We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Racecourse

Bath Racecourse
Lansdown, Bath BA19BU, England
01225 424 609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 163 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an afternoon or evening with friends and family. Ideally situated on Lansdown Hill overlooking the picturesque City of Bath, Bath racecourse is just a short bus or taxi ride from the City centre and offers exciting flat racing and premier hospitality. Steeped in history we have been since racing 1811 and host 19 flat racing fixtures between April and October. With a variety of weekends, evenings and weekday meetings to choose from, including popular family days and music nights, a trip to the races is a perfect addition to your stay in Bath.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Took friends to the races and had a fun day out. We bet a little on all the races to get into the spirit of things, took time to choose our horses and shouted long and hard when they came thundering past. Good day out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    23
    13
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Very average from start to finish. The facilities are out dated and the choice of food on offer was probably the worst I have ever experienced at any racecourse. A real shame, as the track could be so much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family day out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I last went to Bath races in 1987 and when I recently went with a large group of family to Minehead, we decided to make the journey to Bath despite the heavy rain.
The journey in via the M4 was easy and there are good signposts and plenty of free parking at the course. Bath racecourse is on top of a large hill and enjoys great scenery. We took a picnic with us which we were allowed to eat in the car park. There are ample facilities for food, drink and betting. A good view of the course and easy access to the paddock is available to all.
I went with a large family group whose ages ranged from 13-55 and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and most of us left the course considerably wealthier than when we arrived.
Bath may not be the largest or most prestigious British racecourse, but as a good fun, well set out and excellent value place for a day out, it is one of the best courses in these isles. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice galloping track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A fair galloping track, but it could do with some large flat screen TVs in the bars instead of the smal old fashioned ones they have there now.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had an absolutley wonderful day out only setback was the weather the chef in the cafe was very helpful arranging a table for us in greens reastaurant where the food and service was fab,Highly reccomended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Racecourse also viewed

 

Been to Bath Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.