!!!
Cannit waitoto return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at the Royal Crescent Hotel as part of my wedding anniversary celebrations. And what a wonderful experience it was. Superb from start to finish, the location is obviously wonderful, the mid-range room we stayed in was lovely (no.3), every member of staff were brilliant and we ate a very good taster menu at the superb restaurant. I couldn't fault a single thing.

Special thanks also to James, who was up there with the best front-of-house I've ever met. Unfailingly polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for him and he had an exceptional knowledge of this wonderful Georgian building and Crescent too.

It's rare something as expensive as this is worth every penny but this really was. Thank you all. We'll be back for sure - for more than one night!

Room Tip: Room 3 was beautifully decorated, large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had arranged a Christmas thank you trip for a group of clients and contacts and chose the hotel as our venue.

What a great choice it was.

So to start:

Events Coordinator Harriet was amazing from the first time we had contact and ensured that our every request was catered for.

Head Chef David created us a special menu and also catered for the few changes and special dietary requirements we had, the food was amazing, well done David and your team!

We arrived via mini coach from the station (arranged by the Hotel) and was met by what i can only say was a fantastic welcome party, GM Piers and his team were waiting to whisk our luggage away and that was the last we saw of it until we were individually guided to our rooms.

Piers then continued through the whole weekend to ensure that we were being looked after and ensuring that things were going well. Piers, good work and you are a credit to the Hotel.

The rooms and hotel itself are amazing, finish and quality are 100% 5 Star, clean, fresh and stunning. The beds are one of the best i have slept in and everyone else commented the same.

Next onto the Legend that is Sommelier Jean Marc, this man ensured that we had the finest wines with our dinner but also that all of our liquid refreshment needs were fulfilled, he looked after each and every one of the group from the afternoon drinks at the bar to the pre dinner drinks reception in the drawing room, to wine and drinks at dinner right the way through to the last man standing at 3 am. Jean Marc, it was a pleasure meeting and dealing with you.

Dinner at the Dower House Restaurant, well Nicki and her team were amazing, they ensured everything was spot on and couldnt have been more helpful, nothing was a problem and everyone commented that the service was second to none. (bit disappointed that the request for Pot noodle starter, Kebab main and apple crumble didnt get fulfilled.... I joke... :-))

Nicki then was at breakfast (not sure where she fitted sleep into the equation) and her and her team served up what was one of the nicest breakfasts I have had, so much choice and yet again exceptional service.

Nicki, great job, you are a credit to the hotel.

I personally didnt try the Spa but a few of our guests did and the feedback was also very good.

Well, thats about it, considering there was a group of 30 of us, its a busy weekend in bath, the hotel was full, I can honestly say that at no point did we notice that, have to wait or feel like we were not being looked after at any time. I would 100% return again and this place is great for a romantic weekend away or a trip with friends.

Piers, Jean Marc, Harriet, David, Nicki and your teams, thank you so much, you are all a credit to the Hotel and I hope to see you again soon.

Chris

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.