We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Text Panels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Building of Bath Collection

Building of Bath Collection
Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel | The Vineyards, Bath BA1 5NA, England
01225 333895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 69 Attractions in Bath
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique collection interprets the rich architectural history of Bath and the men who transformed a provincial town into the world famous Georgian Spa. It demonstrates how classical design influenced the buildings and illustrates the construction of a house from the cellars to the rafters. Based in the Countess of Huntingdon’s Chapel, the building is also home to the Bath Model, a fully detailed architectural model of the historic city centre, giving a unique insight into the layout of the Georgian City.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lots of Text Panels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I visited the museum at the end of October and found it quite interesting. You have to put in the effort to read all the information to get as much out of it as you can. It would be quite difficult to hold a child's attention. The large city model is fascinating. I would have liked more on the rebuilding after the war, and the fight to keep the new buildings integrated architecturally with the old. The small shop has an excellent range of books.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good if you have any interest in buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The building of Bath collection gives you a good appreciation of the challenges of the craftsmen that built Bath. The model of Bath was the highlight, for me it gave a fantastic view of the layout of the city.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great for an engineer, not so for a layperson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband the engineer loved this museum. It describes the history of building/architecture, construction in Bath. I thought it was a little dull but I did watch the video. I don't think children would like this at all. I dragged my husband out of there after an hour and we went to the nearby Museum of fashion...much more to my liking!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth an hour or two in Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was in Bath for the Jane Austen Festival (Sept. 2013) and went on a number of walking tours where I learned just a tiny bit about how the city was constructed and some of the challenges the planners of Georgian Bath had to overcome. So I made a point of squeezing in a trip to the Building of Bath museum to try to get a better understanding of the construction of the houses and the city itself. It was definitely worth the time.

I also was interested in the history of the building the collection is housed in...the Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel. This woman's interest Methodist Christianity and the chapels she built around the country is a fascinating story in itself.

I'm not a construction or architecture buff, particularly. Mostly a history enthusiast, really. I thought the exhibits were quite clear and interesting for someone without a tremendous amount of technical background.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for the building and construction enthusiast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Keep in mind that this place is of the most interest for those who like building, construction, renovation, and urban planning history. For me it was great! You get to see the evolution of the city of Bath, how the layout was planned, and then how all those gorgeous buildlings were constructed. I loved the latter exhibits that showed the cross sections of the walls,and the hand tools that were used to build doors and windows 100 years ago. It is probably not an all day visit, but a good 2-4 hours can be spent if you like trade crafts such as structural work, carpentry, both stoen and brick masonry, and fine interior finish work. It's best to visit after you've seen some of Bath, but before you finish your stay, so that you can take a second look at buildings with what you've learned in the museum. This is very much worth the £5 admission.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Building of Bath Collection also viewed

 

Been to Building of Bath Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Building of Bath Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.