We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is not cheap ( £26) and forget fine dining, there was no fantastic dining room that I could see,
BUT we ate in the walled gardens and it was heaven, it was a beautiful sunny day, the garden furniture is old, the usual wooden stuff, but the surroundings are tranquil and of course the old buildings are a joy.the service is impeccable, the cutlery and napkins are first class, and the tea itself is fine. The waiters were wonderful, always there but not intrusive, it was a very pleasant afternoon. A nice touch was the selection of teas, we tried more than one with no extra charge.
an experience I will cherish and would do again, (weather permitting)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your appreciative comments regarding your afternoon tea and we are so pleased you enjoyed the whole experience of the tea, service and beautiful gardens. There is an elegant restaurant in the Dower House serving award winning food and also a great bar area where "all day dining" is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
78
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Spent a night last minute as travelling through, pleasantly surprised dinner was fantastic. Our room was cozy the charm and character was tastefully displayed. The house cat was adorable. The next time I'm in bath I will be booking in, I didn't want to leave. Gorgeous town, very romantic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad you approve of our hotel cats. We have two Tilley and Toby. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Royal Crescent Hotel and Spa as a surprise present for my fiancee's 40th Birthday and we were more than impressed. The hotel is amazing and the staff are fantastic too. On our arrival the car was valet parked and all of our cases were taken to our suite for us. The interior decoration is beautiful and the garden at the rear is so tranquil and calm it made our stay even more enjoyable. I had treatments booked for all three of us as an extra special treat and we all thoroughly enjoyed them. The spa is fantastic, not overly big but we always found it quiet and most of the time it was just ourselves in the pool. The Dower House restaurant is very nice. If you like fine dining I'm sure you will love it. Defiantly check out the menu first though as if you are taking young children it may be not to everyone's taste.

Also booked the Royal Welcome which gives you chocolates, flowers and champagne in your room on arrival.

The hotel is within 10 minutes walking distance of the town and there are plenty of bars and restaurants if you fancy trying something else.

Overall 5 Stars for this one and a big thank you to the staff who made our stay that bit extra special.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us for your special celebration. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I took my best friend to bath as a surprise birthday trip, as part of this I booked us both for luxury pedicures in the royal crescent spa, which on the website looked fantastic and I thought its reputation as a hotel would make it extra special. When we arrived they told us they had made an error on our booking and did not have time for the full two pedicures, but could do two half hour 'express pedicures' instead. This was a disappointing start, the express pedicure consisted of a beautician cutting and applying polish to our toe nails - none of the normal spa treatment I would expect from a pedicure. After the disappointing experience, the beautician then handed us a piece of paper a asking if we would like to add a tip - on top of the £35 pp price for the toenail painting! We thought this was pretty outrageous. The beautician also didn't use a base coat, so when I went for another pedicure near my home today they really struggled to get the colour off and it had stained my nails. Overall I'm sure this is a lovely hotel, but avoid the spa as it's really not an enjoyable experience or worth the cost.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We do offer a "file and paint" express which of course is a quicker process than the full pedcure experience. Some pedicures have products that do not use a base coat as it is not needed and because they are strong polishes intended to last longer they do need a strong remover to take them off.

Asking for gratuities is not something we condone and of course this is unacceptable. We get consistently good feedback for the spa and our treatments however, it would be appear that your visit did not match up to your expectations on the day and your comments will be discussed and taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were booked in to the hotel by our travel agency and were very pleased. Starting from the first initial contact with the front desk to the last, I could not believe the attention to detail. During check in we were asked what type of newspaper we wanted and when we wanted our breakfast. We were shown our room and were impressed. The bathroom was as large as the bedroom. We looked out on lovely gardens. Our breakfast was outstanding, both in service and food. We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a charming hotel and if you sleep in the building at the far end of the garden, it is uniquely quiet. We only stayed one night on our way elsewhere and they upgraded us to just such a room. Comfortable although without a mini bar and with little shelf space in the bathroom. But most horribly, the bath water was tepid and I arrived cold and tired. there was no answer from the desk or concierge so we went to dinner, in the bar (very good observation point and food) where we complained to the maître d. On return to our room, the water in the basin was steaming but bath and shower still tepid. This was obviously a local problem. When we checked out, I asked for a discount owing to the hot water problem and I was given one, very politely and apologetically - which is really all one can ask for. But look out and check your bathwater on arrival.

Room Tip: Across the garden and overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Regretfully we did indeed have a problem with the water which was unfortunate but beyond our control. We note your observations regarding the bathroom and we will discuss this. We do not provide mini bars as we like our guests to use our bar but of course we can provide any drinks requested in the room if you prefer. We do hope you will visit again and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed a night here to celebrate my husband's birthday; the hotel was absolutely delightful. It is set in a superb location, in easy walking distance of the beautiful city centre of Bath. The room, we were upgraded to a deluxe, was really comfy and cosy and decorated very tastefully and elegantly. We had great views of the city from the room. When we arrived there was a box of exquisite hand-made chocolates to celebrate my husband's birthday, which was a lovely touch. We ate out that evening but the breakfast in the morning was good and the restaurant is accessed through the lovely gardens, smelling of lavender. staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I hope I can find another excuse to stay again and next time would like to try out the spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your special occasion and your comments are much appreciated. The lavender really is special this year. We hope you will return soon and find time to use the spa. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.