We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end, but be careful in the bathroom...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High end, but be careful in the bathroom...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, right in the middle of the famous Royal Crescent. Staff very attentive and helpful. Valet parking, help with the bags, all the right stuff to make you feel good. Room was small but well-appointed, with airco (not so common in an 18th century grade 1 listed building). Garden courtyard very pretty, good place to take your partner. Only real gripe was the bathroom, which at first glance look suitably high end as well, until you tried to use it. The mirror was very high - I'm 6 foot, and it was face height on me. The (apparently brand new) towels looked great but there was nowhere to hang them. The loo seemed to be on permanent 'mini-flush'. The integral bath/shower was several inches above floor level, so quite a step up, with nothing to hold on to. Getting out then became quite scary as the shift in balance/weight stepping back out inevitably meant one or other foot would slip on a wet surface, and I caught my leg on the side of the bath (could have been worse!), A step or better, a step and grab handle of some sort would have made it a little less emotional as an experience. Breakfast very nice, Last thought is 300 quid for one night for a small room with no view struck me as rather toppish, but breakfast for 2 was included,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Royal Crescent Hotel last year and our first experience was of sitting on a very grubby sofa in the guest lounge room (drinks on arrival are not complimentary by the way). This was followed by a walk upstairs on a carpet that was threadbare in places. Our room overlooked a very well kept garden and was quite nice but it was so stuffed full of furniture that by the time we got our luggage in there, we found it hard to move around and relax. The bathroom could have done with an update. Tea for two cost £10, but the meals are very good and the spas and massages are excellent. Overall quite expensive and we don't think that we'd stay there again. It looks better on the internet than it does in real life.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter (no traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at the Royal Crescent in Bath. The room was great, very comfortable and the staff was attentive. Our room faced the Crescent center with wonderful views of the rolling green lawn. But, our favorite place was the lovely gardens behind the hotel where breakfast and tea were served. Beautiful and relaxing after a day of sight-seeing. Very nice.
We also had dinner at the Dower House restaurant our first night and we were not disappointed. Interesting flavor combinations, well prepared and served with the right mix of attentiveness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second visit to bath and I was lucky enough to stay at the royal crescent hotel both times. It is gorgeous hotel and I couldn't recommend it enough, especially after the extensive refurb........stunning gardens, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff....I can't wait to go back again! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Did not stay in the hotel but visited for afternoon tea. The gardens are beautiful & provide a quiet respite from busy Bath. Booked afternoon tea as a special treat. Had all the usual items you would expect - dainty sandwiches, delicious scones and a pistachio slice to die for. BUT no wow factor. Clearly (as they should be) house guests are the hotels priority. No fine china, good but not perfect service - at this price they should remember your name! Go to Gleneagles and see how it's done.

Room Tip: Don't go for Afternoon - if you want to see the htel go for morning coffee, cocktails or chilled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent experience. Beautiful hotel with excellent decor which suited the age of the building. Staff very friendly and attentive. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was first rate. We did not dine in the hotel. Great spa. This is a first rate hotel in one of the mist beautiful roads in the world. A shirt walking distance from the Theatre Royal and central Bath

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on a Sunday afternoon for a girls Spa treat. From my initial email enquiry to the day itself nothing was too much trouble. We booked a package which included use of the facilities and a 55 minute treatment each for £80pp. To get to the Spa you walk through the hotel and through the gardens (which are absolutely gorgeous) to the spa in a separate building. We were welcomed at reception where we filled in our health questionnaires were given our robes and flip flops and taken through to the changing rooms by Harriet. We had use of the spa facilities which are beautifully set. The pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub and cool tub have the wow factor! Literally! Whilst we were in there there was only one other lady so it felt very exclusive! We waited up on the balcony area for our treatments on the loungers. I had a fantastic facial with Harriet and my skin felt
wonderful afterwards finished off with recommendations for my skin and a herbal tea. The changing facilities were fab with plenty of towels, Espa shampoo and shower gel and hair dryers. The lockers were activated with bands much better than coin operated lockers. We were all made to feel very welcome and it was a very relaxing afternoon in a quiet quality spa away from the hustle and bustle so glad we chose here over the Thermae Spa! Would definitely visit again and maybe stay for a drink in the gardens next time. Thank you for a fab afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.