We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an engineer, not so for a layperson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Bath Architecture

Museum of Bath Architecture
| The Vineyards, Bath BA1 5NA, England
+44 1225 333 895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 168 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique collection interprets the rich architectural history of Bath and the men who transformed a provincial town into the world famous Georgian Spa. It demonstrates how classical design influenced the buildings and illustrates the construction of a house from the cellars to the rafters. Based in the Countess of Huntingdon’s Chapel, the building is also home to the Bath Model, a fully detailed architectural model of the historic city centre, giving a unique insight into the layout of the Georgian City.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great for an engineer, not so for a layperson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband the engineer loved this museum. It describes the history of building/architecture, construction in Bath. I thought it was a little dull but I did watch the video. I don't think children would like this at all. I dragged my husband out of there after an hour and we went to the nearby Museum of fashion...much more to my liking!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth an hour or two in Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was in Bath for the Jane Austen Festival (Sept. 2013) and went on a number of walking tours where I learned just a tiny bit about how the city was constructed and some of the challenges the planners of Georgian Bath had to overcome. So I made a point of squeezing in a trip to the Building of Bath museum to try to get a better understanding of the construction of the houses and the city itself. It was definitely worth the time.

I also was interested in the history of the building the collection is housed in...the Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel. This woman's interest Methodist Christianity and the chapels she built around the country is a fascinating story in itself.

I'm not a construction or architecture buff, particularly. Mostly a history enthusiast, really. I thought the exhibits were quite clear and interesting for someone without a tremendous amount of technical background.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the building and construction enthusiast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Keep in mind that this place is of the most interest for those who like building, construction, renovation, and urban planning history. For me it was great! You get to see the evolution of the city of Bath, how the layout was planned, and then how all those gorgeous buildlings were constructed. I loved the latter exhibits that showed the cross sections of the walls,and the hand tools that were used to build doors and windows 100 years ago. It is probably not an all day visit, but a good 2-4 hours can be spent if you like trade crafts such as structural work, carpentry, both stoen and brick masonry, and fine interior finish work. It's best to visit after you've seen some of Bath, but before you finish your stay, so that you can take a second look at buildings with what you've learned in the museum. This is very much worth the £5 admission.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Can only echo what others say - Visit this early doors so you understand what Bath is all about and how it evolved!

Only £5 admission per person (and if you visit 1 Royal Crescent too, you get a joint discount ticket) and the price for what you get is about right.

We went on a Sunday afternoon when it was empty - Absolutely no one else was there - You start with a 20 minute DVD on Bath which if you have time to watch, is worthwhile. You then move onto the exhibition and mainly placard boards to read alongside displays. There is a large model of Bath in the middle of the room which is stunning. It's awesome just looking at it and the detail included.

A good little hidden museum about 5 minutes out of the city centre.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This museum interestingly captures how the beautiful Georgian structures that comprise Bath came to be built. For example, house basements were built on grade, then the street filled in to meet the level of the entry doors above. The planning and layout of the city were fascinating, especially for their day. Agree with earlier comments to see this early in one's stay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bath Architecture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Bath Architecture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Bath Architecture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.