We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of eclectic style in a period building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queensberry Hotel to your Saves list
Queensberry Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russel Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Jan Sale & Spa Breaks
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A haven of eclectic style in a period building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I love this hotel, so much so that I have stayed several times, and I can't recommend it highly enough. That said, it may not be for everyone. Each room is individually furnished with its own unique colour scheme and style. Don't expect the furniture to be matching! Many of the rooms benefit from high ceilings and beautiful period windows, giving onto the Georgian architecture of the surrounding streets. The rooms are a good size and generally feature a sofa and seating area. Bathrooms tend to be quite large too. Toiletries are by White Company. Tea and coffee are provided at no charge all day in the front drawing room (Teapigs brand tea - excellent) and a bar serving well-made (i.e. dangerous) cocktails has been added more recently at the back of the hotel. But unfortunately tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge/mini-bar are not provided in the bedrooms. Very pleasant and helpful staff. I always feel that I have come to stay in the home of a generous friend or relative with plenty of money and taste. That to me is an ideal boutique hotel experience and wonderfully relaxing. But it may not be for you if you are looking for somewhere that has more of a standard "hotel" look and feel - which may explain why some reviewers below have been less keen on the hotel's style. Points to note - the hotel is at the top end of the town, just above the Assembly Rooms. I think the hill would be unsuitable for those with serious mobility issues. We have found the noise of refuse collection lorries on the street outside in the very early morning rather annoying on occasion. The hotel is well located for many popular local restaurants, including The Circus and Casanis. A free spa pack (robes and towels) for the Thermae Spa is provided on request. You can book treatments at the Priory Hotel's spa too. Overall I think the Queensberry offers a unique experience and is very good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but avoid rooms on the top floor in the summer if you don't like heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    239
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
95
590
17
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had a lovel stay, the room was large, well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast had a large selection and quality foods and was great value. We did not have dinner at the hotel as the menu was not to our liking and appeared over priced. There was no on-site parking, however the staff arranged valet parking in near by streets which was very convenient.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which saved us from carrying our luggage up stairs as there is no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Great hotel in a conveient location. Staff were excellent giving us access to the room early as my wife and l had just srrive din the UK from a flight from Australia. Rooms was very large and very well decorated. Highly recommended. Will definately stay there again on our next visit !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Had 2 nights here just before Christmas and everything was perfect. Nice bedroom with huge bathroom and everything you could need. If you want tea or coffee you can have as much as you want in the lounge until 5.30pm. The lounge was beautifully decorated for Christmas.

The bar was small but funky and we sampled some amazing whiskies. Service was great - valet parking was very helpful.

Finally, the location is FANTASTIC just a couple of mins walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

the best service i've had at any hotel. the location is perfect and your car is parked for you. has a delightful drawing room where you can sit comfortably and read the paper or magazines while having a complimentary coffee or tea. the hotel will even loan you towels and robes to take to the excellent thermal spa which is less than 10 mins walk away. i'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

At 11 pm I had to phone reception to enquire about the constant and very irritating noise. Initially, reception denied all knowledge of noise but subsequently admitted that it was an extractor fan from their kitchen, promised it would stop at about 11.30 pm. I was awoken in the morning at 7 am by the same noise. When I mentioned this on checkout the staff more or less shrugged their shoulders, plainly did not take the view that I had anything to complain about. Not a restful night.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room within hearing distance of extractor fan [if that is what it was]
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I cannot quite remember why I chose this hotel for our stay in Bath for 2 nights but it was worth every penny! It is very central for sightseeing all the major attractions of Bath. We were upgraded to a beautiful large room on arrival and the car was whisked away to be parked. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The meal in the Olive Tree Restaurant was beautiful and the staff very attentive. Breakfast was excellent also - a good variety of hot and cold food. Well recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russel Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houeses in the heart of the city.The entire team are dedicated to giving each of our guest's an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food.The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten concecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensberry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.