We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halcyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Halcyon to your Saves list
The Halcyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£99 Pre-christmas offer
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Bath
painswick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great hotel, very cool contemporary design, awesome location, good hearty breakfast with lots of local produce. Lots of lovely personnel touches from the owner.
Been lucky enough to stay at top hotels all over the world but for a city break this is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    254
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
98
465
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

It's clean, it's friendly, it's central, good continental breakfast, great shower (for a guy !) Good solid value.....Want a moan ? You need more than 4 coat hangers in the room, especially if you are visiting Bath for shopping !!!...Oh, & the best nights sleep...ever !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great little hotel, short walk from Bath Spa station and with taxi office on square opposite, minutes from Abbey and Pump rooms so ideally situated. Breakfast included in price was very good, served in the smart little bar, also tables outside great for drinks on warm evening. Lack of restaurant not a problem as so many places to eat nearby. Rooms we had were small but everything you'd need, decor in modern boutique hotel style, very comfortable beds, great shower, molton brown shower gel provided. All staff encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful, Hector in charge very "front of house" and personable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Admittedly the room was a little small to our surprise but this was more than made up for with the fantastic shower (big head, boiling water), comfy bed and stunning view.

We knew we hit the jackpot when we could walk back to the hotel from town in minutes. Works wonders when you don't know what the weather will be like and need to nip home for a an extra layer. The warm feeling of knowing we made the right choice rang even true at breakfast when we lulled in the breakfast bar with the other sleepy guests enjoying our boiled eggs and fluffy croissants. Atmospherically, it was just perfect.

From the crockery to the furniture to the all round warm service and generosity shown by the staff, the rest of the UK hotel industry could learn a thing or two from this place. All it needs to sort out is the internet connection in the rooms.

I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We arrived at the Hotel quite late but we received a very welcoming man, who was extremely personable and a great welcome after a long day. We checked in and were directed to our room.

The room was on the top floor of a beautiful Grade 2 listed building. Decorated superbly throughout. We opened the door to a dark room. When we turned on the light, the room seemed great apart from one thing: it was very very warm in the room and as a result of turning on the light, we now had two flies whizzing round. They had entered through the tiny window that had been left open I would imagine to try and cool the room temp down. There wasn't a breeze in Bath that night, so this didn't help, but the room was far too warm to shut the window.

So we were then swatting flies and hoping no thing else flew in. The window itself was tiny and we were discussing that should there be a fire on the stairs we'd come up, we would be trapped in the room.

My partner was really tired and within ten mins was asleep on the bed. I carried on watching tv until at about 11:15, when it cut out. Sky Sports News and some other channels were still available but it was as though someone had unplugged the BBC 1, 2, 3 box! Nothing. I was quite annoyed about this as I was watching an interview. Channel 4 went as well. These channels were still off in the morning, until about 9:15. Did someone downstairs assume people didn't watch tv between 11pm and 9am?! A bit odd.

The other annoyance was the lack of parking around the hotel. Although we were arriving late!

Bathroom was fab, overall visit was fab, but missing air con and fire exit/ a fully opening window were missed! And the tv episode was annoying. Although we didn't stay for breakfast it looked delicious and the hotel decor was exquisite. We would stay again - perhaps trying out another room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Halcyon is ideally located if you arrive in Bath by train, and is in easy walking distance of Bath's main attractions. It has had a recent stylish makeover. The bedrooms are not large, but have been cleverly arranged to maximise available space, and are very well appointed. The beds and bedlinen are particularly luxurious and comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. For us the major plus was the service. The charming and engaging manager, Hector, was very helpful and friendly and gave us useful advice about where to eat and sightseeing while we enjoyed a glass of quality red in the comfortable bar. His staff were similarly helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Booked deluxe room. Bed was very nice but room size very small. Friendly staff. Breakfast below expectations as hotel does not operate a kitchen. I found that hotel for that roomsize too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehalcyon, Owner at The Halcyon, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
I am very sorry we did not meet you expectations on this occasion – Our metro hotel is in an original Georgian townhouse and so all of our rooms are different in size, all rooms offer the same high level of amenities and furnishings. Some of the rooms are not massive, we do highlight this on our website, we see our hotel as a launch pad whilst visiting Bath and our prices (from £99) reflect this – we like to think we are perfectly formed.
The Halcyon does have a kitchen (although not a restaurant) and we serve a fantastic Full English breakfast at weekends, during the week we have a delicious continental breakfast that includes pastries, breads, bagels, crumpets, fresh fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses, yogurt, juices as well as offering boiled eggs and soldiers. We have many glowing reviews about our breakfasts so we are disappointed you did not agree with them on this occasion. We strive to provide a cracking breakfast everyday.
In terms of value for money we believe we offer very good value compared to other hotels in Bath but we do take your comments on board and are continuing to offer more to ensure our guests have the very best experience. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon

Address: 2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halcyon 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath – England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café, where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Halcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halcyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.