We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai by the Weir

Thai by the Weir
16 Argyle st, Bath BA2 4BQ, England
01225 444 834
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 458 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good service average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very little choice and incorrectly labelled vegetarian food. Curries not freshly made so no option to exclude fish sauce. Food also arrived cold. But the staff were lovely and the view over the river is awesome. Prices resaonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    19
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touristic trap - avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the most terrible meals we had in a long time! And I most definitely regret stepping my foot into this restaurant. Given that it is in one of the most touristic areas in Bath we should have known better. The atmosphere was ok and te location is quite good, however very thing is ruined by the food. Absolutely terrible, greasy, low quality ingredients, not properly cooked. We were a group of 6 and neither of u liked the food as it either was too greasy for the pad thai and Singapore noodles, chicken was chewy and low quality for any of the skewers. It's just like any really poor thai takeaway that doesn't even resemble real thai food (having been to Thailand we have a very foo idea of what real thai food is). I really would not recommend this place. You are beter of buying a sandwich at Pret...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Waited over.half an hour for Thai meal .Other people who came much later ate before us. Saw customers send meals back because wrong order. Seemed very chaotic although waitress 'tried'.
Chewy satay of chicken. Pad Thai not good enough either. would not recommend for food or service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent food, ambience & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved sitting In the room out back looking out to the Weir. The tables were quite close together so diners ended up chatting to each other which was quite nice. The service was very efficient and the food was delicious. Excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick and delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited this place in noon, as it advertises "quick lunch for less than £6". Since I wanted something with prawns and the set menu did not have any, I ordered a dish from the regular menu, which was not pricy either (less than £10).
I had the Phad Phrik Bai Krapao (with thai basil, chillies, mushrooms and rice) with king prawns.
It was a bit spicy for my taste, although I asked it to be not to spicy. Apart from that, it tasted very good, the portion was adequate and it had the proper amount of prawns (opposed to some restaurants that put only 3-4 pieces).

The service was quick and very good. The waitress was very kind and was cheerfully chatting with all the customers. The place has several tables in 3 levels, with some privileged sitting spaces looking over the weir of river Avon. The whole ambient of the restaurant is nothing special, but the tables and the WCs are clean.

I think this is a good place for lunch (and dinner), since it has tasty and relatively inexpensive dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai by the Weir also viewed

 

Been to Thai by the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai by the Weir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.